We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #19 of 21 Copan B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel just outside of town. Very popular with Hondurans. We stayed in a triple room which was very clean and comfortable. No breakfast but we got free tea and coffee. The swimming pool was FAB and the people were very friendly. Great hotel in a great town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed here for two nights in early May. I wanted a place with a pool that wasn't too expensive. This place was wonderful. The pool area, surrounded by cozy (covered) seating areas and leafy plants, was beautiful and relaxing, with tables and lounge chairs. I spent time there every day. My room was extremely clean, and the mattress seemed brand new, and was perfect. The bathroom was a little small, but the shower was big, and the water was hot. A/C worked great, and it was also nice to have a standing, rotating fan to circulate breezes from the windows. They also had cable TV, but I actually never even turned it on. No restaurant on site, but free water bottle refills, which was really nice.

The view was beautiful, like the name implies. The family who run it were incredibly friendly and helpful. The father used to work at Marina Copan and said this is his dream. I stayed Friday and Saturday night, but my bus Sunday wasn't until 6pm, and they had no problems with me hanging out by the pool for the afternoon. It's three blocks up a steep hill from the central park, but I would usually walk down to town and then take a moto-taxi back for less than $0.50 per ride (10 lempira) . They will also call a moto-taxi for you. It was actually nice not being right on the square because it was quieter at night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Arrived in Copan to find our other choices full, but was able to get a room here.
The hotel was recently sold and the new owners have done extensive work to the building, adding a swimming pool and a beautiful veranda, (to what was a parking area.) And they are talking about doing further renovations, (enlarging the bathrooms.) The Hotel sits on a high hill within the town, offering great views of the town, the valley and the surrounding hills.
The rooms are nice, not luxurious. Each has A/C, TV and free WiFi. Beds were very comfortable, 2 of the rooms on the second floor have small balconies that really made the rooms feel much more spacious. They also have a private, enclosed parking lot attached to the hotel, that was very secure.
My Spanish is poor, as was the manager's English, but we were able to communicate and they were very gracious. Anything we needed, they were willing to help with. The service we received was impeccable. Later thru their 10 year old son (who spoke excellent English), we found that the hotel was bought by his grandparents, and that his parents were managing it for them.
The price we paid was roughly half of what the popular hotels in Copan charge, and we used the swimming pool each day. The price alone makes the Buena Vista worth checking out, the views and the people who will take care of you, should clinch the deal.
If we would return to Copan in the near future, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yucatan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdan3324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank Abraham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Buscar habitaciones que tengan ventanas hacia el patio central y no hacia los pasillos, son mas obsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Gabriela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Jenny
Hotel Mar Jenny
#12 of 21 in Copan
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#20 of 21 in Copan
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#14 of 21 in Copan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Dona Elena B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Calle El Escribano and Avenida Mirador, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing