We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iguana Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iguana Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hostel in Central America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

This hostel is the best value for the money we have found in Europe or the Americas. We always stay the in private rooms. We have stayed here for years, when we take guests to see the ruins.
It is far enough away from the park so that the noise from the bars does not disturb your sleep.
The hot water is not from the normal "Electric Suicide Shower", so you can relax when you reach up to wash your hair.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    45
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
61
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hostel is likely one of the best deals I've encountered. Beautiful rooms at an extraordinarily cheap price.

FREE WATER!!!
- alone this will save you money to buying numerous bottles each day

In the LP guide, this place is described as a bit of a trek from and it looks reasonably far on a map. However, the walk into the center of town is an easy, pleasant 5 minute stroll so don't worry about not being close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9292912345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

I went with a friend and we booked 2 beds in the dorm room (5$ each). For the price we expected a dump but we were very impressed. We were surprised to find: comfortable beds; Hot showers; clean toilets/beds; all the signs/information were in english (good for me, bad for the spain-ian that stayed there); everyone was INCREDIBLY friendly (guests and staff); the location was far enough away from town to be peaceful, but close enough for a very short walk to the action; and free purified water! I highly recommend the Iguana Azul Hostel. The power did go out one morning, and we had to wait for it to return before taking showers, but that is to be expected in central america. We waited about 1 hour and the staff were helpful and patient.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishawhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Iguana Azul is superb value for money, spotlessly clean, full of local info, real hot showers, friendly staff, great place to meet other travellers, great location just out of town center by a couple of blocks so quiet but only a few minutes by foot from the action. Would recommend to anyone travelling to Copan Ruinas!! Many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed at a number of hostels whilst travelling around Honduras, and this was one of the best.
We stayed in a dorm room (3 bunk beds) which was $5 a night and excellent value. There were also private rooms for a few dollars more.

The facilities were spotlessly clean, the shared toilet and shower facilities were situated outside, and we never had a problem having to queue up or wait for them to be free. There is also an area for laundry washing, and the sun soon dries the clothes out! You can sit and relax on the small patio outside, or inside in the seating area (where there is a lot of helpful information about local attractions and onward transport options). In addition there is free purified water to drink.

The location is a little bit out of the town, but although it means a short walk, the benefit is that it is generally nice and quiet. When we arrived on the bus, we took a motor taxi to get to the hostel which is a good idea if you are carrying big bags, don't want to walk up the hill, and aren't quite sure of the way! We found the owner to be rather unfriendly, but perhaps he was just having a bad couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiapas, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

The Blue Iguana is the place to stay when in Copan Ruinas. In fact it is the best place to stay in Honduras in my opinon.
You get a decent bed for only $5.00 a night in a very clean and quiet neighbourhood or you can get a private room for $11.00. Lets not forget that there is lots of hot H2O and the water pressure is great. The short 3 block walk to the town square is pleasant and the town its self is a great place to spend the day or the month.
The walk to the ruins is a nice and safe 1/2 hour or so from the Iguana and the country side is wonderful to explore and again quite safe (check with staff for any notable local concerns)
Do yourself a favor and head to Honduras and when you are there stay at The Blue Iguana.

  • Liked — It was clean, safe, quiet, and a great deal in an amazing place.
  • Disliked — At the time, there was a lot of work being done on the road.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Telordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Tecla
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

We just spent 3 nights at the Iguana Azul and were delighted! It is clean, has hot water and plenty of bathrooms. They also offer clean water for free to drink and 2 areas for sitting. All for $18 a night for 3 people. The only down side is that it is a bit on the edge of town and requires a 3 or so block walk to the town center, but Copan is so cute, the walk is kind of fun.

We had friends that also stayed at the bed and breakfast next door and the town home across the street--all owned by the same couple. We found all locations were lovely, clean and a great price. We were also able to get amazing massages for $25 for an hour.

If you are in Copan Ruinas, I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — HOT showers
  • Disliked — The iguana theme was all over--it was a little over the top.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartypantsless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.4 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas de Copan
Hotel Brisas de Copan
#10 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Real
Hotel Calle Real
#16 of 21 in Copan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acropolis Maya
Hotel Acropolis Maya
#15 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Azul

Property: Iguana Azul
Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997 Iguana Azul is Copan's first & best hostel. Featuring 2 bunk rooms, 4 private rooms, all w/shared bath, great showers w/ piping hot H2O, all you can drink free purified drinking water, fast wifi, bulletin board, garden/sitting area, book exchange, funky colonial ambiance, best breakfasts in town, yummy homemade snacks,laundry area, refrigerator for exclusive use of guests, great bilingual staff, sparkling clean, and the downright comfiest prices in the village. Just a few blocks to the center of town & all restaurants, cafes, bars and museums. Just tell your friends, I Slept with the Blue Iguana Last Night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Iguana Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Azul Hotel Copan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing