We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa de Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
“Best B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

My wife and I have been traveling throughout Central America for a couple of months now. During that time we stayed in several charming little hotels and B & Bs but none have matched the quality of service, cleanliness and attention to detail as the folks of Casa de Cafe have given to us. The breakfasts are delicious, the view is amazing. The staff is also very helpful by providing a number of options of things to do in and around town. If you're looking fo the best quality for a reasonable place look no further than Casa de Cafe. When we return to Copan next, we will make a point of staying there.Casa de Cafe certainly has that Copan Charm.

  • Liked — The breakfast, the rooms, the view everything
  • Disliked — nothing everything was perfect
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roaming_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    44
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
162
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Our recent stay at the Casa De Cafe was our second in three years. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the town of Copan. Why? Because the Cafe is a place for travelers, not tourists. You can interact with the other guests over a good breakfast of fresh fruit and pancakes looking out across the valley and the road toward Guatemala; there's always someone interesting staying there. The rooms are simple, cool and clean, the plumbing fine, the beds comfortable, and best of all there's no TV, Internet, or phone to keep you in your room. After breakfast you can stroll into the center of town which is about a five minute walk. The location of the Cafe forces you to get to know the town: the location of Internet cafes, restaurants, and the residents you come to recognize as you pass along the way. And when you're tired a moto-taxi is always ready to whisk you back the the Cafe for a nap in a hammock or a game of chess with a fellow guest. We stayed a total of ten days this past visit and we'll be back again. If a special need arises the staff is always helpful and responsive. After a week there the place begins to feel like home.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — On the outskirts of town
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

The Casa de Cafe is the perfect place to explore Copan from. The rooms are cute, clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. I loved the breakfast. I was even able to get a massage to the relaxing sound of an afternoon rain storm.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiew33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

I stayed at Casa de Cafe for the 3 nights I was in Copan Ruinas in early July. The town is so charming, friendly, and safe but can be a little noisy on weekend nights. While I was there many street vendors were out late and live music was performed at the central square, which was lovely but made me glad I chose to stay at Casa de Cafe, a 5-7 minute walk from the central square. The rooms were clean and bright, the view is amazing, and we always had hot water. The breakfasts were filling and delicious and the friendly staff brought us unlimited purified water, iced tea and coffee whenever we were around, and had lots of great ideas for things to do around time. Also, if you have time definitely check out the exotic bird reserve Macaw Mountain.

  • Liked — The location, view, and staff.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank juliette_east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

You absolutely cannot go wrong with Casa de Cafe. The owner and his employees are extremely welcoming and hospitable, and the accomodations are very clean and comfortable...plus, the price is reasonable! I had a terrific stay there and would recommend it to anyone. Oh, and the food is delicious!

  • Liked — The gracious hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveler7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Copan was a great town for walking around in and Casa de Cafe was a well situated and wonderful place to stay. The grounds and rooms were lovely - very relaxing to have breakfast and coffee with such great views. I would recommend this place 100%. Management was very helpful and made some great recommendations.

  • Liked — Views and the Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinGir31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

The owner of Casa Cafe was unwelcoming, treated us like children, creepy and was otherwise unaccomodating.

I traveled with a group and we booked the whole place. Our stay started off with the owner not having enough rooms and trying to set some of us up at the $4/night hostel across the street with no beds. He made no effort or apologies to make the situation better, unless you count the hostel.

We found him watching us from inside the building at night as well. For such a small place this was uncomfortable and made me feel unsafe.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank marchummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HondurasJaguar, Owner at La Casa de Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2007
Please note that the tour operator did not provide a timely nor accurate rooming list for the group, thus there was a bit of initial confusion to get everyone in the group checked into their rooms. Within ten minutes of check in, all members of the group were situated in their respective guest rooms and no member of the group received substandard accomodations.

As to the comment regarding the owner watching the guests in the garden in the evening and behaving strangely, I would like to mention that in the evening, members of the group, who were US college students, were seen by the owner stringing rolls of toilet paper across the windows of a guest room. I indicated to the students/guests that this was not acceptable behavior at our B&B and apparently they took offense although certainly none was intended.

At the end of the groups stay, the profesor in charge expressed her thanks for the quality of service, breakfasts and attention showed to group members by the staff of Casa de Cafe.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Cafe

Property: La Casa de Cafe
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1995, La Casa de Cafe is a colonial inspired B&B Inn and a charming and comfortable base from which to explore Copan. All rooms offer oversized windows, hand crafted furniture and open to a shady porch strung with hammocks. Full complimentary breakfast is served in our garden which boasts a spectacular view of the Copan River Valley and the distant mountains of Guatemala. Complimentary coffee (the best in town), herbal teas, iced tea & hot chocolate served any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Cafe Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing