We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service above and beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Howard is simply the perfect host. We felt at home from the moment we stepped onto the beautiful property, just outside of the centre of Copan Ruinas. The staff are all very attentive, friendly and efficient. The breakfast was delicious and full of variety: eggs, fruits, juices and even waffles - all enjoyed in the gardens overlooking the mountains. They even provide small evening snacks and a cold beer after a long day of exploring.

To top it all off, Howard promised to e-mail me his suggestions for Antigua restaurants. When he found out he didn't have my e-mail address, he e-mailed our hotel in Antigua instead! What a guy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    42
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
159
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at Casa de cafe in Copan, lovely gardens, clean room and a really filling, healthy breakfast which varies so you don't get bored of the same thing each morning! Staff and owners were lovely and free coffee, water and tea available all day was a lovely touch.

Views across the mountains to Guatemala were lovely especially at sunset and sunrise, not too far from the Central Park, and if you would like to improve your fitness it's a good walk to the Copan ruins (around half an hour) or 5 minutes by TukTuk (costs around 20 lempiras or 1USD).

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Casa del Cafe is on the Southern edge of town, a mere 5 minutes walk to the village center. It has 10 rooms in 2 rows of 5 inside a perfectly landscaped garden. Each room has a double bed, a ceiling fan, and a nice bathroom with hot water shower, toilet and sink. Everything is spotlessly clean, and the atmosphere is serene. The price (we paid 55 USD/night + tax) includes a full breakfast with a nice fruit platter, omelet (or wafers) with bread, butter, marmalade, honey, coffee or tea - a full meal that allows you to skip lunch if you are not a huge eater. Coffee and tea (as well as bottled water) is available free of charge all day. The service staff is incredibly efficient, friendly,and helpful. Howard, the owner, is an American who used to be a teacher in Honduras, knows the country very well, and is very helpful. All in all, a great place to stay, even for people used to luxury (the fans are good enough as the temperature comes down nicely at night). Only problem (not specific to Casa del Cafe) is the dogs at night: they start barking at every opportunity and it can be quite a nuisance.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zecmanriodulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perfect place for an exploration trip to the Copan ruins. Charming bilingual staff and fresh coffee always available. Tasty breakfast in the lovely tropical garden. Rooms and facilities are very basic but everything necessary is there, incl hammocks, wifi and a small library. Feel at home with your cup of coffee or a shot of rum and have a massage after an exhausting day. Roads in this town are a disaster, watch out when travelling by a rental car, or better take a tuk-tuk.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Casa de Cafe for 3 nights last February and had a fantastic time. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and helpful in sharing travel info and stories. The hotel was simple in a zen-like way, with colorful gardens and hammocks in the yard. Breakfasts were healthy and filling and tasty. My friend got a tummy bug, and Howard and Angela helped her with advice, and even sent an employee to the market to get pedialite for her to prevent dehydration. It really felt like they had your back, which was so comforting. When we moved on to Guatemala,they gave us a ride to the bus station and a list of their favorite spots in Antigua to explore. I would stay with Howard and Angela anytime I was in Copan and highly recommend their hotel, for friendliness,comfort, and relaxation. The massages given there are fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duenjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I come up with the idea of visiting Copan just 2 day in advance. Found this on tripadvisor. I am glad I chose it.

The owner is very friendly. He provide lots of useful information, such as bus schedule/cost, restaurant location, ruin location. I did not do much visit planning in advance so he is very very helpful on my travel plan.

The hotel is very clean and comfort. The waitress is also very warm and helpful. Her smile is very welcoming. And they try their best to make me feel like home.

I am very very happy with this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just left Copan. The owner and his wife were exceptionally helpful. We had rental car problems. They helped us get a mechanic and got the car running. He also reported problem to rental car agency. Service above and beyond normal. Excellent food and coffee. Staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Painless24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#14 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Property: La Casa de Cafe
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa de Cafe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing