We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic property with savvy hospitality”
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda San Lucas
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

First of all, the hospitality at Hacienda San Lucas is second to none; the hosts are uniformly warm, helpful, and entertaining. Flavia, for whom the hacienda, is her historic home, is a delight. Likewise, the same is true for Argie. The staff--although few speak English--is lovely and helpful. The original hacienda houses two rooms (ideal for those who may have difficulty with stairs to the upper two lodgings, which are new construction) as well as the historic kitchen (an open fire where the freshly-made tortillas are made), a bar, a lounge/study (Wi-Fi), the "new" kitchen, and the patio where meals are delightfully served. The lawn down to the overlook is filled with birdsong, and it's possible to see large groups of parrots/parakeets. Lounge chairs for evening sunset watching are placed at the overview, and it's a wonderful place to have an evening drink and look across the river to the ruins of Copan. (Do put on insect spray!)

The meals are inspired. The chef takes traditional food of Copan and then updates it to modern sensibilities and tastes. There are multiple courses, so it's important to linger over dinner and enjoy--and perhaps not eat every last bite. A coffee flan was to die for delicious. The Tilapia the best we've ever eaten. Breakfast menus are printed in both English and Spanish. Wine is available for dinner--as are beer and cocktails.

The rooms are lovely and lit primarily by candles but there is a light in the bathroom and two solar-powered lights in the bedroom. For nighttime reading, travelers may wish to pack booklamps. The tight screens on the windows keep bugs away. The only downside about the rooms is that it's quite easy to hear your neighbors, but that was not a major problem. At each end of the lodging building are two hammocks as well as chairs. Benches with pillows front the building.

There is a lovely meditation/yoga pavilion on another lookout point below the Hacienda. Also, massages are available. Likewise, the staff can arrange guides for tours of Copan, the Macaw Refuge, or birdwatching. We had two guides--one for the ruins, and one for birdwatching--and both were excellent. The driver for the Hacienda is excellent in delivering guests to the ruins. We recommend 3 nights at the Hacienda although the typical package (bundled with Lodge Pico Bonito for instance) is 2 nights. It's a rather long drive between La Ceiba and Copan (although air is an option once one has made the halfway drive to San Pedro Sula).

This was a romantic and lovely stay. If a queasy stomach is a problem, do ask for the special tea. The graphic artwork of Frida Larios, the daughter-in-law of Flavia is stunning--and even possible to take home. In many ways, we preferred this lodging over the "small luxury hotel" of the Lodge at Pico Bonito.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are better if you've trouble with stairs. The upper rooms have lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Hacienda is located in the hills above Copan Ruinas village. The are several long bumpy dirt roads to handle before you get there, but the effort is well worth it. The main building of the Hacienda is original and charming in every way. The dining patio overlooking the lawn and the distant view of the village is very unique. The food and service are...great!

The guest rooms are located on the hills behind the mainhouse. They are newer construction but finely built and rather austere. The rooms and public areas are lit at night mostly with candles. This does make it a bit difficult to see things at times, but very romantic

Copan is called the "Paris" of Mayan cities. The sculptures are remarkable for their age and condition. If the world of the Mayas interest you, this is not a site to be missed.

Honduras is not an easy place to visit. There are many obstacles to be overcome, but its treasures are worth the effort.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the six rooms at the top of the hill, they are quieter and have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InTheMomentManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I have visited San Lucas twice, it is one of the most relaxing, welcoming and enchanting places anyone could ever visit! Authentic hosts, authentic food and authentic culture! Doña Flavia, Argui and the all the staff is extremely helpful! Would highly recommend if you are seeking to disconnect from our busy everyday life.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Honduras and four nights at the Hacienda San Lucas, and I cannot imagine a better place to stay when visiting the area of Copan. The Hacienda sits above the small city of Copan and the Mayan ruins. The room we had was comfortable and clean. The views from both the Yoga platform and the dining area were gorgeous, and the food was amazing. The tortillas are hand made, and the tomalas we had for an appetizer one evening, were the best I have had. While the dinners were a bit more in price than what we would usually pay for a dinner, and while we only ate there two of out of the four nights - it was well worth it.

And if you are interested in Mayan ruins, in addition to Copan, Flavia was able to arrange a daytrip for us to the Quirigua ruins in Guatamala - about a two hour trip each way.

Of note the Hacienda is about 100 years old and there is still a traditional stove where the tortillas are made each day. The rooms are primarily lit with candles with one solar powered flurecent bulb in the bathroom, so it does tend to be a bit darker in the evening in the rooms, but it added to the ambiance and further, it is listed as an ecolodge and is a more environmentally friendly type of place to stay.

We were also accompanied by four very friendly labs who were well mannered and always enjoyed a good pet and attention from any dog crazy tourist like ourselves.

My only tip when travelling there in February, is to bring your bug spray - and perhaps the strongest one you have. When sitting out at dusk, we found ourselves eaten by not mosquito - but some type of no-see-em fly or insect which left us itching for the next week. No one's fault by any means - just didn't think to use our bug spray until it was too late!

But great place to stay and highly recommended! Our thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I visited a highschool friend from many years ago.....while on a visit to Copan...we went to Hacienda San Lucas to watch the wonderful sunset, another little tidbit about San Lucas! We had the greatest dinner I have had in many years, and yes, I had a Margarita! Everyone there at the Hacienda is very helpful and happy to answer any questions we had and made us feel at home. I also met a brand new friend, his name is Mo. A cute, huge puppy, who loves water bottles! It was a spectacular ending to a wonderful, magical day. I can only imagine how wonderful it would be to spend several days there.....so peaceful and beautiful...I highly recommend this wonderful experience to everyone who is planning to be in the area! It is great for the soul!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

we don't often go back to places because there is so much to see in the world and so little time... This is one place we will return to. Some places just have that magical feel where you have a sense of belonging... this is one of those places. You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregskinner8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

What a wonderful experience!
Everything about this place is magical! I didn't want to leave.
The Hacienda is situated on hills overlooking the Copan Ruins and the Copan Valley. The view is spectacular and one could just sit all day looking out with a drink at hand. (Their Margaritas are very good!)
The rooms are traditional and very clean and comfortable. The whole place has the feeling of peace and it's a very quiet place.
When you're not exploring the town of Copan (which is a must - there are a load of great restaurants), you can relax in the hammocks outside the rooms and listen to all the birds.
The restaurant has some great food which is more traditional that you'll find in a lot of other restaurants although I would say it is overpriced. But for the dining experience it's definitely worth it. (not to mention the fun tuk tuk ride up from Copan town)
The staff are wonderful and always ready to help. Leah helped us plan our stay, organized transportation and also does the Yoga and massage (which I highly recommend)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
1.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Lucas

Address: Hacienda San Lucas, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#5 Family Hotel in Copan
Price Range: $114 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Hacienda San Lucas is a hundred year old family hacienda offering a unique and exclusive cultural experience. It is located directly across and above the archeological park of Copan Ruinas. San Lucas is renown by its five star individualized services, eg, culinary destination, small intimate weddings, yoga retreats and more. It is a magic space where visitors from around the world are able to stop time, feel and renew energy. Hacienda San Lucas combines century-old ambiance with first-class service, authentic Maya country cuisine and a spectacular view of the Valley and Ruins of Copan. Eight distinct rooms with solar lighting, comfortable hammocks, nature trails, ceremonial archaeological site and candlelit dinners allow you to relax and enjoy the healing energy of this unique hacienda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Lucas Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing