We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the choice hotel near copan ruins...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

NOT quite in walking distance but close to copan national historic park. quite lovely for a chain hotel: spacious grounds, as well as spacious modern, clean rooms with comfortable beds and sitting area. the restaurant serves well prepared (and presented) food; wait staff very professional; breakfast buffet equally good... front desk staff very helpful and pleasant!!

Room Tip: no elevators, but only two floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Angela,

Thank you very much for taking some of your time and posting us a comment. Your opinion is very important for us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience here. We hope to see you soon. Greetings from Copan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 436 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

The best pina coladas in all of Honduras made fresh. Very quaint hotel nestled away in the hills close to all the ruins and town. Very safe area and you can take a tuk-tuk to the town for cheap. Good homemade food and very reasonable. My room was big, clean and quiet. All the rooms are surrounded by a large courtyard beautifully manicured with a pool and spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Julee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your opinion. it was our pleasure to have you here. We hope you can come back. Greetings from Copan Ruinas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is quite the lovely little hotel. I thought it would be typical generic chain-style hotel but it had a lot of character. It's a little ways from downtown so you have to take a tuk-tuk (about $1.50 per person...yes, they charge per person so you can't split a fair but honestly, it's pretty cheap as it is.) Breakfast was excellent....actually, the restaurant is very good. I had the Typical Honduran meal for dinner and it was very good. It was the only beef I'd had in Guatemala or Honduras that was TENDER. The place felt very safe...I was traveling solo but I wouldn't hesitate to bring my wife and daughter. Lots of families were staying here and tourists for Copan ruins. Also had the best internet connection of any hotel I stayed at in all of Guatemala and Honduras.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAround2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Your opinion is very important for us. It was our pleasure to have you here. We hope you and your family can come soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here 2 different nights a week apart while driving from Antigua Guatemala to La Ceiba Honduras. We were surprised at how nice it was. The pool wasn't perfectly clean but when I showed up with my swimsuit the guys were there cleaning it within 2 minutes. The food at the restaurant was good I think a bit pricey but the hotel is right next to a huge tourist attraction. I asked for a king or 2 queens and got 1 queen and 3 single beds.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Jay,

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience here. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

What a surprise. This hotel is VERY nice by Honduras standards. It is located on a hill that is well guarded by security personnel. The central courtyard contains a beautiful pool and hot tub. The entire area is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very good and had many selections.
It is conveniently located near the Copan ruins, but you will not be able to walk there. Be sure to check out the local rock carver, Loti, near the entrance to Copan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnjmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Manager at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to know that your stay at Clarion Hotel Copan Rinas was pleasant. We were very glad to have you here.

Thanks for taking your time to write about us. We hope you can come back soon.

Greetings from Copan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014



The Clarion is a very good option although it's a 5 minute tuk tuk ride into the plaza. Very peaceful due to its hillside secluded position just outside the city. Rooms are quite generous and comfortable. Great options available for relaxed dining by the pool, in the restaurant or out on the balcony. Excellent staff proved to be attentive and professional with a good grasp of English. Of note were Ariel and Geraldo who are excellent waiters. We had a relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay and recommend it as one of the better 'chain-type' hotels in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank You very much for your Comment.

We are glad to hear that your stay with us was great. Thanks for taking your time to write abuot us. It was our pleassure to have you here.
We hope you can come back soon.

Greetings from Copan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at the Clarion for two nights in January. The style of the hotel and common spaces felt like a hacienda - very traditionally Honduran. The front desk was alway attended by bilingual staff, who were very helpfull. Iris provided a wealth of information about the hotel, Copan and Copan Ruinas.
The landscaping of the hotel was beautiful, and the pool and hot tub were pristine and well maintained. The restaurant was very good - providing a continental breakfast that was more than adequate for a busy sightseeing day. Coffee kept being replenished by staff. I also had dinner at the hotel, and they were able to serve small groups as well as large tour groups that came from Guatamala & El Salvador.
I would love to return to the Clarion for longer than the two nights (offered as a package with Nolitours Duo Roatan and Copan). The ruins are spectacular, and the Macaw preservation centre was yet another highlight of this wonderful area..

Room Tip: My room was on the main floor just across from the pool, which was great for an early morning swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarioncopan, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Deborah

Thak you so much for your comment. We are very happy to know your stay at Clarion Hotel Copan Ruinas was great. It was our pleasure to have you here. Thank you for enjoying Copan. We hope you can come back soon.

Greetings from Copan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
269 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
Hotel Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Copan Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Copan Ruinas

Address: a 2 kms del Parque Arqueologico Copan Ruinas | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Copan Ruinas 504, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Posada Real de Copan)
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan Ruinas
#1 Business Hotel in Copan Ruinas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: $105 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Copan Ruinas 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated under Choice Hotel standars, guarantee a high level quality service, as well as facilities that provide the perfect ingredient for a pleasant stay. Our large and comfortable rooms, beatiful gardens and green areas, combined with the feel of nature and our high qualified staff ensure that your visit is magical and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Copan Ruinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Copan Ruinas Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing