We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blessing for our trip through Honduras...”
Review of Hotel Plaza Copan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Plaza Copan
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to head to Roatan one weekend whilst volunteering in La Esperanza, Honduras.

Hotel Plaza Copan was a gem for us, after many weekends in not so nice hotels. The place seemed like a palace to us- wonderfully clean, and even a swimming pool to boot.

The bedroom was nice, not fancy, but very liveable.

The staff were very nice- even serving food whilst I was in the pool.

And the location is ideal, with tuc-tuc's just outside the hotel, and being quite a focal point in Copan.

Great place, great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

The rooms were clean. We had 2 rooms. The first room had a full size bed and the bedding reminded me of a Hotel 6. The second room had 2 full size beds with a small refrigerator and an extra chair for seating. I would go with this size room for more than a couple of nights. The other was too small. The breakfast included consisted of 2 eggs, a meat, toast and coffee. The pool was small and cold. The staff was average. Nothing to write home about. Be sure to bring your own toiletries. There is a hairdryer, but you have you ask for it at the desk. They didn't help with the luggage. The upside is its location, which makes it a little noisy at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okie-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is located right in the center of the city of Copan Ruins. The room we were in had a balcony, and you could sit out there in the afternoons and watch people coming home from work or walking about the main plaza. It has a very small pool in a little courtyard area.

It's not a fancy or luxurious hotel. It has limited parking. The rooms are nothing to sing about. The staff as expected was gracious. We left a tip for the maid, but she didn't take it. We found her and asked, and she said that she didn't take the money because it wasn't hers. We had to explain the custom of tipping maids.

If you want a luxurious jungle advernture tour with a massage and a glass of chardonnay at the end of the day, then go somewhere else. But if you like interacting with people and getting to know the little town, then this is probably a pretty good place to do it.

Room Tip: As for a room on the second floor overlooking the central park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChubbyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We'd stayed in the Plaza Copan before and always found it good enough. Not great not awful.

This time we stayed for a night with our 3-year-old and 2-month-old. After we were asleep my husband felt something on him and it turned out to be bed bugs. The young man working at night was wonderful, helped us move our stuff, was very responsive, and promised us he'd make sure we were taken care of....

So imagine our surprise at checkout when they wanted us to pay full price for the smaller room, after bed bugs and moving our 2 small children in the middle of the night. We said that was unacceptable and the man working the counter said, "so how much will you pay?" He reminded us that we still had a room and said that rooms are still worth something even if there are bed bugs and middle of the night trips to move. He originally offered to knock $8 off our room (less than 10% of the room cost), we went back and forth for a while and it felt like bargaining at the market rather than a responsible business wanting to take care of returning guests. In the end we paid about 70% of the room, but left angry and frustrated that we had to fight to be compensated rather than them wanting to do their best to take care of us. And the eventual accommodation of a lower price was only after I said that I'd be writing a review on trip advisor.

We asked to speak to a manager or owner and were told that it was not possible. And when we mentioned how helpful the overnight person was and that he promised we'd taken care of the response was, "He shouldn't have made those promises, that's not his area."

In the past we've chosen this hotel because of the small swimming pool and the proximity to the park. We would have even tried again after a thorough bedbug inspection, but we absolutely won't be back when we were treated like we were cheap people trying to get out of paying when they should have been doing everything to make up for bedbugs and moving 2 sleeping children in the middle of the night.

My husband was the only one who was bitten, but it took weeks for the bites to stop itching and to go away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of Copan Ruinas, about 15 m walk from the ruins. My room was relatively simple, but OK, with a little balcony overlooking a small street. Street noise wasn't bad. However, during my stay there were quite a few kids in the hotel and they were screaming in the pool (located in the central courtyard, otherwise very pleasant) until about 10 p.m. I had both fan and aircon in the room, the fan was rather loud, but at least provided white noise. I had dinner in the restaurant, the food was tasty, the service nothing special. The receptionists were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiloptaelanevemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you like staying right in the center of everything, this hotel is perfect, it's close to everything. Though it gets a tad noisy at times with the traffic. I would definitely suggest walking to the Mayan Ruins instead of taking transport as it's a lovely paved walk. The Ruins aren't as great and big as Tikal, but a lot easier to get to than Tikal (in Guatemala). A guide is a good idea, otherwise it will just look like a bunch of rocks. We though it was worth the money(especially if you find another couple to share with).
We thought the coffee and atmosphere at Balam Cafe(its around the corner from the Hotel) was great, as are their fresh fruit strawberry and banana smoothies, it's grown right in Copan. Our favorite part of the stay was the massage we got at the Bird Sanctuary, The Sanctuary itself is gorgeous, and you can even put a scarlet macaw on your shoulder and walk into the enclosures. The massages are done by an Australian and are only $30 an hour!! so we both had an hour and a half deep tissue massage! It is the most relaxing place ever to get a massage, under the trees and next to the stream. We almost missed out because you have to book ahead by ringing the Bird Park or the therapist directly (+505 99302510). We loved Copan, it's definitely a must do if you're going to Honduras. Next time we might stay at a cheaper hotel as we didn't spend any time in it! We were out exploring all day! It depends on what kind of holiday you want to have, as to whether you should book this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibiscusandcoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you like staying right in the center of everything, this hotel is perfect, it's close to everything. Though it gets a tad noisy at times with the traffic. I would definately suggest walking to the ruins instead of taking transport as it's a lovely walk. We thought the coffee and atmosphere at Balam cafe was great, it's grown right in copan (it's right across from the main supermarket Victoria) and next door is a place called Touch of Health that does the most heavenly massage for only $25! We loved Copan, it's definately a must do if you're going to Honduras.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibiscusandcoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
0.7 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#16 of 21 in Copan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Copan

Address: Copan Ruinas, Copan 001, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Copan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the following services: • 20 rooms • Air conditioning and ceiling fan • Cable • Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) • Pool • Bar and Restaurant • Laundry service • Reception 24 Hrs. • PrivateParking • Surveillance24 hrs. • EnergyGenerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Copan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing