We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“infinity pool with view of beautiful jungle water fall”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I must agree with other reviews that the place is very relaxing, beautiful and peaceful. I also like there restaurant, which us open to the public. They offer imported steaks and a wide selection of German beers. The grounds have beautiful gardens. the cangrejal river flows in front. I hope you enjoy it as much as my wife and i have.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honduras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Who would expect to find a great hamburger that brought back memories of PJ Clarke's in New York City along a jungle river in La Ceiba, Honduras. Yesterday, while driving with a friend along the Rio Cangrejal on a bright sunny day.... hunger and thirst kicked in, so we stopped at Villas Pico Bonito a hidden jungle paradise overlooking the river. The expierence begins as you enter a this jungle eco lodge through beautiful tropcal gardens, flowers blooming everywhere. Fortunately the trail took us directly to the bar/restaurant, who could ask for more! But, there was a lot more. We were greeted wih a big smile from Leti who served up a couple of cold Honduran beers to quench our thirst, which we promptly took to a table by their beautiful infinity pool. About halfway through the first beer Leti arrived with the fabulous hamburgers she had recommended. Ah! life is good..Villas Pico Bonito has about eight lovely private lodges with views of the river, waterfall and tropical gardens. Lots of birds and wild life. They also offer hiking and river rafting...So, it's not just about hamburgers, unless of course you're just a couple of hungry folks wandering through the jungle.....

Room Tip: Go to their website for an overview of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelguy_rfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks. I have passed on your kind words to the staff.
Please come and stay with us if you plan to visit Honduras again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here for our 5th wedding anniversay in the Ceiba Tree Lodge. We had it all to ourselves. The place is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Our room was gorgeous and very "tropical." The brought us a candlelight dinner with fresh flowers, champagne, steak and the works up to our balcony and waited on us hand and foot for our anniversary night dinner. It was awesome. Anna and Lettie were terrific! It is a beautiful place to stay, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ceiba Tree Lodge has two rooms - one on each side. But the view of the infinity pool, gardens and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneDinsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks for the review. We do like to arrange special events for people. Generally we do not charge extra for these services. It is nice when we get a review thanking us for the work we do to keep our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights at Villas Pico Bonito.  This place is phenomenal.  The entire staff was friendly and accommodating.  The check in was hassle free. We arrived and were taken straight to the room.   It's hard to please everyone all of the time but the 4 in our group were entirely satisfied with all aspects of our stay. The meals served were delicious.  The property was beautiful and immaculate.  Welder, Anna and Leti went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.  Our only regret now is we wish we would have booked longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oznog94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved this place. The owner Richard is a sweet gentlemen, always very attentive and helpful!
The staff is wonderful, Letizia, Wilder and Eda are great people that make your stay incredible! The dogs are delightful to play with, the birds are a pleasure to listen to in the morning.
The views of the surrounding forest and of the waterfall are breathtaking.
We had a great time here, we felt spoiled but we also have been very respected our privacy.
WE DO HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.
Thank you again Richard for the great time!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the river. The Colibri and the Casita are very close to the road and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Yesterday evening, as the sun set and after a hot days travel, we relaxed floating in an infinity pool with the the boulder strew river below filling our ears with the sound of rushing water. With the sweet, heady, pungent smell of flowers in our nostrils we looked out over the thick jungle clad mountains soaring overhead while the fire flies danced in the garden and the stars burned overhead.
In the night there was heavy rain with frogs sounding like geese and thousands of insects singing.This morning the air was cool, clear and fresh with the mist, rising from the forest evaporating as the morning warmed. There were dozens of toucans flitting from tree to tree, humming birds feeding from flowers in the garden and below the swollen river roared while white herons fished in the shallows.
At dusk we went down to the river to watch the fireflies dancing along the river bank. MAGIC. The scene took my breath away, the dark looming mountains at two levels towering over us and to the north a huge limestone cliff fell tangled up in misty clouds. In front was another limestone cliff five hundred meters high trees and vines clinging precariously in places to the sheer cliff face. A waterfall graced the west side flowing now with the heavy rains.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is a hidden paradise! As mentioned you are away from the town, but that's kind of the point.
The staff were fantastic, really accommodating and helpful. The food is nice and simple. Nothing to blow you away mind.
The garden, pool and setting are fantastic with some really nice walks near by.
You can get some adventures going rock jumping, white water rafting is a must, mountain biking etc...
If you are looking for a relaxing long weekend, you will not find a better place. And yes, there are bugs!! Apparently only when it rains...but be prepared!

Room Tip: The road can get some big trucks at night, which are loud! Closer to the river is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanks for the 5 star rating. Yes it is true the Casita and the Colibri are close to the road and consequently are priced accordingly. The traffic is mostly going to work, a few delivery vehicles and buses during the day and then coming home from work. Basically at night it is rare to hear anything on the road. Traffic picks up around 5.30 to 6 am when it gets light and around 4 pm for an hour or so.
Regards and thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#7 of 22 in La Ceiba
258 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
59 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#14 of 22 in La Ceiba
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range: $41 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing