We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Cafe--Impeccable service and charm in Copan Ruinas”
Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 21 Copan Ruinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

You will not find a more beautiful, peaceful, and comfortable place to stay for the price. The proprietors, Howard and Angela, offer tremendous hospitality and wisdom about Honduras. The staff is friendly and kind. I'd give them ten stars if I could!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely, quiet, and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 487 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

On a narrow stone sidestreet facing mountains and valleys sits La Casa de Cafe. The view completely removes you to another place and time, The rooms are decorated in a style of simplicity, so as not to compete, it would seem, with the surrounding beauty and pastoral air. The beds are very comfortable and there appears to be an abundance of hot water in the beautifully tiled bathrooms - unlike many Honduran showers. Carafes of purified water are placed daily in each room. Fresh hot coffee and warmed milk are offered from early morning until evening each day. Breakfasts are served on the terrace - seasonal fruit each morning and fresh scrambled eggs or french toast were offered to us on our recent visit. Breakfasts could easily sustain you until an early evening dinner in the village. If you are a bird watcher, rise with the sun, (about 5:10am on our visit last week,) lay in a hammock, and you will be awed by the incredible birdsong.
Howard is a wonderful host and helpful with our many questions. We are all grateful for his hospitality to our group of fourteen. That Casa de Cafe is so affordable only cements the fact that when in Copan Ruinas, your day should end here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantiuminc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at La Casa de Cafe last week after a week of missions work in Tegucigalpa. There were 14 of us and we were exhausted, dirty and ready for some TLC. La Casa was perfect.

The service was beyond what I could have hoped for. Even as we checked in, the staff offered us coffee, tea, and water - all of which was very welcome. When we got to our rooms, they were clean and ready. There was no AC, but even in late June it wasn't a problem. The ceiling fans were more than sufficient. Everyone bent over backwards for our large group, never once acting put out in any way.

The breakfast was excellent. A large sampling of fruit along with eggs one morning and french toast the next. Our whole team was blessed.

Howard, the owner, is a native English speaker and steered us to the good places to eat along with helping us with the moto-taxis (think go-carts with a roof) to get to and from places around the village.

If you are going to Copan, THIS is the place to stay. Don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathandFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at La Casa de Cafe for three nights and were very happy. The staff is attentive, the breakfast delicious, the rooms clean, and the beds comfortable. There may be no AC but there is a ceiling fan and it sufficed. Don't miss out on a massage either, in the beautiful, attached ramada. Fatima or Lucia can work out those sore travel and walking muscles. The McCaw Bird Sanctuary may be as unforgetable as the ruins too; a must see.

Room Tip: Keep the room door shut as mosquitoes are everywhere in Copan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinByler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was drawn to this place by the "Our Pick" in Lonely Planet and the reviews I've seen here on Tripadvisor. Just let it be known that La Casa De Cafe EXCEEDS everything that has been said about it and more. Staff ranks as the most pleasant and helpful out there. I had a Simpsonesque desire to order delicious iced teas all day long when it became clear that the staff would whip one up for you at a moment's notice at no charge! You get to know everybody from the owners on down, and they're all insanely nice! Rooms were wonderful, totally immaculate. Having the beautiful garden with its patio tables and hammocks steps from your front door made this place a great place to relax after a day's worth of activities in Copan. It's also a great place to eat the incredible breakfast that they prepare every morning. Fresh fruit, real coffee and a freshly made main dish - it's breakfast done right. Hot water in the showers with no waiting!!! It's "downside" is actually an upside - Casa de Cafe isn't located in the town centre, but since you can walk across town in under ten minutes, this should not disuade anybody from staying here. The location makes for a nice quiet stay away from the slightly busier "core". Phenomenal value for the price you pay. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMXWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Howard and his staff goes beyond the usual. We had our 12 year old granddaughter with us and he even gave us an extra room! We all enjoyed everything about the place. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubuquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Casa de Cafe in January 2012 and we really loved our stay. The accomodation is quiet, safe and only few minutes from Copan archeological site (no problem to go there on foot or you can hire a mototaxi for 2 dolars :-)). The rooms are simply furnished but very clean, showers with hot water. Typical honduran breakfast is served in the beautiful spacious garden with great views of the surroundings and mountains. After long day spent in archeological park take a rest and ask for a massage in a bamboo patio.... it's really worthwile! After the massage you'll get a cup of delicious lemon grass tea and you can spend a pleasant evening in the garden or near restaurants.
We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
157 reviews
0 mi away
La Posada
La Posada
#14 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
453 reviews
0 mi away
Iguana Azul
Iguana Azul
#1 of 10 in Copan Ruinas
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
Don Udo's Hotel and Restaurant
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: $62 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing