We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omega Tours are frickin awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Omega Tours are frickin awesome”
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We did rafting, kayaking in the cacao lagoon and the waterfall hike. All the guides were absolutely wonderful and the cabins were really nice and free with our trips. The best bit of the trip by far were the FABUUUULOUS bar girls. They were hilarious and so nice. Yolanda and Dee. We would recommend this place to anyone just for their company alone!!!!! One of the group even has plans of marriage in the future!

If you're reading this guys, we love you!!!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UkUns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    38
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
95
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed three days at the Omega Jungle Lodge in one of their "normal" rooms which was quite nice and clean. We even had our own terrace with hammocks. We did two tours with them. The hike to the waterfall was really good and quite adventurous. We went whitewater kayaking and rafting with them as well. Their guides were very nice and very professional. We felt perfectly safe with them as they were really very good kayak and rafting guides. We enjoyed the evenings at their bar/restaurant very much and the food was very good. They can pick you up in La Ceiba but there is a bus several times a day as well. We can really recommend this place and had a great time there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed just 3 nights at Omega and did 2 full day adventures (riding horses up through mountain villages and kayaking through Cacao Lagoon to a secluded Caribbean beach) and 1 half day rafting trip. All were outstanding - great scenery and great guides. The following week I enjoyed a wonderful guided hike to El Bejuco waterfall with a guide from my Spanish school; Omega offers that hike as well.

The "dorms" are very nice and free with an adventure. We payed an extra $15/night to stay in the Creek Cabin; the room and wood furnishings were beautiful and we enjoyed the hammocks and the sound of the creek flowing beneath the cabin. The only downside was it was quite a walk to the shared bathrooms but it was close to the beautiful jungle shower. The grounds are lovely with lots of orchids and other native species and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed the pool. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We did not stay with Omega Tours but we booked through them to go to Cacao lagoon, we had an amazing experience, (saw lots of monkeys) their guide was on time, very friendly and accommodating to our needs.

The last night of our stay at Pico Bonito we decided to dine at Omega, they have good food, great atmosphere very friendly people.

We were concerned about us walking back to our hotel at night on a very dark road so Don Udo offered to take us back to our hotel FREE, I though this was a very nice gesture.

Ceiba/Pico Bonito was the one of best part of our trip and we want to acknowledge all the people that made this experience unforgettable.

love,

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocotepeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

When I was planning our honeymoon in Honduras, I knew I wanted to visit Pico Bonito park and go rafting. I was completely torn between Omega and Jungle River Lodge, and though I can't give any feedback about the latter, Omega was a wonderful choice for us. We stayed the first few nights in Creek Cabana, and if you can afford it, I enthusiastically recommend it! The accommodations are very, very basic, but we weren't here for luxury. There's no sink or toilet in the cabana, the bulbs are bare and the furnishings consist of a bed, some shelves and a chair or two, so this is a great choice for people who are used to "roughing it" but want to splurge a bit. The creek (which is more like a raging river after a good rain) runs directly under the cabana, and it lulled us to sleep each night. We loved it! The outdoor shower is also not to be missed. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we changed our plans to stay an extra night. The Cabana was booked, so we had to stay in the Guesthouse, which was decent but couldn't compare to the charm of the Cabana.

There's a restaurant/bar on-site which is pretty much your only food option, so it's a good thing the food is quite tasty. I especially enjoyed the spaetzle; with German owners, the menu certainly has a German flair. One word of advice: allow a LOT of time for your food to come! The bar is a great place to just hang out after a long day of hiking. The open-air setting is fantastic. It's also right by the pool, although this was not in service when we were there.

As for the rafting...take a look at the river before you book your trip. If it's brown, don't bother. We made the mistake of going rafting in a furious, muddy river and this was a low point of our Honduras experience. I do envy all those people who talk about crystal clear waters and swimming and jumping off of rocks. What we experienced was a chaotic piece of river that we had to run down three times because the rest of it was unsafe to raft. Not recommended.

We did a lot of hiking, which was great. The national park is certainly worth the trip. We also hiked up the road and passed through several small villages, which was an eye-opening experience. It rained almost constantly, so we were very wet and we read a lot, too. Oh, and don't forget the rum!

In the end, I would certainly choose Omega again for their amazing location and their laid back and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendaemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I am writing this review because I can't forget the awful experience that we had on our trip to Omega Lodge.
*My friend (a woman) was down at the river one morning around 8 am and was attacked at gunpoint by a man wearing a ski mask. She told the owners what happened (between her frightened sobs) and they said "this never happened before". We found out from one of their guides that it did indeed happen in the past. Given the political unrest at the time, we had specifically inquired as to the safety in the area and were assured that not only was the lodge safe, but that the owners took every step to assure our safety. Nothing could have been farther from the truth given their response to the situation. They didn't even inform the police ("they wouldn't do anything anyway" they said), nor did they even ask my friend if there was anything they could do for her. We felt lied to, disregarded, and not taken care of at all given the dangerous circumstances. Our outrage is further compounded because all this happened when the lodge was down to 30% capacity, so we would have expected our patronage of their lodge to be valued even more, and that their resources would have been fully mobilized on our behalf. If this wasn’t bad enough (and it is the main reason for our complaint) there were other aspects of our stay at Omega that fell short of our expectations, much of which underscores their lack of care for their customers. Here are just a few:

*On arrival to the lodge, no one was there to greet us or take our luggage to the cabin. No orientation of any kind was offered (meal times,activities, safety of the drinking water, safety in general).

*Rafting -We were very dismayed that, despite the fact that we had made reservations ahead of time and were staying in their expensive rooms for multiple nights, priority on activities was given to people that showed up impromptu and were staying in their inexpensive accomodations. **At the very least, it would have been nice had we been consulted as to our wishes, instead of being told rather ungraciously and in no uncertain terms that what we preferred to do was not an option.


*An employee from the lodge suggested one night that we walk 30 min down the hill to enjoy a dinner at another lodge. After making the trip, we found the lodge to be locked up and empty and we had to find a way back up to Omega. We feel that Omega should have made sure it was open before sending us down or provided us transportation.

I have traveled extensively all over Central America for many years and have a very extensive understanding of what to expect, and this was the single worst experience I have ever had at a lodge.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicaldeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMEGATOURS, owner at Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2009
Hi, here is Udo Wittemann, owner of Omega Tours
I want to express my point of view in an open letter:
It has never happened before that one of our guest has gotten held up by gunpoint, not here nor outside the lodge area.
I was asking our staff whom told you that, no one did, they all said.
Below there are the names and mails of our staff, it would be great to get that clarified!
We had 1 incident about 9 months ago, this was when a lady went down to the river for a swim.
She went up the river a bit, when she came back her daypack was gone, she saw some guy running away with it.
Probably our staff was talking about that.
Also after that happened I got the police up here (after doing a denouncement at the police station), checking suspects (the lady could have identified the thieve)
but we didn t find the thieve. Anyway we were able to recuperated the stolen bag after 3 days and spending some money on information in the village nearby.
The thieve moved away and was not seen since then.

Remember after the incident I offered you to go down to the police to do a denouncement.
You were on your way out to catch a bus and you didn’t want to do that.
You thought that we could call the police and they would come up here…. I explained that it doesn’t work like that, that we have to go and make a denouncement and then they probably would come up.
Remember, my point was if you could identify the guy by seeing him again then we could go with the police to identify him, however, you said no, you could not identify him.
So my answer was that it wouldn’t make too much sense to bring them because they can´t do anything if you cannot identify him.
Also he didn’t t get to steal a thing so there is no way to identify the criminal.
Anyway I called the police, at the end and managed to talk to the boss of the tourism police.
That afternoon he had 2 policemen available, I picked them up in town, driving around in the area, asking if anyone saw a thing, checking ID s, writing down some names, etc.
Believe me, that is not what I want to do: driving around with the police, not knowing really what to look for, holding people up on gunpoint, checking them, threatening them.
What else can you do if there is no identification of any kind possible?

On your arrival for sure there were some mistakes made and I apologize for that!
Your introduction for the lodge was not sufficient at all.
From 7 am to 9 pm there is always someone in the office to help with any kind of questions or needs.

You made reservations way before, you gave us an idea of which tours you are most interested (rafting and probably hiking)in but never decided on a specific tour on a specific day.
-till the night before, after other guests had made their decisions already.
So you wanted to do Cacao Lagoon the next day and then the rafting.
We asked you if you could go rafting first and the following day to Cacao Lagoon and you agreed.
Next morning then the rafting was supposed to leave at 8:30 but the rest of the group didn’t t finish breakfast yet and were not the fastest neither…..
You complained and we tried to make the group hurry up, at the end you started 8:50am. Sorry, that happens here and there and we always try to get out and start at the indicated time.
Of course your trip did not get shortened because of that!

I remember that Sonny was waiting for your call to pick you up from the other lodge where you wanted to have dinner.
He also said he offered you a shuttle down but you decided to walk down and then take the ride back.
this was a cost free service for you. Where else do you get a free ride from the restaurant you don´t want to eat at that night to another one?
It seems it was our neighbor who suggested to go to the other restaurant.
It was not our staff who recommended the other restaurant or even sent you down there but we still offered free transportation to meet your requests.
Also when you walked back in that night Sonny was just on his way out to check for you, not because you requested it but because we wondered where you are, after calling the other restaurant and no one picked up the phone.

here are the e mail addresses of our staff, in case you want to clarify what was said etc.

Guide Sonny: [sonnyjowsey@hotmail.com]
guide Daniel: [danmirca@hotmail.com]
guide Marcos: [marcosmaba@hotmail.com]
guide Janette: lunita_p@hotmail.com
Reception/office Jan: [janniper@hotmail.com]
Reception/office Alvaro: alvaro_happy@hotmail.com

It would have been a great help for us too, if you mentioned something beforehand to give us a chance to better things instead of the last minute of your stay here, in front of the taxi taking you to the bus.
When you complained the morning of the rafting we took action, making the other group hurry up with their breakfast…..but it wouldn’t t have made sense to start with the 2 of you 20 min. earlier, fun and safety-wise.
Also I understood that you liked both trips very much, this is what we understood at least.

I hope you also understand our point of view and I am sure I did more than most lodges would have in the case of an armed intention to steal.
I would have loved to take you down to town for a denouncement and identifying that criminal.
It was you, who decided to get on your bus as planned and who said you couldn’t t identify the criminal anyway.
What would you have expected from us in that case?

I am sorry again that we couldn’t t satisfy your needs

Have a good day
with greetings from our staff
Udo Wittemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had the Bamboo cabin for two nights, and it may have been the coolest room I've ever slept in. Sure, it doesn't have the amenities of a luxury hotel room, but it's truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience to sleep among the trees (there's one growing through the room!). Definitely worth ponying up the extra cash.

We went on the rafting tour, which was awesome, and a must if you go.

The staff was extremely helpful and nice, though one guy seemed to inhabit another galaxy (though, in fairness, he was a sick kayaker).

The food was a welcome change from baleadas and platos tipicos. It's pretty heavy, but welcome after an exhausting day of physical activity.

The only downside was the Western Union wiring at the beginning of the process, but that was just a minor inconvenience, really.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_from_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.8 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
5.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
252 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge

Property: Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Address: Carretera a Yaruca Km 9.5 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OMEGA TOURS ECO JUNGLE LODGE is nestled between two breathtaking National Parks, and just 10 km from the Caribbean coast. we are in the middle of tropical rain forest with one of the biggest collection of different fruit- and ornamental- plants in Honduras. There is a cool freshwater pool and heaps of hammocks for your relaxation but also jungle trails on the lodge grounds for you to explore. In our Restaurant "La Jungla" we try to serve the freshest, most organic and healthiest food possible. Come and enjoy the relaxed and chilled atmosphere of the lodge and start your outdoor adventures from here: rafting, hiking, horseback riding, kayaking, MTB, animal- and bird- watching.... tours from a half to 21 days! Join us in nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omega Jungle Hotel La Ceiba
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing