We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic and Relaxing.”
Review of Las Cascadas Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Cascadas Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The staff took such good care to make our stay enjoyable from the time we were met at the airport until we were taken back. We enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the lodge and the surrounding area. Swimming in the natural pool below the waterfall was a wonderful experience. The trip and tour of the sewing coop is a must. The chair lift ride across the river to the coop looked scary, but I was glad I braved it. We ate all our meals at the lodge and enjoyed the good cooking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine17Roatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2007

It took me a while to find out about this place but it is the best place, both the bungalows and the sorroundings, that I have ever been to. The staff is extremely nice, the chef is fantastic and eventough we love to travel the world and to go to different places every time, we would go back to Las Cascadas just to enjoy again the peaceful feeling that this place provides. I highly recommend to reserve one of the bungalows that faces the cascades. You can hear the sound of the water while you sleep.
I still dream about this place.
For someone who has never been to Central America before, I recommend to use the shuttle service if you are arriving to San Pedro Sula

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank themousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We were in Heaven at Las Cascadas Lodge. We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon in this luxurious off the beaten path wonderland. All I wanted on my honeymoon was somewhere we could swim under a waterfall, and as its namesake, we had many choices!! We were even escorted up the trail to a secluded waterfall, and then left alone:)

And the service was beyond all expectations. The food, the wine, the candles, the smiles and conversations were all top notch Modesto, the manager, really catered to an exquisite menu and encouraged one to enjoy the wine!

This really was a "slurge" for us, and worth every dime. The only drawback was the wiring of money-felt a little sketchy to wire money to Honduras, but it was not a scam. SO book you stay if you want an amazing relaxing secluded experience!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnylexColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Its the end of our second day in a secluded, tropical retreat, just this side of paradise. This tiny, four room lodge is set in the Pico Bonito National Park, and rests besides its own waterfall. Just a half hour drive from Ceiba (where the management picks you up) you are transported to another world, or rather two - the natural world of a exotic flora, running water, butterflies and birds, and the old world charm and attention of the manager Modesto, who hails from Ibiza, was the Director of the Spanish National Tourist Office, and has been a hotelier and connoisseur of all things fine for over 30 years. Modesto has a taste for fine food and wine that makes every meal a delicious treat. He is assisted by two lovely village girls Mayra and Bertelia whom Modesto has taught to cook and care for guests in a fashion that one would never expect for a lodge of this size. The rooms are gorgeous; exotic woods, screened porches with views of the cascades and pools, candles lit for you at night, outdoor and indoor showers, and air conditioning - though its relatively cool here and A/C is hardly needed. You can swim in a natural pool under a waterfall, or in the tiled pool of the lodge. With white water rafting just up the road on the Class lII-IV Rio Congrejal, horseback riding though the forest or on the beach (both through Omega), or simply walks up to the waterfalls, Las Cascadas is a rare find. Honeymooners take note - Hawaii doesn't hold a candle to Las Cascadas, and here the candles are included. Web address is [--].

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jeff-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Wined and dined in elegance with an amazing backdrop and tremendous guides! Perfect room, excellent custom made menu from Modesto, waterfall hike and swim, cocktails by the pool, wine with dinner, Modesto dessert and canopy bed by the waterfall. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fishfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

My wife and I have traveled all over the world, with a preference for small, high-service hotels and lodges in natural surroundings. If you are looking for an intimate setting, beautiful surroundings, incredible food and wine, and superlative service at an affordable price- Las Cascadas is the best you'll find.

In the last 5 years we've done quite a bit of travel in S. America, including Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Belize, and the Yucatan peninsula of Mexico (Tulum). We've used TripAdvisor to help find some of the great small places we've stayed and have had some wonderful experiences at places like Coppola's Blancanau lodge in Belize and Azulik in Tulum. If you like those you will be blown away by Las Cascadas.

Las Cascadas is the perfect retreat for a couple or small group of friends who are looking to enjoy incredible scenery, delectible european-inspired food and wine, and a world-class service experience. Since there are only 3 cabins in the entire lodge, the experience is very personal. For example, instead of a menu and a set of seating times for a meal you are asked - "What time would you like to eat dinner? What would you like to eat? Here's what's fresh today." You can swim in your own personal waterfall and relax in your own wonderfully decorated cabin- with a view (and the sound) of a rainforest waterfall out of the front of your screened porch.

The lodge has the ammenities and the attention to detail of a resort much larger in size, but it is so small and the staff so friendly that you feel like you are in a 'lifestyles of the rich and famous' episode, living in your own villa with your own personal staff. The lodge has a pool, tub, and wonderful trails up to two levels of swimmable waterfalls that can only be accessed by resort guests. Given that all 3 meals and drinks were included in the price and wine was served (liberally) at both lunch and dinner, it was very affordable. And, miraculously, there are no bugs (this was a relief as we had just been eaten alive by the sand-flies on the island of Roatan).

Modesto, the lodge manager, is an older Spanish ex-pat who spent his life working in the tourism trade in various locations around the world (Spain, Sweden, the US). His expectations for the service that he and his staff provide are clearly influenced by the best hotels of Europe (and the friendliness and conversation typical of Spaniards). For example, when my wife and I ate dinner - they dimmed all the lights in the main cabin and lit over 20 candles on our table next to freshly picked flowers from the rainforest. A three course meal was served along a bottle of Rioja picked by Modesto to 'match' the meal. To cap it off, when we returned to our room after dinner, we found it similarly lit with 10 romantic candles, each in a different part of the cabin. It was like a dream.

The one tricky part of the experience is that you have to wire some of the money to the hotel to make the reservation. This took us back a bit (and was a pain in the neck - who wires money anymore?), but the minor inconvenience was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We just returned from our stay at Las Cascadas -- and we can't stop talking about it! We spent 3 nights of our 10 day vacation in Honduras there, and we wished we could have spent more time. Modesto and his staff were wonderful, hospitable hosts, and we could not have been treated better. The lodge itself is beautful, made out of all native woods, and thatched roofs. The view of the waterfall from our cabin as well as the main house is breath-taking. We had to pinch ourselves at every meal just to make sure the experience was real. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully appointed, with lovely details right down to the bathrobes and slippers. We were lucky enough to stay in the Bejuco cabin -- very private and romantic with the stone tub and separate river rock shower for two. And the FOOD! Well, we never ate so well and so much for days. They really outdid themselves; we were consulted every morning as to what we would like to eat; but most of the time we left it up to our host; we knew we would never be dissappointed. If you are looking for some very affordable luxury and a lot of pampering in the middle of the rain forest, I can not urge you more to stay here. We will defininately be back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shana_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.6 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
4.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
7.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#3 of 22 in La Ceiba
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
84 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas Lodge

Address: Km. 6, Carretera de La Ceiba a Yaruca, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $165 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: meals, bar, drinks, alcohol, snacks, desserts, juices. Over 100 acre property of jungle and an orange orchard. Exotic birds, and monkeys, toucans, and hummingbirds. River access, private pools and lots of waterfalls (all natural) on site. Fresh water private swimming. Waterfalls you can hear from the lodge and from every room. Adventure options are plenty. In house tours include canyoning/waterfall descents, guided hiking, sightseeing tours, and many other tours nearby i.e. rafting, horseback riding, birding, ziplining, canopy tour, Cayos Cochinos. Private Chef cooking meals to order. Vegetarian, Vegan, Local cuisine and seafood fresh, quality. Backup Power, Wi Fi everywhere. Great service, local staff. Group rates, private lodging, weddings, Families, honeymoons, anniversaries. Great package rates, on site masseuse. Waterfall Hotel Honduras ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Cascadas Hotel La Ceiba
Las Cascadas Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing