We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning and relaxing resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning and relaxing resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Extremely beautiful jungle resort. We stayed for two days after leaving Cayos Cachinos, and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful pool, delicious meals and beautiful jungle setting. We stayed in the Ceiba Tree Lodge, which was so beautiful! The Staff made us feel very comfortable, and were so friendly! The resident dogs Lucy and Ace were awesome! The remote mountain location was just wonderful...not that far from town, yet you felt so far away from city-life. Such a great place to unwind and relax!! We definitely will go back to Villas Pico Bonito the next time we visit Honduras !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
el paso, texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've stayed several times at Villa Pico Bonito. I never get tired of this magical place. It is located just 7 km fro La Ceiba on the Rio Cangrejal, but it feels like you are in the middle of an Amazonian rainforest. Sit in the beautiful infinity pool, look down at the River, look across the river to the National Park, see the cascading waterfall, watch the toucans and other exotic birds fly overhead.........it does not get any better than this!
The attention to detail is found with every turn. The rooms are beautiful! The tables and countertops are made of huge mango wood slabs, expertly fitted together. Our room in the Ceiba Tree Villa is like a movie set for Swiss Family Robinson, soaring high thatched rooms keep the rooms very comfortable with no air conditioning. These rooms let the outdoors in. You can smell the beautiful flowers and are awakened each morning by the chorus of exotic bird calls.
The staff is so much fun. They are very friendly and so anxious to make your stay a memorable one. Ana is so professional, she runs everything like clockwork. Letty's infectious smile would brighten anyone's day. Wilber is a professional! His dishes are delicious and very reasonably priced. The grounds and landscaping is impeccable.
If you are planning a trip to Honduras, this is a must stay stop. If your not planning a trip to Honduras, do so now! Villas Pico Bonito is a destination resort, not to be missed

Room Tip: I have stayed here many time, all of the rooms are very nice and very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiksElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I stayed at Villas Pico Bonito (VPB) for 12 days in La Casita. There are several cabins nestled through out this piece of Paradise. Very reasonably priced. The staff is wonderful and we felt like family there. Wilder is Chef and prepares the food - anything from the best homemade Pizza ever to a decadently prepared chicken curry dish. Ana was very helpful in setting up the tours and making sure we were taken care of. The grounds are tropical rain forest, in the mountains, right on the banks of the Congrejal River. We visited many other lodges while there and none compared to the surroundings and location of the Villas Pico Bonito. The view from the resort is of the Pico Bonito National Park with a large waterfall (Bejuco Falls) cascading down from the mountain. There are six toucans living in a tree that can be viewed from the awesome infinity pool which over looks the river. We hiked, mountain biked, zipped lined, hot water springs at Sambo Creek, Snorkeled and scuba, fished, swam - they can hook you up with everything. We loved the Villas Pico Bonito, Honduras and the people! Enjoy this piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Although cabins and rooms do not have A/C - you do not need it in the mountains as it gets cooler at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Jeanne12331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The place is overlooking the river and near most of the activities. I felt safe the entire time we were there. We were in the tree house lodge which has an open air kitchen and 2 closed off bedrooms. There are 2 king sized beds in each room with netting over the beds to help with bugs. Even though we really didn't need the netting, we used it anyway as I felt better with it. The tree house lodge overlooks the pool and river. The infinity pool is really clean and nice. They have wifi. There are a few trails to walk down to the river. I found a big boulder I could climb on top of and do a morning meditation. Most of the staff speak English and will sit and chat with you. They are all very nice and courteous. The food is really good especially the beef tipico and beef curry. They also use a purification system to filter the water there. I would not hesitate to go back and stay again. They will also arrange pick-up and drop-off at the airport. Only 2 things to keep in mind for your stay. 1. The food takes a bit of time to cook so make sure and order an hour before you need to go anywhere. 2. On Sunday the pool can get crowded as locals from La Ceiba drive in and eat lunch at the lodge. They are allowed to use the pool area so I would plan an activity on Sunday afternoon or at least not plan for a relaxing day at the pool that day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britters32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you are looking for a romantic and relaxing escape from everything this is the place. It is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l, the gardens are fabulous, the girl that attended us explained that the owner brings flowers from all over and I can say he has done a great job, everything on here its amazing. The pool is, in my humble opinion, one of the best in the country, it is an infinity pool looking to a mountain and it is so relaxing to be swimming with the sound of all the animals around and the superb view, the food at the restaurant is exquisite, we had the pleasure to talk with the cook and it was a pretty good experience and it is worth to mention he is a very young man, I have had the sleep of my life in here because it is so uncommon to sleep with the sound of nature, loved everything of it and hopefully we will come back soon, highly recommend place

Room Tip: Cabins in front of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not our first visit and it won't be our last, this week we were able to enjoy 2 1/2 days of pure bliss at Villas Pico Bonito were you simply disappear into a jungle paradise.

We stayed in the Ceiba Tree House and it is the best of the best at the Villa. Two huge double king beds in each of the two bedrooms with a full kitchen and to baths plus a shaded patio with views of the magnificent vanishing edge swimming pool, the river and water fall on the other side.

A botanical paradise that beats almost anywhere we have traveled in tropical countries makes the environment extremely peaceful. The Villas are a must if you want to truly experience the rain forests outside La Ceiba.

Room Tip: The Ceiba Tree House gives you the best of the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent 4 days here with a group of friends last year and it was the perfect escape! After a long flight from the US, and a couple hours drive in the middle of the night from San Pedro Sula, arriving at this beautiful lodge was a welcome site. Every single member of the staff (including the dogs!) were friendly, and helpful. The grounds of the hotel were incredibly well looked after, lush, and colorful. If you are on your way to or from San Pedro Sula and/or Utila/Roatan, I highly recommend a stop at this gem of a place. There are lots of activities in the area, or you can simple enjoy some drinks by the pool and the rush of the river below. A real special treat was sitting outside of the villa and listening to a rain storm in the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Property: Villas Pico Bonito
Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing