We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being a family member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Dona Elena B & B
Ranked #2 of 21 Copan Ruinas B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here 6 days/nights. Nery, Doña Elena's son, was our guide for the ruins and an excellent one at that, official guides are specially educated and that also applies to Nery. At the time there wasn't any Wifi but was going to be installed. Doña Elena cooked simple but good meals for $4 and the breakfast (which was included) were different every morning. There are only 9 rooms here and is up a rather steep hill from the main part of Copan but quiet and peaceful. The rooms are simple and clean with lukewarm water which seems to be a standard in Honduras. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

Hello to all,

Stayed here for 3 nights 4 days and absolutely loved it. Dona Elena the one in charge is a sweetheart and her son Nery is the best tour guide / manager / driver!!!! He took my family and I to the Macaw Mountains, Coffee Plantation, Hot Springs, Copan Ruins, Shopping, Dining, Museum and to and from the Bus Stop. He is very reliable and is knowledgeable because we asked him a million and one questions about the ruins, and he answered quite well and he made sense. His Mom makes delicious breakfast, so yummy!!!!! The prices are very affordable and the people in the little town are very nice and respectable.

Room Tip: I totally recommend the place and if you go with a family of 4 or more, get the Cielo Room. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Claysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Nery and his family and very welcoming and always smiling. Good value and includes nice homemade breakfast. Guesthouse is a walk up the hill from the main square but not very far. No internet at the guesthouse but internet shop is one block down and its fast and cheap. Location is also convenient to walk to Macaw mountain, turn right as you leave guesthouse, first right down the hill from guesthouse, then follow road to the left all the way, there are signs at intersection, about 20min walk. They were paving road when we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

From personally picking us up from the bus station on our (late) arrival to the moment we left, Dona Elena really took us under her wing and we felt like we were part of the family. Highlights of our stay were great breakfasts and tasty "typico" Honduran dinners, and a fabulous view of the surrounding mountains from our upstairs room. If you're looking for a family atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff, all at a very reasonable price, then Casa Dona Elena is the place for you. We have no hesitation recommending a stay with Dona Elena to all but the most dedicatedly 5-star travelers.

Room Tip: Great views from the rooms at the rear of the Casa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photoman_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here at the start of our vacation and it was a wonderful beginning to our adventures. Dona Elena was expecting our arrival and readily had juice and snacks available to us after our long flight and bus ride. We rested, showered and then made the short downhill walk into the center of town to check things out. She waited up for us that first night since it started to rain and she wanted to be sure we made it back safe. The next morning and each after that she offered us a delicious breakfast and did all she could to make us comfortable and happy.
We really enjoyed the grounds as well. There are some wonderful views of the valley and there are lots of plants and greenery all around. We're dog people too so we loved playing with their dogs everyday.
It's not in the center of town and it's a bit of a hike up the hill, we actually never made the hike but opted to take the moto-taxis instead since they were so inexpensive, but it doesn't take long to walk into town (maybe 5-10 mins.) and it actually gives you a little more sense of the town than you would get in the tourist area.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back were we ever to come this way again. Thank you Dona Elena!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatchgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Casa Dona Elana was just what we were looking for and the location was perfect for exploring the town. Dona was the perfect hostess and helped us with everything we needed including our spanish. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view off the balcony. The small courtyard was classic and a great place to eat breakfast while watching and listening to Dona cook on her wood oven. Casa Dona Elena is comfortable, affordable and exotic in its Copan style.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13boxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

It's a quiet place. The owner, Doña Elena is a very kind woman and offer one of the best breakfast in Copan. Nice garden with quiet and clean rooms. Comfortable rooms with big bed and cable TV.

Of course we recommend this place to people who wants a quiet time in Copan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezequiel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Berakah
Hostal Berakah
#4 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de Cafe
La Casa de Cafe
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dona Elena B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dona Elena B & B

Address: Avenida Centro America | Bo. El Calvario, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: $55 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Elena B&B is owned and operated by a local family dedicated to hosting and care of travelers for more than 15 years. Our strategic location in the heights of Copan Ruinas is set away from the noises of the lively downtown, yet only a few minutes from all main points of interest. Besides, the best panoramic view of the valley and it's surrounding mountains right from your room's balcony also surrounded by open areas with tropical gardens that promise to make you feel relaxed and at peace. Each room is equipped with: - Full size beds with firm Pillow-top mattresses​- Bed-side table with night lamp​- Private Hot-water bathroom​- LCD Cable TV​- Breezy yet silent ceiling fan​- A/C Units​ - Panoramic windows viewing mountain and/or garden​- Private balcony or patio​- Fast speed Wi-Fi​- Lots of space and hygiene. Come stay with us, you'll be happy you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Dona Elena B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing