We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The wonder of it all is that this place isn't fully booked with a one year waiting list. For five days, it felt as if we had the place all to ourselves.
Room 4 was spacious and stylish. The combined views of the waterfall, river, and artfully manicured grounds are incredible.
Villas Pico Bonito is centrally located for many outdoor destinations. The hike to the waterfall El Bejunco is not too be missed.
Richard and his staff are service-oriented and supportive. Of course, Lucy El Perro reigns supreme.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
83
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Where do I start? We found the Villas sort of by accident on the internet. It was our lucky day!! I was looking for a place large enough for my husband and I and my immediate family the day after our wedding. It was heaven! Richard & his staff makes sure you are taken care of from the minute you arrive. My parents fell in love with the surroundings. They now wish we had gotten married there instead of Roatan!! I have been to Honduras several times but it was my family's first trip. They say Villas Pico Bonito is the only place they would want to go again. Our only regret is that we didn't stay long enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMsMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Wow! From the outside this is the type of place that is normally out of reach for us. A honey moon - once in a life time kind of place. We poked our heads in for what we expected to be an expensive lunch and never left. We fell in love with the view, the property and eventually the service. Affordable paradise.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunkontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ceiba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The two bedroom champa is by far the most unique place to spend a night in all of Central America. 50' diameter includes two cozy bedrooms, two baths and a large open area, I guess you would call it a great room, living room, kitchen outside porch. It's not a suite, it's more like a thatched roof castle with soaring ceilings and the best and closest veiw of nature you can acheive in a jungle setting. The veiw of the river from the livingroom is spectacular. Richard deserves credit for his grand design of the building that is so open and yet cozy at the same time. A one night stay in the champa = twenty years of memories.

The landscaping is superb, a botantical oasis, where jungle meets river. A great swimming pool with an infinity edge offers a great place to relax and enjoy the veiws. My daughters (aged 8 & 10) perfer swimming in the river with the gentle current sweeping them into a shallow area where they can walk back upstream and get swept away over and over.

We live near La Ceiba and vist Richard a couple of times a month. The only decent steak we have been able to find in La Ceiba. My favorite meal there is his porkchops and a couple of weeks ago I had a chicken breast sandwich which I have to say was the best I have ever eaten. His dinner and sandwich menu is simple, but very well done.

When you visit Richard, you make a lifetime friend. His compassion for the surounding comunity and his love of the area shows in everything he does. This is not a place built just to make a profit. It is a gathering place to meet new friends without being overwhelmed. Perfect setting for families or couples. When we have visitors and families in Honduras, Richards is always the first place we take them.

You can not end a review of Richards without mentioning Lucy, his dog. Sometimes we go there just to see how Lucy is doing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spark5985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at Villas Pico Bonito in September. We were delighted and enthused with everything at Richards place, the incredible detail to the structures and the grounds as well as the view of Pico Bonito and the river. Richard is an amazing guy full of great stories and life experience. We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, anytime.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocotepeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our family of 6 just returned last week from a trip to Honduras, and we had the good fortune to reserve 2 nights at Villas Pico Bonito. It was the most enjoyable and memorable part of our stay. We rented the large thatched roof 'hut' right by the pool (see pictures), and it felt like living in the jungle with all amenities included.
The place is beautifully done, and the views of the river flowing by, or the waterfall in the midst of lush vegetation on the other side of the valley, are just gorgeous. Our hosts Richard and Ana made us feel like long lost friends coming home, and the staff catered to our every need. The Pico Bonito park, zip lining, or white water rafting is within walking distance, and La Ceiba is a few minutes away by car.
Thanks, Rochard and Ana, for an unforgettable, relaxing time!!

The Hausers

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The6H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I can't recommend this place enough! Richard was a great host and took care of our every need. He arranged transporation for us to and from the airport and bus station which was a one less thing for us to worry about. Richard truly cares about his guests and his staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is beautiful and the perfect temperature for swimming. Our room overlooked the river, and the screened in porch was great for eating dinner in without sharing our food with any bugs. Richard arranged for us to go whitewater swimming with a local tour company, which was a blast. Our room was equipped with a kitchen (stove, sink, oven, and pots and pans, small refridgerator and dishes and silverware) It was perfect, we asked our driver to stop off so we could get some food at the super market. This saved us money on meals, while the Villas staff will be happy to prepare meals for you, this was one area where we decided to save some money (although they do make a tasty burger!). I can't recommend this place enough. Richard has wifi on property which he is more than happy to let you use. I would definately go back to the Villas at Pico Bonito. It was truly a highlight of our trip in Central America.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nukefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.1 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
0.8 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Property: Villas Pico Bonito
Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing