We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
$42
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Pico Bonito(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
$105
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Estadio(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
$23
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
154
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery mealhibiscus juicewaterfall repellingoutdoor showerwhite water raftingthree roomsthe riverstunning placeexpectations were exceededthe main housegrand caymanlong weekendhonduran breakfasthot sauceoutdoor activitiespure blisslocal community
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 155 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Thanks to all of the staff at Las Cascadas Lodge for looking after us during our stay!

The lodge, and the accommodation within and around the lodge, are designed to be natural, interesting, a little wild and yet very comfortable and secure. It achieves these objectives really well. It is a very interesting place, with private waterfalls/pools to swim in and there are lots of activities which can be arranged for guests (rafting, biking, zip lining etc). I would particularly recommend the horse riding (arranged through the local activity centre nearby) and the Thai Massage (through a lovely American couple who live nearby).

Although, I wouldn't say that the lodge is as luxurious as some of the other reviewers have done (it is more high level rustic comfort than 5 star), you are in the rainforest, very well looked after by the excellent staff and are living in spacious, interesting and comfortable accommodation. The rooms are lovely (although seemed to remain pretty hot despite the free standing air con), and the natural sounds around the lodges are wonderful. The food is also first rate, and the wine/beer is very cheap. I particularly enjoyed the relaxed approach to our stay, enjoying our meals at times that suited us, helping ourselves to beers and marking it off next to our room number etc.

I would say that Las Cascadas is very well suited for short breaks involving a mixture of daily activities and relaxed evenings – more so than a place to chill out and do nothing. It is ideal for couples or small groups.

Well done Las Cascadas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Imagine you were a multi-millionare and had houses in key locations around the world, that is the feel of this "hotel" It is really a private house with two rooms added, but much of the time you will have the place to yourself, whomever you go with and a small staff that keeps it immaculate. There is a large living room area, a pool and hottub, and of course the waterfalls the property is named for and the main area is built around. It was also clearly built by someone with a concern for the environment, much use of is made of local materials (thatch roofs, stone walls, hand made wooden fixtures) and it is one of the first places in the country to offer invasive lionfish on the menu, not only delicious but the ultimate sustainable seafood.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed for only one night earlier this month and it was a great splurge on our 2 week trip. We were the only ones there that day/night so it felt like a private lodge. We hiked up to the higher waterfall on the property (about 15 min uphill) and it was one of the nicer swimming holes anywhere, and the the swimming hole just above the lodge is great too.
The food was great and Bruce is a great host.
One thing we really enjoyed as well was that even though the room rate is expensive, we weren't nickle and dimed to death once we were there. Breakfast and all soft drinks and juices throughout the day are included, and lunch and dinner were very reasonably priced for the amount and quality of the food. Things like pickup and drop off in Ceiba, a tour of a village nearby and national park entrance fee were all covered. All in all, an amazing place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My wife and I arrived at Las Cascadas just before the new year and were delighted with the entire week-long experience. We were welcomed at the airport by an excellent driver/tour guide that the manager, Bruce, had arranged for us. At that point, it was if we had our trip put on auto-pilot.

Our initial impression of the grounds had us wondering why we hadn't come here for our honeymoon. The property is seamlessly integrated into the jungle landscape, with a beautiful canopy full of exotic critters surrounding the thatch-roofed cabins. There are several screensaver-worthy waterfalls within a stone's throw of the main lodge, each with a private swimming hole. The weather was beautiful and, to our surprise, there were hardly any bugs!

Throughout our stay, Bruce exceeded our expectations by providing excellent service, incredible meals and a relaxing environment. The food was delicious and every meal seemed to be better than the last. We always had a variety of dishes to choose from and we were blown away with their culinary genius.

Our cabin was amazing and the sound of the waterfalls made for a restful night's sleep. Each evening, Bruce helped us plan out our activities for the following day and would make all necessary arrangements for us. This place has it all...from lazing around in hammocks by the pool to cliff jumping and whitewater rafting! Canopy tours, hiking, yoga, massage, kayaking, "cricking" (a combination of creeking and hiking where you swim/climb up waterfalls and hike out on a trail), scuba diving, snorkeling...we couldn't see it all in a week's time! I'm not one to lay on a beach for days on end as I need a bit of adrenaline in my diet, so we had a nice balance of relaxation and activities. It was perfect.

The entire staff at the lodge was very friendly and accommodating. By the end of our stay, it was if we were saying goodbye to close friends!

We will definitely be back...likely with friends! This is a perfect place for small groups to vacation together since there is such a variety of things to do within a few minutes of the lodge. Prior to our trip, we toyed with the idea of going to Roatan for a day or two to break up the trip, but once we got to Las Cascadas, we didn't want to leave! Maybe we'll work that in next time...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountaingoat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Magical lost paradise in Honduras, very good vibes and incredibly welcoming service. Enchanting tour of the areas, the perfect getaway to relax and charge your batteries. Since i've been here, I've been sending all my friends traveling together, as couple or on honey moon. The sound of the cascade will do the trick. Pick up from the city was available, and Bruce the manager taught us all we needed to know about the area, also becoming a most hospitable friend. don't miss out!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakinah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews