We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful oasis in Copán”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis in Copán”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever seen. The exterior is fantastic and the pool area is really great. Great food in the restaurant as well.

The rooms are nice, but I had a problem with the cleanliness. At first glance it seems fine, but I didn't feel comfortable walking barefoot, especially in the bathroom. The tile and grout have become dirty over time, which is normal, but it didn't feel clean because I couldn't tell if they HAD been cleaned. Lots of dust built up in corners, too. My biggest problem is with the bed. I don't believe they wash their pillows, since they smelled very used and had hairs on them. I used Febreeze to freshen them up after putting the community I was in into perspective.

I would stay here again, but I'd come with disinfectant spray for the bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salpytalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    146
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
99
117
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We loved this place and wanted to stay longer. Good location one block from the town square. Comfortable, clean rooms, large showers. Beautiful grounds. Perfect courtyard and pool to relax during the heat of the day. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was very good with very large portions but somewhat expensive. Very good, local and authentic breakfast.

Room Tip: The best rooms (on the second floor) have balconies overlooking the garden. Avoid the back rooms alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred_garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,647 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is a nice hidden gem, service is great nothing faced them and they are very accommodative to any request, the hotel has a lovely colonial feel to it and it is overall very well decorated. The restaurant is as well very adequate and very nicely presented.
I don't give them 5 stars because the day we stayed the place was incredibly noisy with music until well passed 1AM, multiple screaming children until very late, which is not ideal if you had a long day travel and you are tired and want an early rest.

Room Tip: Try to be higher and away from swimming pool and main plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

SPANISH
El mejor hotel de COPÁN RUÍNAS en mi opnión.
Personal muy atencioso, Buena comida, muy acogedor y todo muy limpio.
No es un 5 ESTRELLAS, pero, suple al viajero en todo.
Lo recomiendo.

ENGLISH
The best hotel in Copan Ruinas in my opnion.
Very atencioso Staff, Great food, very welcoming and very clean.
Not 5 STARS, but it supplies the traveler in all.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Marina Copan in March of 2014 as my brother had his wedding reception here. Our family booked out nearly the whole hotel for 3 days for the event. I got to see many of the rooms while catching up with other wedding guests - all were beautiful - spotlessly clean with comfy beds and Wifi. The presidential suite and honeymoon suite are particularly beautiful and great value. The hotel staff could not be nicer and the food was great. The hotel is in a great location near the center square of Copan, making it easy to enjoy the town on foot. However - I think some of the rooms may get a bit of street noise but i did not experience this. But what really sets this hotel apart are the gardens - every little corner of this hotel has lovely, well established gardens - my toddler enjoyed running around playing in the fountains and chasing the turtles - it was just such a lovely space I would encourage anyone to stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: splash out for one of the upstairs suites - they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
380 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was generous and tasty, the staff very friendly. The hotel is located one block from the main plaza and the town is very pleasant. The internet was working properly. Our neighbors were kids and they were pretty noisy, we called downstairs and the staff managed to calm them down. The hotel is very elegant from the architectural point of view and it was a pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Marina Copan is a beautiful colonial style hotel close to the centre of this charming town. The rooms are collected around stunning gardens with a swimming pool and fountains. The public areas are spacious and the staff very attentive. This is particularly true of breakfast where there are almost as many staff in attendance as there are guests, serving an excellent meal. The rooms are a good size and well appointed but disappointingly sound does seem to carry easily from one room to another. We were particularly disturbed by the noise coming from the staff room which was just across the corridor but always seemed to have the door open.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing