We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot to stay when visiting Mayan sitem in Copan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Rooms were spacious and well appointed. This is a very comfortable hotel of a very good standard. Bar was great with excellent barman and great pina coladas. Restaurant served a very good steak with coffee sauce. Lunch time hamburger with onions and mushrooms also good. Staff were helpful. Nice pool, but no time to get in to it!

Room Tip: Think twice about eating seafood at this destination.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Copan Ruinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 423 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I would have given this hotel an average to good rating except for the fact that during the two days I stayed here while on a tour of Central America the water in my room (and the rooms of my traveling companions) ranged between cold and lukewarm. Even an "average" hotel in the twenty-first century has hot water! Our guide admitted that the water issue was not a fluke, but a chronic problem at this hotel.

The hotel has quite a few good points. I liked the modern architecture with a Spahish influence, the central pool area was large and very attractive, the rooms were a good size with high ceilings, furniture was stylish, food was OK.

Other (more minor) negatives: old, uncomgortable pillows, no comfortable chair in the room, and inadequate lightling in the room. The hotel is located outside of the town (about a five minute drive), but does have a free shutte. I would have preferred to stay in town.

One night I had an excellent dinner in the dining room of the Marina Copan Hotel which is located on one corner on the main square in Copan Ruinas. This is a hacienda-style mansion that has been converted into a botique hotel. At about the same price, I would consider the Marina preferable by far to the Clarion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I choose that hotel because it was listed as the best rated hotel in the area. Went to the hotel on my way to the Ruinas de Copan, checked in real quick into the hotel to secure the room and kept driving. Dissapointment started when we actually saw the room inside, it was big for our family but actually looked like a 2 star motel. Bathroom was in need of repairs, specially the broken tiles in the shower. Pool was very nice and clean but the whirpool had only cold water, and this is after the water heater just being repaired. I asked for the gym that was posted as one of the amenities but needed to get the key from the front desk because It is actually one of the regular rooms with exercising machines "converted" as a gym. Service was excellent and people very friendly that wanted to help out but the facilities are not the type you would expect for a Clarion type or what I paid. You are better off staying at one of the many haciendas and paying literally half the price, plus you will be getting a full breakfast included in the room price.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in room 129, it has a bathroom with broken tiles and barely a warm shower.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked to rooms with my parents and my Wife at this hotel. It is located 2 km before the entrance of the Mayan Ruins National Park of Copan. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is not a big hotel, for a Clarion; it has a colonial design with a pool in the center of its plaza. The best feature is the proximity to the Copan Ruins especially if you arrived at the town in your own car. If you are travelling there by bus it won’t make much of a difference. The tip here is that on high seasons the town gets over crowded with people and cars, therefore a hotel located on the outside (3 km) is a really good option to avoid this difficulty.
Rooms are quite nice. They are equipped with good furniture. The shower lacked pressure when you turn on the hot water but overall it as ok. The staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good. You can try many typical Honduran dishes there. Meal quantities are also good.
Price is high compare to the other hotels but for outside visitors it won’t make much difference. One thing they have to improve is the swimming pool which does not have temperature control. At night when everyone returns the Jacuzzi is clumped with guest and many cannot use it.

Room Tip: Before leaving the hotel ask the reception personnel to recommend places to visit in Copan besides t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two nights as part of a tour. Hotel was not crowded We stayed for the end of the world but were disappointed, since it is still here. The breakfasts were good. Rooms are good sized and comfortable. Service was excellent, requests for extra pillows and luggage rack were promptly filled. Agree that lighting could have been better, but that is true in 90% of the hotels we travel to. Location is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Clarion and its really worth. Away about 2 miles from the town you can rest for sure. Food is good but prices are way higher than we expected.

Credit card will work here and keep the cash for outside.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonogalvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were there mid-September as part of an OAT tour. We were the only guests at this hotel and were told that it's because this was the low season. We had a "group dinner" which was good, not great.
The room was quite spacious, although, as someone mentioned before, it could use better lighting. The bathroom also could have had more space to put 2 people's toiletry bags but the main complaint was that, no matter how we closed the shower curtain, the floor outside the tub got all wet. Had to use our used towels as rugs the rest of the night.
The included breakfasts were quite good and the staff was super friendly (maybe it helped that I spoke Spanish to them?) I asked them to put my water bottle in the freezer overnight and they gladly did so.
I would come back to this hotel and would recommend it, as the price-to-quality ratio was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajilimojil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Copan Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Copan Ruinas

Address: a 2 kms del Parque Arqueologico Copan Ruinas | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Copan 504, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Posada Real de Copan)
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Copan
#3 Family Hotel in Copan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Copan
Price Range: $95 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Copan Ruinas 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated under Choice Hotel standars, guarantee a high level quality service, as well as facilities that provide the perfect ingredient for a pleasant stay. Our large and comfortable rooms, beatiful gardens and green areas, combined with the feel of nature and our high qualified staff ensure that your visit is magical and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Copan Ruinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Copan Ruinas Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing