We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and desserts!”
Review of Cafe Welchez

Cafe Welchez
Ranked #3 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best coffee and desserts!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great little cafe on the corner of the main square. A perfect place for an afternoon coffee and dessert!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    61
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful capuccino”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had our breakfast at the Cafe Welchez for three days in a row, we always had to have an extra capuccino "fuerte", just so fresh and aromatic beans.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best cappuccino in all Central America”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cafe Welchez is conveniently located on the Central Park of Copan. While the atmosphere in the cafe is not special, a bit formal in fact, the food is very good (especially the pie) and the coffee great. Now if you love cappuccino that place will very soon be your base as they are some of the best I drink in Central America, and lets be fair, some of the best I ever drunk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lespassengers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, large portions”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in at welches for lunch. We split an order of baleadas and had coffee. Their frozen coffee was more like a dessert milkshake but very good. Their baleadas were huge. We were stuffed after 1 each. Some other friends also ordered sandwiches which were also very big.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swxnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cake”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

They're known for their cakes- for a good reason! Their Oreo cake is particularly nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DamienMorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Welchez also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Cafe Welchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing