We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

Hacienda San Lucas
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: you guys have this hotel listed (it is an awesome hotel), but they also have a restaurant with some of the best food in copan. it should be listed for the restaurant too!
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were staying here for 2 nights so we took breakfast and dinner each day. Every meal was excellent. It would be a trek to come here from town and it is not close by. However, the setting is lovely and we were so happy to be there. The cost of meals was very reasonable and delicious to boot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    24
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luke Warm Reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wanting to take friends out for a special treat while in Copan, we were directed to La Hacienda San Lucas. The owner, Flavia, told me most of her life story on the phone while I was making the obligatory reservation - much more than I needed to know. Thankfully, she only made a brief appearance on the night of our dinner.
The setting and the food at La Hacienda are truly several notches above average, but so are the prices. We paid over $ 200 for 4 people. But of the 5 courses advertised, we were only served 4 - and charged in full anyway. In addition, our meal was marred by cigar smokers at the next table who found it OK to light up while other tables were still eating. Service is obsequious, the staff trained like circus ponies.
We brought these issues to Ms. Flavias attention, but she has not responded in over a month, underscoring the feeling we got of being valued only for our wallets. While the food and the atmosphere at the Hacienda are certainly different, we feel that there are better ways to spend $ 200 and still treat oneself to something special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Auf-Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful place, great dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I went for the fancy 5 course dinner that you need to make reservations for since all the food was fresh. Amazing meal and so beautiful, also the service was 5 star!
I don't recommend it for dinner by yourself though. Too pretty to go alone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaGringaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Shared Family Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Doña Flavia treated us to her mother's traditional food on Christmas Day! It was delicious, filling and a pleasure to share in her Christmas tradition.
The grounds were exquisitely kept and a perfectly peaceful place to enjoy Christmas dinner with our family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, not to mention the service. A really magical place with an awesome view and a real peaceful place. The sunsets are specially nice to enjoy a nice wine. Late afternoons are great and nights are really special, the whole place by candle light.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda San Lucas also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing