We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Miss Cafe”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Casa Ixchel
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Copan Ruinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Ixchel in Copan Ruinas, Honduras, is a welcome new in town restaurant extension of the famous Spa Ixchel. The finest family grown and roasted coffees, espresso drinks, desserts, salads, and full meals are offered in a tranquil indoor and outdoor setting. The ever present owner, Katia Duke, is a Copaneca who speaks English and is intimately familiar with all the amazing town and ruins offer. A peaceful spot for gourmet breakfast, brunch and lunch , one of the best and most economical in town.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amazing family recipes make this a can't miss place to stop in Copan. The tortilla soup and quesadilla are fabulous. Make sure to try the coffee while you are here. The family has its own coffee farm so they grow, pick, roast, and grind it themselves. Be sure to ask to sit in the garden. Further back in the cafe there are three tables in the garden that are surrounded by fabulous flowers and it really feels like you are eating in an oasis!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Propietario at Casa Ixchel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your feed back that encourage us to keep working harder as always!!
Nuestra Casa Ixchel es su casa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Best fish burgers in Copan! The breakfast is awesome (love the waffles with scrambled eggs, fresh fruit) vegetarian friendly and they will substitute if you want.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Propietario at Casa Ixchel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por escribir sobre nuestro lugar!!
Los comentarios de nuestros visitantes son siempre muy importantes ya que mediante ellos mejoramos en todos los aspectos para llenar en un 100% con las expectativas con las cuales llegan.
Nos hace muy felices escuchar que te gusta nuestro fish burger siempre será para nosotros preparar con mucho amor tu comida cada vez que nos visites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great coffee, very friendly staff! I spent a lot of time doing work in the cool and breezy back patio garden.

Thank NathanielGJanowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Owner at Casa Ixchel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience at Casa Ixchel with the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have eaten A LOT of oatmeal in my life but I think the oatmeal at Cafe Ixchel is the best I've eaten. I also love their "bacon and eggs" breakfast. The iced coffee at Ixhel is the best in town, which is why you will likely find a few friendly ex-pats hanging out in the cafe, esp. on weekends! The owner is local but speaks English fluently and she is happy to answer your questions, so make a point to drop by Cafe Ixchel when you arrive in Copan.

Thank VillaStraylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is the best! The food is great, the coffee is great, the service is great, the ambiance is great, it's all.... GREAT. I've spent weeks in Copan and went to all of the cafes / breakfast spots - I can assure you, it's lovely. Do yourself a favor and GO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chadalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiaduke, Owner at Casa Ixchel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We truly love what we do, thats why each one of our details carry with all of sour good energy!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Ixchel also viewed

Copan Ruinas, Copan Department
Copan Ruinas, Copan Department
 
Copan Ruinas, Copan Department
Copan Ruinas, Copan Department
 

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing