We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best, thee best coffee in Copan Ruinas”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Casa Ixchel
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Ixchel in Copan Ruinas, Honduras, is a welcome new in town restaurant extension of the famous Spa Ixchel. The finest family grown and roasted coffees, espresso drinks, desserts, salads, and full meals are offered in a tranquil indoor and outdoor setting. The ever present owner, Katia Duke, is a Copaneca who speaks English and is intimately familiar with all the amazing town and ruins offer. A peaceful spot for gourmet breakfast, brunch and lunch , one of the best and most economical in town.
Copán, Copan, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best, thee best coffee in Copan Ruinas”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Since we live here for over 2 year, I I sampled all the coffee shops in Copan Ruinas. No other store comes close to the flavour of the coffee of the Casa Ixchel.
No wonder, I saw how they painstakingly removed bad coffee beans by hand. What a job!!
Combined with the ah so friendly service, it makes the "coffee break" very memorable.
And try their home made deserts too, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    14
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great burgers and incredible coffee”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although I know that those two do not necessarily go well together :-). But as I got a bit tired of local food (I've been in Central America for a month, so I have the right to miss something more international:-)), I want some junk. The burger turned out to be quite healthy! Their home sauce was great! It was all served in a beautiful little garden. For those who are sensitive to temperature, I should say that the garden was really sun lit and had only one table under the roof. So consider this.... Someone might get disturbed by a few flies flying around. But to me the music, the service, the food were so incredibly amazing, so I did not care about that (although the flies kind of bothered me stilllll).
After staying there for reading a bit, I ordered coffee and.... I have left with a bag of their coffee as it was really good! (I emphacize it because I tried lots and lots of Honduran coffee from supposedly good farms and it was not to my taste, but this one was great and quite cheap compared to what I paid for similar coffee in Nicaragua, El Salvador and Guatemala).
The lady who served me (shamefully, I did not ask her name) was so friendly, so helpful and despite my extremely limited Spanish and her limited English she helped me learn about the coffee I ordered, about some places in Copan, she gave me a map...
As for prices, maybe it is not for extremely low budget, but burgers were between 6-10$, mine was served with most delicious potatoes and it was big!
The last thing :-), my plan is to have breakfast there tomorrow!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TalyaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time and give us an excellent advice, sincerely encourages us to keep up the good work and dedication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We popped in here for Breakfast based on positive Tripadvisor reviews and we're not disappointed. A good selection, and big cups of good coffee on a quiet and quaint little courtyard were great. Nice and clean and with v friendly staff. English menus available, but bring a little Spanish to order (as per anywhere in Honduras!)

Helpful?
1 Thank Bodger1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are very happy to know that your experience at Casa Ixchel was very nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee, and staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff was so friendly. We were able to learn and watch them roast coffee, very informative, we had great burgers, even during a power outage, and tried several different drinks, all were great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A True Gem in Copan”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This little place would be great anywhere, but to find such a treasure in the little city of Copan Ruinas is truly amazing. Katia is such a great host. The coffee, food, desserts are all top notch. If you are visiting Copan, find Casa Ixchel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KSP-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting Casa Ixchel and your lovely advise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Ixchel also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing