We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Memorable”
Review of Las Cascadas Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Cascadas Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The location of this Lodge is simply unforgettable. The fall cascade in multi levels if front of two of the mainhouse suits and the public rooms. The dinners are very delicious. The decor of the rooms is "tropical lodge" without being silly, simply elegant. Ryan the manager and his staff are great and eager to make everyday the most it can be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main Lodge of the best view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTheMomentManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

I went to Las Cascadas with a friend in September. It was incredible, we went hiking, biking, did yoga classes and had a Thai massage. The food was excellent, lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, delicious meats and freshly squeezed juices on tap.
I returned with my fiancé in January, as I knew he would love it and he did. The sound of the waterfall is so relaxing we fell asleep on the first afternoon.
A bottle of wine and a picnic by the top water fall, which belongs to the property and is a 30 minute walk made for a perfect day.
Ryan and Maggie took great care of us.

I would highly recommend a trip to Las Cascadas.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite away from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Experience the Honduran jungle, rivers and wildlife with experienced and knowledgeable staff. Everything you need is there or will be found for you. Relax or raft, snorkel, hike and swim in a fantastic river valley!
I traveled solo but met many interesting people at the lodge, on rafting trips and on hikes up the mountain to the falls. It couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are a bit late getting this review in... My husband and I spent a week at Las Cascadas for our honeymoon in July and we absolutely loved it. We were welcomed with a cabin full of flower petals and a bottle of champagne. Gestures like this make such a special impression and really set the tone of the visit. The lodge is pristine and incredibly comfortable, with plenty to do if you want adventure and lots of places to just lay around if you want some peace. All of our meals were absolutely delicious, the chef even let my husband "help" prepare dinner for me one night and then gave us all the recipes to take home with us! We tried to make the squash soup a couple of nights ago, and it turned out almost as good as Olvin's! :-) Ryan, the manager, was a fabulous host, he is very knowledgeable about the area and was helpful in planning activities for us when we felt like getting out. We were the only guests in the lodge that week, and we agree that it made the honeymoon that much more special. We did the zip line tour, visited the local women's cooperative, hiked to Bejuco waterfall (a long walk, but so worthwhile!)... Most afternoons we were happy just swimming at the waterfalls on the property and napping on our screened porch to the sound of the afternoon rain shower. The bar is well stocked, and we had several nights of good wine and chess games in the main cabin! Overall it was a perfect place to start our married life together, memories full of exotic adventure and relaxation!! Hope to be back for an anniversary one day!

Room Tip: Bejuco Cabin -- romantic, private, and an amazing outdoor stone shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Six of us (3 couples) stayed at Las Cascadas the last week of July, 2011. Ryan, the manager, was the consummate host . He planned our trips, anticipated our needs, was friendly, helpful, funny, informative, invisible when we wanted him to be, and there when we needed him. The staff, Olvin (the chef), Miriam and Myra were also wonderful and they all made us feel very much at home. Olvin cooked us scrumptious meals (always giving us a local choice) for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The Lodge is nestled in the jungles of the Congrejal Valley, alongside the Congrejal River, just on the outskirts of LaCeiba and a short 30 minute ride to the beach. It's both luxurious and rustic at the same time. The rooms are beautifully appointed; the meals superb. There are jungle critters around - butterflies, hummingbirds, an occasional monkey-like creature, a passing toucan, lots of birds, iguanas, snakes, big frogs, and an assortment of unusual insects. Fortunately, most are outside. The vegetation is lush, colorful, green and huge!

Las Cascadas has two very beautiful waterfalls with natural pools you can swim (or skinny dip) in and a lovely tiled pool surrounded by a few colorful Adirondack chairs and a couple of hammocks. The hike to the upper falls is just enough to make it an adventure but not too much that you don’t feel like doing it and the pay-off is a gorgeous fall and pool to cool off in.

We stayed in the Bejuco cabin, which is a short walk from the main lodge. It is romantic and private, has a gorgeous stone bathtub and outdoor shower under the banana leaves (it’s private though). There’s a screened porch that looks out into the jungle. The two suites in the lodge are equally beautiful and have screened porches that look out onto the waterfall. Each accommodation has a queen size bed and a single bed (the Bejuco’s single bed is in the loft). The day we arrived the rooms were decorated with the local flora – stunning flowers from the grounds adorned every room.

Ryan planned a few trips for us – snorkeling at Cayos Cochinos, a jungle hike, a tour of the valley, a basket trip to a women’s sewing cooperative, and Thai massages. But you can also go kayaking or canoeing in the Congregal River, zip-lining, horseback riding, and more. The only thing that struck me as slightly odd was hearing the traffic go by but I soon discovered that the gravel road leading to the lodge is also the main thoroughfare to the other little tiny villages in the Valley…nothing even remotely close to NY traffic sounds!

We all loved it…just the right balance of relaxation and adventure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. The Bejuco Cabin has the most privacy - most romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Having travelled widely and often using tripadvisor I have, until now, never felt compelled to write a review. If you're reading this you've been lucky enough to have heard about Las Cascadas Lodge and you'll have probably already read several other 10/10 reviews for this place. My recommendation is stop reading now change website and book your flights and reservation as soon as possible. I can promise you it'll be the best decision you've made in a long time! Thanks again for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Thanks to all of the staff at Las Cascadas Lodge for looking after us during our stay!

The lodge, and the accommodation within and around the lodge, are designed to be natural, interesting, a little wild and yet very comfortable and secure. It achieves these objectives really well. It is a very interesting place, with private waterfalls/pools to swim in and there are lots of activities which can be arranged for guests (rafting, biking, zip lining etc). I would particularly recommend the horse riding (arranged through the local activity centre nearby) and the Thai Massage (through a lovely American couple who live nearby).

Although, I wouldn't say that the lodge is as luxurious as some of the other reviewers have done (it is more high level rustic comfort than 5 star), you are in the rainforest, very well looked after by the excellent staff and are living in spacious, interesting and comfortable accommodation. The rooms are lovely (although seemed to remain pretty hot despite the free standing air con), and the natural sounds around the lodges are wonderful. The food is also first rate, and the wine/beer is very cheap. I particularly enjoyed the relaxed approach to our stay, enjoying our meals at times that suited us, helping ourselves to beers and marking it off next to our room number etc.

I would say that Las Cascadas is very well suited for short breaks involving a mixture of daily activities and relaxed evenings – more so than a place to chill out and do nothing. It is ideal for couples or small groups.

Well done Las Cascadas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.6 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
4.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#3 of 22 in La Ceiba
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas Lodge

Address: Km. 6, Carretera de La Ceiba a Yaruca, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: $165 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: meals, bar, drinks, alcohol, snacks, desserts, juices. Over 100 acre property of jungle and an orange orchard. Exotic birds, and monkeys, toucans, and hummingbirds. River access, private pools and lots of waterfalls (all natural) on site. Fresh water private swimming. Waterfalls you can hear from the lodge and from every room. Adventure options are plenty. In house tours include canyoning/waterfall descents, guided hiking, sightseeing tours, and many other tours nearby i.e. rafting, horseback riding, birding, ziplining, canopy tour, Cayos Cochinos. Private Chef cooking meals to order. Vegetarian, Vegan, Local cuisine and seafood fresh, quality. Backup Power, Wi Fi everywhere. Great service, local staff. Group rates, private lodging, weddings, Families, honeymoons, anniversaries. Great package rates, on site masseuse. Waterfall Hotel Honduras ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Cascadas Hotel La Ceiba
Las Cascadas Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing