We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best choice in Copan...planning to return”
Review of Iguana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iguana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best choice in Copan...planning to return”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hostel is super clean, super quiet and well appointed. It is a couple of blocks outside the main square in town, but it is a nice walk, and affords a quiet night with no noise disturbances. The staff was super helpful and always available. They have great options of both bunk rooms (where I stayed) and private rooms, all of which are very nice. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathroom facilities are great. The showers have great pressure and HOT water! The zip line canopy tour organized through the hostel is great and I highly recommend it. I hope to return to Copan, and when I do, I will not hesitate to stay again in this hostel. I would recommend this hostel for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkjone02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    45
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
61
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Igua Azul is a very good choice in Copan Ruinas. The private rooms are spacious and breezy. The dorms are not bad either. All share cleanly maintained bathrooms. There's wi fi and free drinking water. It's a bit further from the central square than most places to stay but that's not a bad thing and it's a very small town.

There's no reception (it's at the more expensive place next door) which makes it feel like you've got your own little house. On the downside they don't give you a key to the front door so you have to go next door to ask them to open the front door every time. One night we returned around midnight and next door was all locked up and the lights were off. We stood there banging on the door (and neighbouring doors where we thought the owners might life) until one of the neighbours called the manager and woke him to let us in. Kind of annoying. If you don't want to give out front door keys then don't go to bed until your guests are safely tucked up.

That said, Cid - the young guy who manages the place is very helpful and speaks perfect English.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copanhonduras, Owner at Iguana Azul, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your comments - as well as your 5 star review of our hostel. We value feedback from our former guests and always strive to provide the best possible hostel service in Copan Ruinas. In terms of not providing a front door key to each guest, our paramount concern is the security of our guests - after 13 years of providing hostel accomodations in Copan, we have yet to suffer from a guest being the victim of a crime at our hostel and we take great pride in this fact. As a traveler myself I take this commitment to security, very seriously. In terms of the night watchman not being at the front door at midnight, I take full responsibility for this lapse. That night our night guard was home with a sick child. It is our ongoing policy to always answer the front door promptly and courteously at any hour - as we have no curfew at Iguana Azul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Stayed here for two nights and it`s a nice little house feeling hostal with 3 private rooms and two doorms. We stayd in one of the private rooms and its clean and noise free! Nice hot showers and all in all good value for the $14 pr night. I also had the massage done by Lucia and its only $25 pr hour and it was the most fantastic massage ever! Do it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lali_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we travelled from Guatamala to the Bay Islands. It was perfect for us as we just wanted somewhere simple, which wouldn't cost too much. This place is fairly basic, but it has everything you need including lots of information about tours.

The room itself was very clean, with shutters which we liked. The one thing that is probably a problem for the whole city is the cockerels. They started calling at about 2am and didn't stop all night. Obviously this is nothing to do with the hostal, but worth knowing about...

If you stay here, it's well worth visiting Macaw Mountain as well as the ruins. This bird sanctuary is really nice and peaceful and has a sound ethos too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Iguana Azul hostel was a great find. After being swarmed by people citing the best hotel in town, we followed another traveller's recommendation and went to the Iguana Azul on the far side of Copan Ruinas, Honduras (a pretty small town). The private room ($11/night) we got was clean and comfortable, they have hot showers and a nice yard, and the entire staff is friendly and helpful. The price for a private room cannot be beat, and the beds in the dorm looked clean and comfortable for a really cheap price.

The hostel is owned and operated by the same person that runs the B&B right next to it, the more expensive and luxurious Casa de Cafe. The owner, Howard, speaks both spanish and english, and was incredibly helpful when my cellphone was stolen while in town (my own fault, had nothing to do with the hotel).

If you are backpacking through Honduras and are going to be in Copan Ruinas, there is no other choice. Stay at the Iguana Azul.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cogit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

This hostel is the best value for the money we have found in Europe or the Americas. We always stay the in private rooms. We have stayed here for years, when we take guests to see the ruins.
It is far enough away from the park so that the noise from the bars does not disturb your sleep.
The hot water is not from the normal "Electric Suicide Shower", so you can relax when you reach up to wash your hair.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hostel is likely one of the best deals I've encountered. Beautiful rooms at an extraordinarily cheap price.

FREE WATER!!!
- alone this will save you money to buying numerous bottles each day

In the LP guide, this place is described as a bit of a trek from and it looks reasonably far on a map. However, the walk into the center of town is an easy, pleasant 5 minute stroll so don't worry about not being close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9292912345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#9 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Real
Hotel Calle Real
#17 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#13 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Azul

Property: Iguana Azul
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997 Iguana Azul is Copan's first & best hostel. Featuring 2 bunk rooms, 4 private rooms, all w/shared bath, great showers w/ piping hot H2O, all you can drink free purified drinking water, fast wifi, bulletin board, garden/sitting area, book exchange, funky colonial ambiance, best breakfasts in town, yummy homemade snacks,laundry area, refrigerator for exclusive use of guests, great bilingual staff, sparkling clean, and the downright comfiest prices in the village. Just a few blocks to the center of town & all restaurants, cafes, bars and museums. Just tell your friends, I Slept with the Blue Iguana Last Night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Iguana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Azul Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing