We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simples”
Review of Hotel Calle Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Calle Real
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Uncomplicated and pleasant place to rest. Clean room, hot shower, nice view from balcony (not in room!), pleasant staff, close to ruins (15 min stroll), good breakfast. Drinking water available on site at no fee.

Room Tip: We were at ground level which was fine. Not sure if the rooms underneath would get enough light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Found the hotel by coincidence. Rooms have the basics: clean beds, clean bathrooms. Do not expect luxury. Definitely no frills. They have a cool lookout area (accessible by ladder only). They also have a spacious "hammock den" accessible by staircase only, it has long tables and chairs, if needed. Kitchen serves local comfort fare at extremely decent prices. WiFi is available at the check-in lobby only. Parking on premises. We were a family of 8 with three kids, and it worked out perfectly for us, paid about $45 total for both rooms for one week night. It is about 3 blocks from central plaza; they are very steep blocks, so beware going downhill, but elderly person in group with no mobility problems was able to walk up and down the streets easily. Perfect for the budget traveler. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tru4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed in copan only one night but this place was good, basic rooms, hot water,good beds, nice gardens surronding, good cheap breakfast. Overall its great. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Tuk tuks are easy to get to the ruins also.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is simple, clean, cheap and does provide a place to park a vehicle.

There is Wi-Fi, though not always available in some rooms. I had to move toward the window to get the signal.I think the best coverage may be in the small restaurant. Make sure to ask for the contraseña (password).

The hot water may be a problem later in the morning.

It is up a hill from town - but it's close to the center.

I've stayed here several times in the last few years and the cook recognized me and was very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are, I think, a little nicer than the rooms by the road and on the side (partl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Basic but OK.. Copan is a nice little place and the hotel is at the top of a steep hill so you need to walk down to get to the town and of course up again, unless you get a tuk tuk. A good base for visiting the Mayan ruins of Copan. We had simple breakfasts at the hotel but ate main meals in the town. Our bedroom was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel Calle Real is nice for the price. Nothing special about it; just a typical boutique hotel located a couple blocks from central park. The rooms and bathrooms are clean enough. The courtyard is nice and the walk up to the lookout is very pretty.The restaurant doesn't have much to offer, although the prices were certainly unbeatable. I'd return if I'm travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was place organized by Intrepid tour. Our room was on the top level, quiet and comfortable but no Wi-Fi. Restaurant that we enjoyed the food and used wi-fi is called Viva-Viva. From here we took tok-tok to Copan's Mayan ruins. Copan as a city is rather sad and dirty.

Room Tip: There is nothing of interest in the city except Copan's Maya ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#9 of 21 in Copan
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#13 of 21 in Copan
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calle Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calle Real

Address: | Copan Ruins, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Calle Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing