We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, exotic, clean, delicious and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Pico Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Beautiful, exotic, clean, delicious and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were taken there by our friends that lives in La Ceiba last summer. We were only there for the day but it was wonderful. Two of my chldren swam in the river with life jackets, saw a group of rafters come floating by, then went to the pool where they learned to swim without jackets. Lunch was delicious adn then we toured the entire area. The cabins were beautiful, clean and positioned around the property to ensure privacy without being too far from the pool and main area. Will go back next time we are home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
82
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

After a long trip across the country we arrived at the Villas in the middle of the night. All 13 of us unpacked our bags and ourselves from the "Turismo" van, winded our way the the rainy jungle and fell asleep. We awoke to what might be the most beautiful landscape in the country. The many villas are built into the side of a jungle valley, on the other side of the river is a waterfall. Unfortunately, we arrived at the beginning of a serious cold front which caused 3 days of near constant rain. Along with the rain, came a power outage. Vague answers from the power company, if one actually exists, never materialized. As our family reached the verge, the awesome staff really did save the first leg of our trip. They provided umbrellas, candles, flashlights, and managed to cook a few great meals. On our last night, we had a candle lit party under the beautiful bar, and the owner helped us out on the drink cost. Everyone was awesomely friendly. The bartenders were really fun, the owner, Richard, had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the country, and was very generous. He also decided to invest in some extra generators for the rainy season. Overall great leg of the trip, with great thanks to the staff and mother nature's beauty.

*NOTE* If you are continuing on to Roatan for another part of the trip and the weather has been even remotely unstable or you are even slightly prone to motion sickness, DO NOT take the ferry. If you are so unfortunate to end up on this ship take a seat on the top level in the back. You and your family will thank me for this advice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 wonderful days at Villas Pico Bonito and loved it! The Ceiba Tree Lodge is like no other place we have ever stayed. Open to the air and a stunning view of the beautiful Rio Congrejal, with the bedrooms closeable for sleeping. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans so that one can really cook. It's fun to do, with the wonderful design of the building. The owners Richard and Ana are very kind and helped us set up activities, and transportation. The grounds are expansive and beautifully kept, and full of gorgeous birds. I highly recommend Villas Pico Bonito.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

A weekend getaway at Villas Pico Bonito will undoubtedly become a regular occurrence for us. The gardens and pool were immaculate, the accommodation options mean there is something for everyone, the quirky Ceiba tree where we stayed had a fantastic view and only left us wishing we had brought friends with us to enjoy the fantastic bar and kitchen area with a view over the pool to the river and waterfall beyond. Richard was a fantastic host, and very accommodating. If you are planning a trip to Pico Bonito look no further than this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in the largest villa which was perfect for 2 families as long as the kids don't mind sharing a bed. The setting is magnificent and the staff is wonderful. The only slight critique would be lack of nightlife. Richard, the owner, is very helpful with arranging any activities which interest you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the Bejuco Lodge. We originally booked the Del Rio Lodge but got upgraded for free b/c someone else decided to stay longer. The Lodge had a great view of the Cangrejal River and waterfall. The lodge had a full kitchen with microwave and refrigerator. The Kitchen also had a multiple gallon water dispenser. (make sure to bring your own portable water bottle so you can take water on your hikes).

Grounds:

The lodge had beautiful grounds with an infinity pool overlooking the river. Plenty of spots to relax and read and enjoy nature. Easy access to the river for swimming. Probably one of my top river swimming experiences I’ve ever had. The translucent river water, boulders, and the jungle backdrop all made for a great setting.

Transportation:

We took the bus from SAP airport to La Ceiba and it took 3:30 hours (Heldman Alas-if flying into SAP when exit customs look to your left.. you will see signs for rental cars and the Heldman Alas ticket office is right there ..one way was 21 US (spend a little more and get the executive plus seating which are like first class airline seats) That class was fully booked so we had to sit in the back which are also good seats just smaller. We got seat 19 & 20 which provided no leg room, directly above restroom, would recommend any other seat than 19 & 20. You can also take Sosa Airlines at 2 pm but book ahead we tried to buy tickets that day and they were fully booked.(cost for ticket 74 US) Taxi from the bus station to lodge was 20 US and took around 15 minutes. Make sure to tell your taxi driver to stop at the grocery store so you can buy food and drinks.

Location:

The Lodge is located in a prime spot on the Cangrejal River. It is a 5 minute walk to Jungle River lodge for tours or a 15 minute walk to the entrance to the Pico Bonito National Park and a 20 minute walk to Omega tours. Omega tours had a great menu for lunch and dinner.

Room:

Our room was very spacious and had comfortable bed. The bathroom had a shower. The shower was large, good water pressure, and the water was warm. US electrical outlets. Each room had a ceiling fan and we were very comfortable at night with the fans running. I would recommend to Richard to put lounge chairs or hammocks on the balcony for better relaxing and also blinds on the sides of the balcony for privacy. The Balcony had a table and chairs for eating along with ceiling fans. Coffee maker and blender are in the kitchen along with a microwave. Make sure to buy paper towels if you plan on cooking.

Food:

Breakfast is around 4 us dollars and you get either pancakes or a baleada along with fruit and coffee or juice. Coffee is provided free each morning by the pool if you do not feel like making any in your room. We ate dinner at the lodge both nights. The food was good but simple. The menu was limited but you do have a full kitchen if you want to make your own food. We ate at Omega tours and the menu is very large, good, and cheap.

Summary:

I thought the owner Richard was very helpful. He went out of his way in helping us find a flight when we found out the ferry was not running. He let us use his computer and arranged a taxi for us to the airport. It is hard to find that type of genuine customer service these days. We will visit the lodge again in the future and would recommend it to family and friends. If you have any questions you can email me thru trip advisor.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grayce_The_Super_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We just returned from two and half weeks in Honduras in August 2010. We spent four invigorating days in the Cangrejal River Lodge (Villas Pico Bonito). We had only planned on staying three days but couldn't pry ourselves away!
Richard and his wife Anna built the place and their love for it comes through in every detail. We opted to stay in the Ceiba Tree Lodge and would heartily recommend it. It is a masterpiece. It's like living in a comfortable tree house surrounded by the sights and sounds of the jungle but with all the comforts of home. We fell in love with the place immediately! The Ceiba Tree and the other lodges are scattered around a compound that is a botanical garden of tropical trees and flowers. There is also a crystal clear infinity pool set above the river and the rainforest beyond. We spent ample time in the pool as well as in the warm Rio Cangrejal flowing by below.
After relaxing by the pool on our first day we hiked to the El Bejuco Waterfall and soaked in the spray of the sixty meter falls. The entrance to the trail is over a suspension bridge a short walk from the lodge.
The next day we went rafting on the Rio Cangrejal, a trip that Richard helped us organize. That was a thrilling and beautiful ride that also included some cliff jumping.
On our last full day we rode the local bus to a small town called Las Mangas and set off on another hike to the village of La Muralla and some fabulous swimming holes.
Richard and Anna are friendly and helpful hosts. Richard arranged transport for us from the Roatan ferry to his place and back to La Ceiba for our bus connection. We never missed not having our own transportation. Richard will offer advice or will help arrange adventures in the area, or you may just wish to stay close to the pool and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.5 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
5.5 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#18 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Property: Villas Pico Bonito
Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Pico Bonito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. In addition we have the Hidden Paradise restaurant for your convenience if you wish. Welcome to our Eco Lodge in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing