We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms, staff, pool, view and river”
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Two couples stayed two nights in Ceiba Tree house. Loved it. Beautiful place and the owner Richard gave such a warm welcome and good tips about area. Cooled off both in lovely pool and Rio Cangrejal's pretty green flow and pools. Lots more potential for exploring and adventure than we had time for in one day. The grill was open and food was tasty so we never had to leave the place. Took hike on jungle trail across street that gave nice taste of the natural wonders. Restful and even comes with an available kitty if you're homesick for the one you left behind. The view over the river into Pico Bonito's wild forests is a beauty.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms in Ceiba Tree make it great for four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouzelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you are staying in Rio Congrejal this is the place to stay for sure. Richard very nice and the rest of his staff are all very nice and helpful. Except for the ants that were crawling at night in the kitchen and bathroom, which Richard iradicated on our third day of stay. I'm not sure if any of the rooms was infested with ants, but we rented the Del Rio Lodge below the Bejuco Lodge. The lodge was outstandingly beautiful and well kept. FYI, the ants doesn't bite, they were just going back and forth the bathroom, we think it might be carpenter ants. The first night it really didn't bothered us but on the second night there were more ants than we expected. I advice Richard to iradicate the ants completely before renting that particular lodge again. Another thing, they have had blackout when we were there for a few hours, the villas doesn't have generator for the lodge yet. But you can jump in their beautiful swimming pool to cool off.

Room Tip: The four lodges facing Rio Congrejal are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripletango, Owner at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Thanks for the 5 star review. We really appreciate it. The tiny ants are like a sugar ant and are attracted by food. We would have sprayed for them immediately but were concerned that a guest may be allergic. to the insecticide. In fact after it was proven to be tasteless and odorless we sprayed a small area that the were using as their route. No more problems.
These particular ants are perfectly harmless, however sometimes we are visited by army ants who clean the property of most insects and are welcomed. Jut stay out of their way for an hour or so and they are gone. It is an incredible sight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed here with family and the villa was awesome! I would love to have a place like this year round, of course getting to Honduras on a regular basis would be a little tricky.

The views from the deck were killer, the river in front, cloud forest, waterfall in the distance.
It was a quiet location and secluded which was exactly what we were looking for. The tropical birds flying along the river was nice.

I didn't swim in the pool, I did swim in the river it was awesome!

The one thing I didn't like was that the owners had a couple of dogs and they were hanging around the bar and one of the dog made some stink near our table which pretty much killed the dinner mood.

The directions to the place could have been better along with some more signs.

If you are in the area this is a place you should check out!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We had 3 amazing days/nights at Villa Pico Bonito. We did a lot, and did a lot of nothing. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was great. It was all wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZroseZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were taken there by our friends that lives in La Ceiba last summer. We were only there for the day but it was wonderful. Two of my chldren swam in the river with life jackets, saw a group of rafters come floating by, then went to the pool where they learned to swim without jackets. Lunch was delicious adn then we toured the entire area. The cabins were beautiful, clean and positioned around the property to ensure privacy without being too far from the pool and main area. Will go back next time we are home.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

After a long trip across the country we arrived at the Villas in the middle of the night. All 13 of us unpacked our bags and ourselves from the "Turismo" van, winded our way the the rainy jungle and fell asleep. We awoke to what might be the most beautiful landscape in the country. The many villas are built into the side of a jungle valley, on the other side of the river is a waterfall. Unfortunately, we arrived at the beginning of a serious cold front which caused 3 days of near constant rain. Along with the rain, came a power outage. Vague answers from the power company, if one actually exists, never materialized. As our family reached the verge, the awesome staff really did save the first leg of our trip. They provided umbrellas, candles, flashlights, and managed to cook a few great meals. On our last night, we had a candle lit party under the beautiful bar, and the owner helped us out on the drink cost. Everyone was awesomely friendly. The bartenders were really fun, the owner, Richard, had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the country, and was very generous. He also decided to invest in some extra generators for the rainy season. Overall great leg of the trip, with great thanks to the staff and mother nature's beauty.

*NOTE* If you are continuing on to Roatan for another part of the trip and the weather has been even remotely unstable or you are even slightly prone to motion sickness, DO NOT take the ferry. If you are so unfortunate to end up on this ship take a seat on the top level in the back. You and your family will thank me for this advice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 wonderful days at Villas Pico Bonito and loved it! The Ceiba Tree Lodge is like no other place we have ever stayed. Open to the air and a stunning view of the beautiful Rio Congrejal, with the bedrooms closeable for sleeping. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans so that one can really cook. It's fun to do, with the wonderful design of the building. The owners Richard and Ana are very kind and helped us set up activities, and transportation. The grounds are expansive and beautifully kept, and full of gorgeous birds. I highly recommend Villas Pico Bonito.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
11.1 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range: $51 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing