We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pura vida”
Review of Hostal Berakah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Berakah
Ranked #4 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“pura vida”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It is a fun hostal in the center of Copan which I can highly recommend.It has good vibes,modest rates and everything to do in Copan is around the corner.Not to forget to mention the parties you can be part of at Berakah if you like to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marlon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    60
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
69
88
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Libertad, El Salvador
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great hostel in beautiful Copan! 2 minute walk to the bus stop and one block from the central plaza. Close to the ruins. Helpful staff - they can arrange an excellent guide for the ruins, tours to hot springs and shuttle to Guatemala/El Salvador/Nicaragua. Comfortable beds. Very clean. Balcony with hammocks and kitchen, perfect for socialising. Great value for money! Stayed much longer than expected!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Llavecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great staff and location but too loud. Walking distance to centre of the town and to Mayan Ruins. Great staff service and very helpful but my room was too close to receptionist desk, barely got any rest. Very affordable and clean. Perfect for short term stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123katie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September 2013 and cannot recommend it more highly. Fernando (the owner) and his wife are lovely and will do everything they can to make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. The water was unfortunately out while we were there because of a burst water pipe in the town (I think I saw that this was also the case for another reviewer) but Fernando took us up to another hostel and let us shower there which was very nice of him. We did the hot-springs tour with Berakah and it was great value for money and a nice pick-up truck style trip rather than a sterile minivan, the hot springs were a great afternoon activity as well! Literally cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hostal Berakah which is close to the main square in Copan, so easy walking to everything, including the ruins.

We had a private room with bathroom on the ground floor. Unfortunately, during our stay there was torrential rain which burst a water pipe that affected the hostal and other parts of town for two days. During this time there was no water, however Fernando (the owner) did his best to accommodate his guests. We were able to have a shower at another of his hostels, he provided bottled water to brush your teeth & found buckets of water to be able to flush the toilet. He was forever apologising for the inconvenience, but it wasn't his fault and beyond his control.

There is a communal space upstairs with free wi-fi, cooking facilities & beer, soft drinks & water can be purchased. The front desk were helpful in providing recommendations for places to eat in Copan, bank locations, etc. Fernando was also helpful in providing information on how we could travel from Copan to Flores.

If you are visiting Copan and looking for a good hostal with great service, stay at Hostal Berakah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really good value: spacious room, private bath (although only hot water for some reason), really helpful and accomodating staff. The only downside is the partyers in the lounge that are loud at night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hostel is in easy walking distance from where the shuttle buses stop and drop you off. About five minutes up the street, make a left at the central plaza, on the far side, and you can see it on your left, just past a street that goes steeply downhill. That's also the street that takes you straight, no turns, over a little creek, under a canopy of trees, all the way to the Copan Ruins and beyond. The double room was nice and large, the shower clean, the service excellent and the the friendly front desk man full of local information about where to eat, what to eat, and what to look for at the ruins. The price was excellent and the location could not have been better. There is a wonderful roof terrace and, for those so inclined, some cooking equipement and one can buy beer there, too.

NOTE:

When I arrived, I immediately purchased my return ticket for the shuttle bus ride back to Antigua. On the day of departure, the shuttle company drove around town collecting everyone at their various hotels and guesthouses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#9 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calle Real
Hotel Calle Real
#17 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yaragua
Hotel Yaragua
#18 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Berakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Berakah

Property: Hostal Berakah
Address: Av. Copan a 1 cuadra del parque | one block north from the Central Park of Copan, Copan 00504, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Berakah 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Hostal Berakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing