We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Mayan Ruins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copan Ruinas

Copan Ruinas
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.50*
and up
Copán Archaeological Site Day Trip from San Salvador
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mayan Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent two days visiting Copan Ruins and Rastrejon. Both are well worth it. Wear comfortable shoes and cool clothes since it can get very hot. Bring repellent and sunscreen. It is necessary to hire a guide if you want to find out the history of Copan, especially Conejo 18's reign!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank r100g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    236
    44
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Made it so much better with a guide in a small group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ended up going with a local guide that had been working there for 18 years, and he know his stuff.

I would defiantly recommend going with a guide that have been there for a long time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank badanka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some say it's quaint...and safe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

and it is a colonial town, with the traditional central park, a catholic church on one side, the government building on the other. There is a small mercado a block away, with produce on the bottom floor, and shoes and clothing upstairs. The main draw to the town is its proximity to the ruins. There is a wider variety of places to eat here than you would expect in such a small town, due to the large number of tourists who pass through. There are cobblestone streets, but for me they were more a possible twisted ankle or a rough ride in a mototaxi than quaint.
I came to attend a Spanish language school, which I loved.
However, and most importantly, I was ROBBED on the way home one night. I took reasonable precautions: Knowing we would be out late, I had the number of a mototaxista ( get a number- only some of them work nights, and there is no central dispatch number). I called and waited...which of course made it later at night.... when the taxi didn't show I called again and got no answer. Now what? Another vistor ( male) and I decided to walk together since our hotels were very close, and it was only a little ways. ( NEVER walk alone after 10 pm) One and a half blocks from the main square- we could see it from where we were attacked!- 5 teens, one with GUN, one with a knife, faces half hidden, came out of a dark area. They pointed the gun at us, told us not to look at them, and keep our hands up. They took my purse (money, debit card, iphone, etc), and the wallet of my companion. They then proceeded to hit him with sticks. Then they fled down a set of stairs that connects two streets.
I reported the crime to the police the next morning. And everyone who heard, either said what a shame, that Copan is such a safe place, or, that everyone knows that that particular spot in Copan is dangerous.
If the town of Copan Ruinas wants the tourist income, there needs to be better transportation when the bars and restaurants close. A visitor should not have to know to find a night driver prior to going out. Assign a few taxistas to the night shift on weekends, and provide a central number for tourists to call for a ride. And if there is a known dangerous spot, why is nothing done to fix it? Add lights or cut down some plants!
It is up to the town if they want the tourists or not. In the 2 weeks travelling around Honduras prior to the incident, I had planned to return to the US and tell people they were wrong, that Honduras was safe. Now, I know they were right, and would not advise anyone I know to go there, especially this supposedly "safe" town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpanishParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ruins are in excellent condition and area is very beautiful. A short walk from town (about 10 mins). Worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow....worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was a little worried about traveling for 6 hours from Antigua just to see the Copan ruins. From what I had read - it's no Tikal. However, it was absolutely worth the time and effort to get there. The site is set in a beautiful area with lots of greenery and birds flying above. The ruins are magnificent and the stelae are so intricately beautiful. I totally recommend getting there early. I was there right when it opened at 8am and didn't see another person until 2 hours later. I had the place all to myself! What an experience!

Also, what a pleasant surprise Copan Ruinas is...the little town is great. I will definitely come back to visit Honduras.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copan Ruinas also viewed

 
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Copan Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing