We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Copan”
Review of Twisted

Twisted
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Copan
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Over looking the lush mountains, over looking the main Central Park. Up scale, but with a backpackers special every night ranging from $6 / $10Great for group bookings and parts.2 for 1 cocktail from 3 till 6, and good food specials. Great for birthday party's, order a home made cake from Tanya. Good music and football games.We're now open 11am to 11pm Monday to Saturday.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place in Copan”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat at and checked out many places in Copan and liked this place the best. It is a second floor balcony over a backstreet. It is a relatively small bar but the drinks actually had alcohol in them (unlike everywhere else in Honduras) and the food was super high quality. The best dinners were pricey but well worth it. They also have backbacker specials before 6 p.m. that were great and cheap. Best service that we saw in Honduras.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    77
    48
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Amazing place to have a few drinks in Copan!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Crazy Tanya is about right! This review is a few years late, but we had a wonderful time at Crazy Tanya's. We volunteered in La Esperanza, and 11 of us came to Copan to have a great weekend. We ended up at Tanya's having a few drinks and a bit of munch, and it was wonderful! Amazing happy hour drinks, some nice food, great location in Copan on the second floor. It is reasonably priced- not cheap- but very reasonable. A couple of pounds for a drink- so I had a few! Wonderful night!

We had such a good night, and Tanya was such a great host, that we went to her second bar from here!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although a little ovepriced the food was excellant. Go before six when it is two for one for better value. We went for two for one happy hour a couple of times. Good bartender.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The owner is on site and loves his own food! He speaks English and is quite personable which gives you an opportunity to ask in depth questions about Honduras you may have collected after your day in Copan.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
294 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good, but VERY expensive by central American standards”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mixed thoughts on this place. I typically prefer places that serve more typical food for the area, but sometimes you need a break. I tried Tanya's twice during my 9 days in Copan. Since it's on the second floor and is an open air restaurant, it makes for good people watching. If you dislike louder music (US pop & rock), you may not like Tanya's, as they keep the volume up a bit.

My first food order (hummus) was good, but nothing outstanding. A few days later I went back for a full meal, and had the ravioli. It was outstanding - a fantastic dish by any standard. I was very disappointed when my bill arrived. I purposely ate during the "backpacker special" period, arriving at 5:30pm, but was charged the full price. Server would not change the bill.

Note that the restaurant is quite popular, and the wait for food can sometimes be long - both times I was there large groups of 10-12 people were eating. Because of the quality of the food, I expect that the food should cost more, however I do think that the prices are still too high considering what country it's located in. The prices are equivalent to US restaurants..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 
Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Twisted? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing