We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, elegant, with a lovely view”
Review of Terramaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terramaya
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This place truly soothes the soul: From the river valley view and air that you can enjoy during terrace drinks or the yummy breakfast, to the lazy hammocks, subtle Central-American decoration and relaxing whiteness of the walls, Terramaya is a joy to all senses.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laracapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

This fabulous and welcoming small hotel (6 rooms) has excellent decor and is an Oasis from the tourist trail. Hidden behind a staffed door off the street you will find a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Terramaya for three nights in February, 2014. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival by a smiling Mariana. Throughout, we felt that Mariana would do absolutely anything to assist us. We stayed in the largest room, No.6, and it is well worth the slight extra cost, with jetted full tub and shower, extra day bed/couch, and lovely veranda with hammock overlooking their beautiful garden. Breakfasts on the terrace were wonderful, changing daily, but always with fresh fruit, incredible Honduran coffee, juice, and bread. If you don't feel like going out for dinner, they will serve you homemade tamales, pickled veggies, and fruit for a simple, but tasty repast. Angela, the owner (with Howard) was charming and helpful. Howard answered our emails quickly and arranged a great driver who picked us up in Puerto Cortes (Juan). This exquisite 6 room boutique hotel is full of local art, plenty of local guide books, and even DVDs for use in the player in your room. In addition, it's immaculately clean. We miss Mariana's charm and wonderful smiling attitude. I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank bobogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Terramaya in room 5. This is a great room. We did not have any problems with hot water; just wait a couple minutes and it gets really hot. The smiling staff could not be more helpful. They provided maps and good suggestions about restaurants. If you need a snack or light meal, they will prepare it for you. We will stay there again if we return to Copan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Terramaya is a little haven in the heart of Copan! We were greeted by the very friendly front desk person, Mariana, and were welcomed into the light and breezy hotel. After relaxing for a bit, Mariana gave us the full run down of where to eat, what to see, and gave us a couple of maps.

We loved the high ceilings, the balcony with a couple of chairs and hammock, and all the space in our room! There is great view, both from the room balcony and the patio where breakfast is served. We had lots of free time in Copan, so it was very nice to have a great hotel where we could relax in comfort.

The food was great as well. The owner, Angela, was very welcoming also gave us great suggestions of what to do (definitely go for Macaw Mtn) and where to eat (Twisted Tanyas).

One suggestion...only because we want to go back in the future :).... get some mattress pads. I'm sure it comes down to personal preference, but our bed was not quite as soft as we like.

Thanks again!

Room Tip: Definitely rooms 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitneygirllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Copan.
Service,staff,setting and comfort all 5 star plus.
Excellent management interaction with guests.
The facilities available within the hotel are excellent
which makes the venue ideal for the discerning
traveller.

Room Tip: All rooms of equal high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoylake186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at Terramaya over a weekend, booked in by the owner, as Casa de Cafe was full. It is obvious that these are run by the same people, though Terramaya is more upscale. There is the same attention to detail and the staff are more than helpful. It is in a central location but behind big thick walls which give privacy and keep out the noise of the town. The view from breakfast on the terrace is wonderful, there is a nice lobby area for relaxing after a hard day round the ruins with a complimentary hot or cold drink, and several erudite books on Mayan civilisation to browse through. Local artwork to delight the eye. I had Room 2 on the front, which had a safe for valuables, double-glazed windows to keep out the street noise, a comfy bed with lots of pillows, and plenty of hot water at all hours of the day and night. There is free wifi throughout Terramaya.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan Ruinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Copan
Hotel Marina Copan
#2 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
#5 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hacienda San Lucas
Hacienda San Lucas
#3 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
#15 of 21 in Copan Ruinas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terramaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramaya

Address: Ave Centroamerica, 2 1/2 blks North of Central Park | Copan Ruinas, Copan Ruinas, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan Ruinas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Copan Ruinas
Price Range: $110 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terramaya is a charming six room property featuring superb panoramic views and the best in comfort, service and value. The architecture is a mix of contemporary and local design elements featuring exposed wood beams, 21 foot cathedral ceilings, granite counter tops, private gardens and terraces. A/C, ceiling fans, queen beds, free internet, library, hammocks, hand crafted hardwood furniture. Full complimentary breakfast. Lovely garden with massage pavilion, outdoor shower. Close to everything, on Copan's most picturesque street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Terramaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing