We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hefeweizen: A+, Sausage: A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol de Copan

Sol de Copan
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: German Microbrewery and restaurant with german flair, quiet and familiar.
United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hefeweizen: A+, Sausage: A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fantastic microbrewery with some tasty beer and even tastier sausage. After many visits to Copan, this is one of my favorite spots... great to relax with brew, talk with friends and the owners, and chow on German sausage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    50
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best natural small brewery in Honduras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The 3 types of natural beers are great! Highly recommended and the owners (wife and husband) are very friendly and cordial, he is from Germany and very nice and jokes a lot. The food was very good and tasty, big plates! Th sausage is excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plonky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best beer in Honduras. No doubt.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really, the title says it all: you will not find better beer in Honduras... trust me, I've searched. When I was there, the owner had 2 types of beer flowing: a wheat beer and either a lager or an amber depending on the day (because I was clearly here EVERY day I stayed in Copan). Although I personally am not a fan of wheat beer, so I can't vouch for or against it, everyone seemed to enjoy it. Both the lager and the amber were very good.
As far as the food goes, the German sausage was particularly good, everything else is fairly standard Honduras grub from what I saw on the menu. Careful, closes at 10PM!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vkcmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beer in Copan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Title says it all. Delicious beer. Best I've had in Central America, hands down. Rotating beers brewed in house, usually two on tap. Drink up!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NathanielGJanowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best artesanal beer ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can talk just about the beer! A friend told me that this was the best hand craft beer i could ever taste. Since i did not have much time to visit all the good places in Copan i took a mototaxi and went to give it a try. Price very fair for the taste you will get. Excellent beer, the best i have try in Honduras!!! Don't leave Copan without drinking here! I did not spend much time, i took my beer on a plastic cup, but it was totally worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol de Copan also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Sol de Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing