We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Copan”
Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice place. Good size rooms. Clean. Lovely garden courtyard. Friendly staff. Central location [although town isn't that big]. Restaurant is very good, but limited English spoken by wait staff, although service was attentive and pleasant. Nice poolside bar also.
Only complaint is that noise from other rooms transmitted through wood ceiling beams [walls are plenty thick and not the problem].
Definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street and pool for most quiet area.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passandshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Director of Sales at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. Our restaurant is truly one of the best in Copán so we are thrilled you liked the food and ambiance. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, and we look forward to making your next stay with us even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina Copan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 433 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great hotel. Pool area is amazing. Rooms are clean and very large but not ultra modern. Lots of little areas around the hotel that are just beautiful. Nice restaurant and bar area as well. Probably one of the best hotels to stay at in Copan

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Veeral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Director of Sales at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so glad that you all had a good time staying with us and that you enjoyed your time here in Copán. Our pool area is meant to be a source of fun and relaxation for our guests so we are thrilled that you liked it. We appreciate your comments and look forward to making your next stay with us even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed two evenings here. Staff very accommodating, although we had some confusion regarding a message left by our tour guide that wasn't delivered because the front desk staff didn't speak English. The 'bell captain' spoke English well and was a great help-apparently he has worked at the hotel for quite a while. Loved the pool and the gorgeous bougainvillea in blossom beside it. Little bar was nice too. Close proximity to the ruins and to other parts of town (it's not very big). Charming spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with wonderful courtyard gardens and clean rooms. The hotel restaurant has a good selection of tasty dishes. It is located across from the town's central plaza and the local market is just down the street. It is close to the Copan Ruins.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice,charming hotel made in colonial style!The best in that small city, that`s for sure, but one may find expensive. Located in the city center, in a 1 minute walking distance from the main square.

Room Tip: if you want superb colonial style hotel, that` is you choice!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope you had a nice time in the hotel and in Copan! Regards from Copan Ruinas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A really beautiful hotel with a few minor problems. The waitstaff seem to be a bit clumsy - reaching around you and bumping into you often. Our A/C worked on and off but did cool the room. There was a big sink counter, and there are enough electrical outlets. The food was good, but availability of breakfast items varied from day to day, and one day they forgot to plug in the toaster. The butter was always rock hard - perhaps frozen. There is lots of sweet, colorful cereal as well as watermelon for breakfast. The wi-fi drove me crazy as I had to log in manually each and every time I accessed it. Still, I would stay here again anytime as it was so nice looking.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms are bad, but some have a little patio.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. For us your input is very important and we will take into consideration every observation you had! We hope that you still enjoyed your stay with us! Regards from Copan Ruinas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pros: clean, a.c, tv, comfortable, close to everything, and a pool.
Cons: expensive for the area and doesn't include anything. No one serves drinks at the pool.
I stayed for 4 days and it was nice but could have stayed a little further out for way cheaper. Everything is walkable so no need to be so close to the park. Beautiful pool!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaGringaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range: $135 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing