We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with friendly service”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Casa Ixchel
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Casa Ixchel in Copan Ruinas, Honduras, is a welcome new in town restaurant extension of the famous Spa Ixchel. The finest family grown and roasted coffees, espresso drinks, desserts, salads, and full meals are offered in a tranquil indoor and outdoor setting. The ever present owner, Katia Duke, is a Copaneca who speaks English and is intimately familiar with all the amazing town and ruins offer. A peaceful spot for gourmet breakfast, brunch and lunch , one of the best and most economical in town.
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food with friendly service”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. Katia is the owner and was so friendly and helpful. They really care about the customer and the food. We went for breakfast and lunch. I can strongly recommend the burger! Yum and yum.

Helpful?
Thank Grafton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Taking care of our visitors make us really happy, we are glad you enjoyed your visit at our place! go back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    14
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, and beautiful courtyard setting”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

On our first day in Copan we ducked into this little cafe for lunch.
As wonderful as the local cuisine had been on our trip so far, we were kind of keen on a little bit of western food just for a change.

Ixchel makes fantastic burgers, and seasoned chips/wedges exactly like what you get at "Grill'd" (for all you Aussies who know what I am talking about!)

Great little garden setting courtyard with shade out of the midday sun.
I recommend to anyone looking for a nice lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Copán Coffee - Ever!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visit Casa Ixchel and take home a great experience in service, coffee, brownies and breakfasts! Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Google Translation
We hope you visit us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our hostel supplied us with a token to have breakfast at Casa Ixchel on our last morning. Such a shame to have only discovered this little gem as we were leaving.

We had a really great breakfast. The pancakes and fruit were delicious and the coffee was really good too. The small courtyard is tranquil with loads of plants making a nice haven.

The service was pleasant.

There was free Wifi.

We would certainly recommend having either breakfast or probably even lunch here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Gerente at Casa Ixchel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience at Casa Ixchel with travelers, it really encourage us to keep the good work!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast. EVER.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I visited Casa Ixchel before heading out for a day of horseback riding and hot springs. The food was fresh and delicious. I had the vegetable omelette and my daughter had scrambled eggs and bacon with hash browns. The service was quick and friendly. The setting, prefect and peaceful. And the coffee?! Delicioso!!! I'm not even a coffee drinker and I bought a bag to enjoy at home. Yes, the prices are a speck steep for Honduras, but certainly much less than any large city. All in all, I would recommend Casa Ixchel to any and everyone. After this review, I suppose I am. :)

Casa Ixchel is an absolute must-go.

Helpful?
Thank DanielleFabulosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Ixchel also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing