We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic paradise with welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa de Soledad B&B
Ranked #2 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a week of diving in Utila, my boyfriend and I wanted to experience the Honduran jungle. We’re so glad we found the beautiful hideaway of La Villa de Soledad! John and Soledad made the picturesque home and location feel like home.

The comfortable house (only 5 miles from La Ceiba, though it feels worlds away in the peaceful Pico Bonito national park) came to feel like an idyllic oasis, where we could relax (and shower comfortably!) after a day hike to a local waterfall or zip lining! John helped organize all our activities—connecting us with local guides and the canopy tours company. He also picked us up from the Utila ferry in La Ceiba and dropped us off at Sambo Creek at the end of our stay.

He not only gave us great travel advice, John is extremely knowledgeable about Honduran history. His wife Soledad was equally welcoming. She is also the best cook I have ever experienced! She cooks traditional Honduran food, often using ingredients from their beautiful garden. This was seriously the best food we had in Honduras, and quite possibly ever. It was so delicious!

Honestly, staying here was the highlight of our trip. We didn’t want to leave! La Villa de Soledad is a great place to explore the jungle in an elegant and relaxed setting.

Thanks for your hospitality, John and Soledad! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Kathleen and Chris: It was a pleasure having you as our guests! Hope your trip back home was uneventful. Chris how did it go for you in Nicaragua? Would love to hear how you got there and back to provide tips to future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this place online, while resting from our afternoon dive in the nearby Island of Utila...We had no idea what to expect of the area surrounding La Ceiba or the B&B, but were delighted to meet the owner John, on time, at the fairy dock. We thoroughly enjoyed the brief ride toward the property, amazed by how lush and expansive the scenery quickly became. We pulled up the valley hill into the custom built house that is La Villa de Soledad. Instantly, we knew we had made the right choice and had really lucked out. No sooner did we meet his wife Soledad, who greeted us with fresh smoothies in hand...a lovely, genuine, and beautiful person whose culinary expertise made us excited for each and every meal. Her sweet singing voice could be heard throughout the day; her happiness was almost tangible and contagious - one can tell she lives live to the fullest! We were amazed and captivated with this place, from the jungle valley backdrop, birds, flowers, to the beautiful landscaping and architecture...so much so, that we stayed an extra 2 nights! John is very well connected in the area and helped us arrange for our hike through Pico Bonito park (minutes away) and even called late at night to fit us into a Yoga session early the next morning just down the road. The rooms were well appointed, beds were comfortable, and the attention to detail was more than apparent...from the great water pressure and heat of the showers to the beautiful custom furniture and artwork on display, each with their own little story! The place quickly became our "vacation from our vacation," spending several hours rejuvenating ourselves with great food, company and rest, walking down to the Rio Cangrejal each day to play in the river...jumping off boulders into the water, laying in the sun, enjoying the jungle surround, steady breeze, and tranquil river sounds...one day we even played with the locals and watched them hunt for small fish swimming in the rapids! The hospitality afforded to us by John, Soledad, and family went way beyond our expectations, and we were quite sad when it was time to have to leave. Some day, we will be back!!! J&S, thanks again for everything. Our stay with you was in no small way the highlight of our trip to Honduras.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello Mike!
It was a pleasure having you and Syd with us this month. I hope your trip to Pullhapansak Waterfalls was up to your expectations! Thank you for the pictures you sent us. Soledad sends her warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Some friends and I spent some time in this lovely place, and we had a great time together. located a few minutes away La Ceiba, in Cangrejal River Basin.
It´s a captivating place, surrounded by trees, birds singing, fresh air, and it happens to be just across of Cangrejal River; a river where you can do rafting or kayaking, one of the best in Central America!
The place has a delicate, and decore with painting and plants.
The owners John and Soledad are great hosts. Sole, as she is known by friends and family, cooks deliciuos.

Room Tip: all theirs rooms have a good location, so don't worry about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isis_ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been traveling in Honduras for 12 years and this is the most beautiful place I have ever seen! John and Soledad were wonderful hosts, John even assisted me down to to the river for a swim (I'm 64), and his knowledge of the social and political climate was invaluable in our group's factfinding trip. I can't wait to return! Food was delicious!
Diana Demke

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Diana: Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having Drs. Jeff, Tom and Kevin and yourself with us for a couple of days. I must warn you that they say that once you have swam in the waters of the Cangrejal River you will always come back! But you need not worry... Soledad and myself would love to have you all back some time soon. I hope next time you have more time to enjoy the river and the tropical surroundings at La Villa de Soledad! Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had such a great time visiting La Ceiba and our stay at La Villa Soledad made the trip. The inn itself is newly built and beautifully crafted architecturally. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Both Soledad and John went out of their way to help us with planning while we were in La Ceiba. Soledad is an excellent cook and every meal featured delicious local fruits and juices. While we were there we took a white water rafting trip, splashed around in the river just next to the inn and took a nature hike into the jungle. All in all, if you're looking for a quiet, beautiful retreat from which to explore the jungle and drink in the sounds and sights, Villa Soledad is a great spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebekeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were a group of 6 friends and spent two nights in this amazing house: Wonderful location and stunning scenery, remarkable hospitality of the owners of the house John and Soledad, DELICIOUS breakfast and dinner cooked by Soledad, big luminous comfortable and perfectly clean rooms. Plus, John made it really easy for us: he picked us up at la Ceiba and took us back to the station, he also explained in detail all the possibilities of activities in the area (walk to the waterfall, rafting, etc) and gave us good tips to continue our travel. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at La Villa de Soledad B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Julia!

Thank you for your kind remarks. Soledad and myself thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests. Glad that you and your group had a great time and thank you for taking the time to put up your review. We value the comments that our guests make and and they keep us working hard to make of our property a unique experience that will be cherished by all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed there and it was the most fantastic getaway during this Holy week. We journeyed from San Pedro Sula and got there almost dusk. John and his wife greeted us like we known each other for a while. The grand view of the area was breathtaking surrounded by exotic plants, mountain with waterfall cascading down the river. At night, we can hear the serenity of cascading water flowing down the river. The entire staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was excellent. If anyone wants the best time of theif life,, this is one place that you want to spent away from hustling and bustling city life....Thank you John

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trauma14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.6 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
10.6 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
0 mi away
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
#3 of 35 in La Ceiba
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa de Soledad B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa de Soledad B&B

Address: Km.8 Carretera La Ceiba - Yaruca | Aldea El Naranjo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Villa de Soledad B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding setting with breathtaking views of Pico Bonito National Park and Cangrejal River. Walking distance access to hiking trails, river rafting. Awesome birdwatching opportunities, unsurpassable Honduran hospitality provided on site by owners. Private rooms with terrace, lovely tropical gardens. Truly a setting that will generate pleasant memories you will cherish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa de Soledad B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Soledad B&B Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing