We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Hondurian cuisine in a beautiful location”
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

Hacienda San Lucas
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: You Guys Have This Hotel Listed (it Is An Awesome Hotel), But They Also Have A Restaurant With Some Of The Best Food In Copan. It Should Be Listed For The Restaurant Too!
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Upscale Hondurian cuisine in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you are staying as a guest at Hacienda San Lucas, you have the benefit of breakfast daily. A fresh fruit starter and choice of breakfast dishes (huevos rancheros was a favourite) were served with cafe con leche, fresh corn tortillas, beans, and fresh cheese. Whether you are a guest or just want a fabulous dinner, you can enjoy an evening meal at the Hacienda. Start with a glass of wine while watching the sunset over the town of Copan. Then enjoy the four course meal of the day - they willingly accommodate diet restrictions (i.e. my preference for gluten free). We ate dinner at the Hacienda four evenings and the meals were different each evening, but equally delicious. They even let me to take a turn at making traditional corn tortillas in the entrance kitchen (they are much more difficult to make than it looks!). The staff is very friendly and do everything they can to make your meal (and evening) a pleasant experience. A meal at Hacienda San Lucas is highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    24
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Unbeatable christmas fare”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

A lively bumpy tuk tuk ride from Copan Ruinas, this amazing property stands on a hillside overlooking the valley where the archaeological site is located. A marvellous welcome awaits from the owner Flavia who looks after you as if you were a long time friend and the ambience is great and the whole experience unforgettable. I did not stay at San Lucas but I visited for dinner on Christmas Day and was treated to a perfect traditional English style Christmas meal with all of the trimmings. All this at a reasonable cost. I am told that the sunset views are brilliant, the only problem being that the sun forgot to come at all that day, but that is not their fault. Afterwards and a friendly sojourn to the bar later, Flavia drove me back to town to complete a wonderful evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still the best meal in Copan, possibly Honduras!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The setting can not be beat, the service and the ambience at sunset and at night are what a romantic dinner should be. The food is original and based on real Mayan dishes. Have been there 3 or 4 times and always try to get there for at least one meal when I am in Copan.
Last time I called ahead and even though they are not usually busy for lunch, they held lunch for us until we could get there, (about 30 minutes), and served an incredible meal!
Also an amazing place to stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Zip Line”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

One of the best Zip Lines we have been to , and we have been to a LOT (15) in many different countries.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copán, Copan, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking view of the mountains surrounding town, and a wonderful ambiance that is quiet and relaxing to help you destress. You can truly appreciate your environment and all the hard work that is done by the locals by enjoying a typical meal by candlelight. While you're there, get the full service dinner - try the jamaica con vodka, as it is the best way to drink a hibiscus flower! If you're thinking about staying the night, the rooms are spacious and a world beyond any place you'll find in town. Ask about their yoga classes!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda San Lucas also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing