We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in Copan Ruinas”
Review of Hotel Marina Copan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Marina Copan
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in Copan Ruinas”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a two nite stay here in January 2013. The room was very nice and adequately appointed. The service was excellent and the grounds and facility likewise were very nice. While our room bordered on the street, rush hour in Copan Ruinas is not exactly a cacophony of sound. The food in the restaurant and service there was quite good. The location is mid town and walkable to what there is in the town. The Copan archeologic site is not far outside the town. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment! We truly appreciate you taking some time to review us. Regards from Copan Ruinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    148
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
103
122
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for one night in January 2013 - the welcome was friendly, the room quiet, clean, comfortable and well appointed, and the restaurant excellent. Ductless a/c was very welcome in the room too, even in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPS
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After over a year I came back to this Hotel, expecting it would be the same paradise of tranquility, relaxation... and most of all: excellent service, just like checkin in with relatives. This time was different. Changed what the reservation offered, full size beds, extremely uncomfortable for me and my wife, we had a very bad night, both awake at 4:00am trying hard to go back to sleep. Then a couple next door started arguing at around 5:30am... it sounded like they were in my room, it woke my younger son (8) up... I had to call reception... It is now a commercial place, where customer satisfaction is secondary, lots of people check in and out every hour... volume, volume, $$$$, forget about coziness, cordial treatment, common courtesy... it is a shame. I hace to mention that I have been coming here (once every two years) since I was about 8 yrs old... I loved this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andria, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is in dowtown Copan Ruinas and it is it the typical colonial architecture style. It is very clean, service is good and breakfast delicious.
I really liked the swimming pool and the many places to sit and chat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for commenting on this site! We appreciate your feedback! Regards from Copan Ruinas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here during a Road Scholar trip as a group to visit Copan. It was a very friendly place to stay. The room was large, quiet and very comfortable. We were even able to sleep with the window open. My husband even got to meet Marina the one who started this hotel who is now over 90 years old. It was located very close to the center of town. The staff was very helpful and we'd stay here again if we ever travel this way again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our room fronted onto the street but we did not mind the noise of the town outside. The courtyards and pool area are very nice. The room was large and there was a very large shower recess. Unfortunately I was ill at this time and so for 24 hours the food all seemed awful to my sensitive tummy until breakfast the next day when I enjoyed eggs and coffee. I had laundry done at this hotel but can't remember if I thought it was expensive. The hotel is well situated near the main plaza and shops and it was easy to feel safe and adventurous on one's own walking around. The hotel is named after a woman called Marina; it has nothing to do with boats! We were here to visit Copan, the macaw bird sanctuary and a coffee farm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We hope that despite the fact that you were ill, you still managed to enjoy your stay. You are right about Marina. She converted her house to a guest house for archeologists that visited the ruins over 60 years ago so when the guest house became a hotel it was named after her. She is 93 years old today. Greetings from Copan Ruinas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been to Copan many times but this was special. We checked in at a suite at Marina Hotel and it was superb! Impeccable is more like it. The service, the ambiance everything was perfect. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites on the second floor. Number 320.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMCMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Marina Copan, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review! We highly value your comments and feedback. We hope you can visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#12 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Copan
Hotel Plaza Copan
#11 of 21 in Copan
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Copan

Property: Hotel Marina Copan
Address: Parque Central | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Copan 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, a modern hotel that jealously guards the town’s colonial architectural heritage, the Marina Copan is the most comfortable and convenient base for exploring the fascinating Maya World, as well as the diverse natural landscape, that the ancient ones left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marina Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing