We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a night”
Review of Hotel Don Moises

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Don Moises
Ranked #8 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hostel is not far from the main square, down a quiet street. The beds were very comfy and clean enough. There are no lockers and the wifi was ok in our room, but best near the reception. The bathroom had hot water, but could have been a little bt cleaner. The staff were very nice and helpful. Free water bottle re-fills, always a plus. Good for one night, but very quiet place so not the best for meeting people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place is literally 10 metres from where the shuttle bus drops you off coming from Antigua/Guatemala City (also only about a 10min walk from the Hedman Alas terminal). Mini-marts close by and 2 blocks from the central plaza.
Very friendly, bilingual staff working there, full of no obligation information on where to go, how to get there, where to eat etc. (also, I left my phone charger and plug adaptor here and the staff very kindly put it on the next bus to San Pedro for me)
Beds were comfy and the private I stayed in even had cable TV. I think air con might be extra but the fan provided was powerful enough to keep the room cool.
Strong wifi throughout.
The only negative I would say is try not to stay in the two rooms on the ground floor near the kitchen as they have a bathroom in between and you can hear everything that goes on in there. The rooms on the upper floors were fine though.
A good night's sleep!!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the kitchen aren't the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProdigitalSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the Macaw Sanctuary and the nearby ruins at Copan.

It was a nice, secure place opposite the ViaVia bar.

The wifi was reasonable, although not inside the rooms.

The good:
Cheap - $16ish for a private double.
Free water and wifi
Friendly owners, although they are not English speakers (not something that can be held against them)
Good, central location near the Parque Central.
Provided towels and soap, and cleaned rooms once a day

The Bad:
Hot water was temperamental.
The shower appeared to have been very poorly cleaned and could be described as scungy.

All in all not bad for the price, if we were going back that way, we would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Wonderful location, best prices available! Wonderful management. Great especially for the backpacker type. Amada and Joshua run the place, and Josh speaks English. They have a variety of rooms. Also, they are right across the street from the popular restaurant and meeting place called ViaVia. Also, there is a Spanish language school just two blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and one with the new large LG tv screen .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped in Copan for a few days. Staying at Hotel Don Moises was a fantastic experience. Perfect location to experience Copan at its finest. Delicious restaurants of all types are within blocks. The Hotel can accommodate for all types. We enjoyed New Years Fireworks from the roof top and loved every day we spent there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great value hotel in Copan Ruinas. The prices are good and it is clean and close to everything. It's right across the street from the main tourist bar too. The family that runs it was kind and helpful. Most places have free wifi these days, but the free drinking water was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is the best combination betwin value for money, comfort and location! we stayd here for 5 days and enjoyd every minut. we used the clean kitchen to make great meels, there is a strong fan inside every room, and the location is defenantly the best in town! next door to "Viavia cafe" and the "Sky bar", one block from the plaza but still very quiet and private. The hotel is run by a great famely, which are lovely and helpfull.
We got a cleen and comfortable room for a redicioules price of 5$ per person for a group of 4.
highly recomended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#9 of 21 in Copan
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#14 of 21 in Copan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Berakah
Hostal Berakah
#4 of 21 in Copan
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Jenny
Hotel Mar Jenny
#12 of 21 in Copan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel y Hostal Yaxkin Copan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Moises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Moises

Address: Calle de Plaza, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing