We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Paradise Found

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Found
Ranked #11 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Initially intended on spending only 3 nights with Dante and Kristen but ended up staying a fourth. My girlfriend and I had an absolute blast. Diane and Kristen are incredibly warm and welcoming, it felt like we were staying with family, despite not knowing either of them at all! Even the rooms, clean, cozy, welcoming, felt like we were staying in our bedrooms and not renting a room for the night.

We spent 4 great days there hiking, ziplining, snorkeling, all which Dante arranged at no extra cost. PF is right on the beach and its a beautiful place to enjoy a sunrise, sunset, and eat some of Dante's great cooking (try the calamari).

Dante/Kristen, thank you very much for everything

DP + BK

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I visited the Bay Islands in Honduras over Christmas 2011 and stayed at Paradise Found for two nights, one night at either end of a visit to Cayos Cochinos. We had the same room each time, a room which I think was not their best room. It was very sparse, with only a single sheet to sleep under and the first night we had only one towel for two of us but it was clean. There was one frosted-glass window that opened onto the parking area and had no screen to keep out mosquitoes, plus there was a bright yellow security light that shone right into our room.

The hosts are an unusual couple, to say the least, but they are very warm and friendly and do their best to make you comfortable. I'm not sure why everyone raves about the food but I guess it's because the host tries very hard. It's certainly decent fare but nothing extraordinary.

The bar is very nice and the view on the beach is great. We didn't do any touring around with the hosts but they do offer this as an extra service. I'm kind of glad we didn't because both days we were there, his vehicles had something wrong with them and he'd nearly been stranded with his guests onboard off in some jungle somewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter42France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseFoundLaCeiba, Owner at Paradise Found, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

I apologize for the one towel and sheet. All you needed to do was ASK. We have quality comforters available as well. You opted for the basic room, we have two and they are less than 4 months old. New pillow-top mattresses and new air conditioning units. Don't know what to say about the food, it's unfortunate you were dissappointed. We cater to Vegans, vegetarians and folks with various food allergies. As for the touring....I have NEVER charged anyone for that service in 4 years. The diesel landcruiser has NEVER stranded anyone, anywhere, EVER. Yes it does need maintenance as we drive it offroad , in the rivers and up in the mountains. When you were here we had taken a rock into the radiator and the truck was running hot until after the holidays. Again, sorry you were disappointed in your stay. Don't understand why you came back and stayed again????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My second stay in 2 years with the same laid back atmosphere and warm hospitality. Your hosts will make you feel like family, gorgeous views, right on the ocean, awesome food, and an awesome outside bar right on the water's edge.

Room Tip: my room had an ocean view and the sounds of the waves all night long...awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felipe714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseFoundLaCeiba, Owner at Paradise Found, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Always a pleasure to have you here buen Amigo mio! C'mon back ASAP. Kristin and I miss you already. Hoping 2012 is a banner year for you.

All the Best,

Dante'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I found this place from reading the reviews here and was not disappointed.

Me and my friends arrived to La Ceiba, after a busy week in Playa del Carmen. The minute we got there, Dante welcomed us with coconut drinks in the outdoor restaurant overlooking the sea.. its impossible not to relax here. Paradise found is a beautiful place and the owners, Dante and Kristin, did everything to make us feel welcome, they even helped us around in La Ceiba which was very appreciated!

The food, both breakfast and dinner at the grill, is awesome, The burgers are out of this world, and the ribs. .. . :-)

During our short visit in La Ceiba we visited the hot springs and the island Roatan. There's plenty more to do and see in La Ceiba though, which could bring me back, and in such case Paradise Found would without doubt be the place where I'd stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allie848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseFoundLaCeiba, Owner at Paradise Found, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

We REALLY miss the Swedish crew. Our chalkboard still reads "Sweden Loves You"........Way Cool! Zipling with your group was a BLAST as was the Hot Springs. C'mon back for rafting on the Rio Congrejal. Thanks again.... Sweden ROCKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was traveling from Copan to Roatan and needed a place to stay for the night in La Ceiba. I was only planning on staying one night, but I ended up staying for an entire week. I finally made it to Roatan, but after a few days I returned for two more nights at Paradise Found. I could not get enough of the place. The food in outstanding, and Dante' and Kristen are like family. They have Tony, the on-site dive master, who will make sure that all of your snokeling and diving adventures exceed expectation. I have had the opportunity to travel all around the world, and it is places and people like these that truly make a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler_tedend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseFoundLaCeiba, Owner at Paradise Found, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

T. :
We had a great time with you ALL week. Helping us feed 75 hungry disadvantaged children at the church in Sambo Creek is something we'll both remember forever. If you're ever close in your travels, come stay a while. Kristin and I genuinely enjoyed your presence here... can you say "GREAT KHARMA?"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Originally we had only planned to stay at Paradis Found for 1 or 2 days but ended up staying for over a week. The hosts, Dante and Kristin, go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and accomodate your requests and needs. Dante will arrange tours of local events and attractions through his many connections in the area and ensure your saftety and comfort. Dante is also a superb chef, who serves up mouth watering fare to please the palate. At Paradise found you will meet travelers from around the world to swap storiew with, share a beer or rum or play a game of darts.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a microwave, bar/fridge, and water cooler in addition to airconditioning, ceiling fan and...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oceank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Dante & Kristin are just amazing hosts with big hearts for their 4 room B&B. Dante was our guide almost everyday of our 7 day stay. He arranged for our pick-up from the Utila ferry. Dante is an fantastic cook, everything he made was just delicious, try the pizza too. Enormous portions and if your aren't ferociously hungry, split with someone. Easy to become friends with the other guests because of the wonderful atmosphere. Dante took us to La Ceiba twice where we ate at his favourite restaurants, the Sushi place is a must. We dived at Cayo Cochino with Tony from Pirate Island Divers (see separate review). Ziplining and Spa all within a few minutes drive, pick-up from the hotel. We had such a marvelous time at Paradise Found, the breakfasts were wonderful, name it and they will try to make it. Maria, Dante's assistant cook is a marvel. Our room was simple but more than adequate. We took the simpler of the two alternatives. There is the more expensive alternative which has a micro, fridge and TV, curtains and wardrobe. We will definitely return to Paradise found when in Honduras to meet our new friends Dante & Kristin again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseFoundLaCeiba, Owner at Paradise Found, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Your group of Swedes made us feel as if our family members had been here. We had such a wonderful time as well. The pictures say it all... ;-) Friends forever....... come back soon......WE MISS YOU!

Dante'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
#9 of 35 in La Ceiba
20 reviews
0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Found? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Found

Address: Sambo Creek 19, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront B&B with a Bar & Grill. Queen size, pillow top mattress. Private bathroom w/ hot water, air conditioning & ceiling fan. Romantic get away with plenty of thing to do such as kayaking, bicycle rentals and guided hiking adventures. There are other nearby activities that can be easily arranged such as rafting, canopy zip-line with natural hot springs, fishing, and trips to Cayos Cochinos, Roatan and Utila. PF is 15 minutes east from downtown La Ceiba on a clean beach. Come enjoy Paradise with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Found Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing