We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa de Cafe wonderful place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa de Cafe wonderful place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Copan was a great town for walking around in and Casa de Cafe was a well situated and wonderful place to stay. The grounds and rooms were lovely - very relaxing to have breakfast and coffee with such great views. I would recommend this place 100%. Management was very helpful and made some great recommendations.

  • Liked — Views and the Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinGir31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    44
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
162
60
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

The owner of Casa Cafe was unwelcoming, treated us like children, creepy and was otherwise unaccomodating.

I traveled with a group and we booked the whole place. Our stay started off with the owner not having enough rooms and trying to set some of us up at the $4/night hostel across the street with no beds. He made no effort or apologies to make the situation better, unless you count the hostel.

We found him watching us from inside the building at night as well. For such a small place this was uncomfortable and made me feel unsafe.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank marchummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HondurasJaguar, Owner at La Casa de Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2007
Please note that the tour operator did not provide a timely nor accurate rooming list for the group, thus there was a bit of initial confusion to get everyone in the group checked into their rooms. Within ten minutes of check in, all members of the group were situated in their respective guest rooms and no member of the group received substandard accomodations.

As to the comment regarding the owner watching the guests in the garden in the evening and behaving strangely, I would like to mention that in the evening, members of the group, who were US college students, were seen by the owner stringing rolls of toilet paper across the windows of a guest room. I indicated to the students/guests that this was not acceptable behavior at our B&B and apparently they took offense although certainly none was intended.

At the end of the groups stay, the profesor in charge expressed her thanks for the quality of service, breakfasts and attention showed to group members by the staff of Casa de Cafe.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

Copan is beautiful and Casa de Cafe is a wonderful little spot. The rooms are pleasant, breakfast is great and the service was good.

Two negatives:

1 - A couple of really big cockroaches. Understandable in an atmosphere like Copan, but still not too nice. And we didn't have any anwhere else in our two week stay in the country.

2 - We asked our host for times of buses to San Pedro. He wasn't sure but said he'd call. He didn't and just gave us a time that he'd written down previously, which turned out to be inaccurate.

All the same, we'd recommend this place. It's beautiful, peaceful and pleasant. It's actually far more money than other places in town, but the price is fair and reasonable. Worth a few dollars more.

  • Liked — The view was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Cockroaches.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HondurasJaguar, Owner at La Casa de Cafe, responded to this review, February 16, 2007
As Copan is located in the tropics where the average year round temperature is a balmy 78F, the occasional cockaroach is unfortunately a fact of life. At Casa de Cafe our staff strives to provide our guests every day with the cleanest most sparkling rooms possible. Concerning the inaccurate bus timetable information, our new Asst Manager was not properly informed regarding bus departures, for this error there is no excuse, save to strive to provide accurate and timely travel information to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

Our stay was wonderful at La Casa de Café. The rooms are well designed with a good use of space. Howard and Angela are around to help with questions and requests (Howard arranged for a taxi to pick us up at 5 am to catch the bus going to San Pedro Sula). Wonderful coffee and freshly baked bread. The archeological site (within walking distance) is also spectacular.

  • Liked — The great coffee in the morning.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bartola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2006

La Casa de Cafe is in a beautiful location overlooking the Copan Valley. Breakfasts are delicious, the rooms were perfectly clean, and the maids/cooks were so polite and helpful. The owners are really helpful with providing directions and advice for things to do around town. La Casa de Cafe is not right off the main square as most other hotels, but that was one of the best things about it. We loved relaxing in the hammock outside our room. Overall, a really pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2006

Loved this small B&B. Features a lovely view of the Copan Valley in a garden setting where breakfast is served. Very nice! The rooms offer the necessary comfort and amenities for a short visit to Copan. Definitively a nice choice. The owners really look after their guests, a great touch of personal service.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2006

We stayed two nights, and found it to be a lovely spot. Simple but impeccably clean room and bath--the shower was quite nice and large, and we always had hot water. Breakfasts were very good, and served in the beautiful garden. Our only negative was that the owner seemed a bit stand-offish, but the rest of the staff was great. We really enjoyed walking through the town and to the ruins, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Property: La Casa de Cafe
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing