We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located right in the heart of town. It has an old world charm with the latest in design and amenities. The pool was a welcome relief from the heat and provided hours of entertainment for the kids. The hotel staff were very courteous and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Bob2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina Copan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Marina Copan for two nights while visiting Copan Ruins and the newly opened Rastrejon Ruins. The hotel is clean and well-kept, and a great place to stay. On our first night we were at the Family Suite, which had two bedrooms and one bathroom with a small kitchen area (a microwave, small fridge, and a sink) We moved to two separate rooms, one of them in the newly renovated area and one in the old section. Both rooms were very clean and well-appointed. The restaurant serves great food and a buffet breakfast was included. The pool and patio were very nice and, overall, the hotel offers excellent services at a great price. The hotel is located very near the plaza and next door there is a great coffee place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street so that you will not be disturbed by any noise!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r100g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It is a hacienda like Hotel with pleasant decorated interior, very comfortable Lounge-bar and restaurant with view to the well preserved garden and pool. We had reserved an upper floor room with view to the village. It was not a room;t was a whole two room appartment with living-room and well equipped kitchen, large bedroom, large TV screen, free wifi,safe, a large bathroom with necessary amenities.It was more than we dreamed. Not a large variety of dishes to select due to low season but well cooked and served. The only tiny problems were lack of elevator due to the style of the building and the mosquitos due to rainy season.

Room Tip: Upper floor with view to the village. Ming there is no elevetor!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is very well located for the ruins and has a lovely courtyard. However, the bathroom looked old and very mouldy. There are virtually no sockets in the room (unless you unplug the TV, lights and air con) and the sheets didn't look particularly clean on one bed. We also had woodwarm dripping waste on one of the beds and the hotel did nothing to apologise. we were told to report at check out given we only stayed the night. The pool area and bar would be nice but for the awfully behaved American school trip teenage gang we had the pleasure of meeting! They soaked us several times over a quiet evening drink and despite our compliant nothing has been done by the staff to stop them, so we just retreated to our room. We've had a lot better stays throughout our trip.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Edina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Director of Sales at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I am so sorry to hear that your stay was less than phenomenal. At the Marina we want all of guests to leave feeling that they have had the best service possible. To us that means clean rooms, good memories for our guests, and a staff that works to provide this and more for you.

I have been speaking with the front office to try and determine what happened during your stay and would appreciate your help in this. If you would please email me at marketing@hotelmarinacopan.com we can discuss the matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staff is extremely service oriented, hotel is very clean and is very centrally located. They offer a breakfast included with your stay, that's a bonus and the food was really good with a nice selection of local fresh fruit. Would definitely visit again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We book online and were on the ground floor and had no problem with noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattycakes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a beautiful Hotel! Right in the midst of the city of Copan! Near shopping, food stores, restaurants, parks and more! The ruins of Copan are very close by, so this is an ideal place to stay! The hotel gift store has beautiful items to bring home with you! The breakfast was one of the best we had in all of our Central American tour! Loved the hot chocolate in the morning! They make great tamales, tortillas, and made fresh omelets!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnedwardsVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a long week of traveling through Honduras, I ended up here for one nights' stay.

Lounged at the pool with some newly made friends and soaked up some sun and drank some ice cold beer (which I found was about double to price than buying at a local market). The beds were super comfortable and the pillows were perfect along with the A/C that kept the room at a perfect temperature throughout the night. If you're looking for a place to truly relax, this is it. The breakfast buffet in the morning was STELLAR! Eggs, muffins, croissants, toast, omelets, pancakes. They had everything!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaverickBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range: $135 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing