We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This is a lovely place. The rooms are beautiful, and everyone is very friendly. Also, the breakfast in the little cafe is delicious and filling. Heinz and Rina were gracious and helpful in every possible way - from helping us with transportation to finding a guide to offering tea upon our arrival.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
114
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Great place...

Rooms were large, clean and comfortable
Staff was very friendly and helpful
Nice little cafe on site
Great location

My only (very minor) complaint would be that the WiFi signal wasn't strong enough to use inside the rooms, but it worked fine in the common areas.

If you are staying in Copán, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto-PatrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I spent a delightful week at Yat B'alam while touring the area with my friend. We both enjoyed spotlessly clean rooms, comfortable beds and hot water. The gift shops were lovely and the breakfast/lunch nook very pleasant. Best of all, the owners and staff were always very helpful. They assisted with day trip recommendations, guides and "moto" drivers. Rina even provided us with a bottle of rum because she was worried that the band playing on the street might keep us awake! (It didn't.) One word of advice...there are only four rooms, so book early!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacoparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is the second year I have stayed at Yat B'alam while attending a conference in Honduras. It is a lovely place to stay in Copan. The personal attention by every member of the staff is absolutely outstanding. One night I returned from a long conference day to find a complimentary bowl of fresh fruit in the refrigerator. Rina is so personable and friendly, and everyone there cares deeply that your experience is excellent. The room was great, the hotel is centrally located, and I always felt very well taken care of. They even remembered my sensitivity to fragrances and washed all the bedding specially for me without my asking (I had forgotten to remind them). I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbot49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I came to Copan Ruinas with my mother and partner. Im a backpacker and usually stay in much cheaper accommodation but wanted my mother to be comfortable for our trip. Well she certainly was at Yat Balam. Everything about this little hotel is excellent. We had a spacious, beautifully decorated double room on the second floor with a balcony. I was initally concerned that the room would be noisy because it over looked the road, but the windows are virtually sound proof and we had no problems at all. The attention to detail was impressive and the staff attended to every need. The staff in the small cafe on site were happy to bring food up to us when asked and we could borrow DVDs whenever we liked from a selection at the front desk. The hotel is obviously new so everything in the room was still in perfect condition. It is common in Honduras for the electricity to go out for several hours and i have become accustomed to this, but when the electricity went off the generator kicked in almost immediately. (This is rare in Honduras!) The room was cleaned every day, new towels, bed made, toiletries replenished... basically everything you would expect from a much more expensive place to stay. For $65 a night you cannot go wrong with Yat Balam. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

Copan Ruinas is a very small town and this hotel is right in the centre and you can easily walk to the ruins within 30 minutes. I would not recommend anyone to use the travel agency opposite the hotel (no connection to the hotel at all). We bought bus tickets for a tourist shuttle to take us back to San Pedro Sula the morning of my mothers international flight home. The agency sold us the tickets and told us the bus left at 6am. They picked us up just before 6 and took us to the local bus station to get a local bus that was leaving an hour later! I was so panicked that we would miss the flight, even having allowed plenty of time for a delay, because the local buses make many stops, that we had to ask some random local to take us all the way there for $70 in his pick up truck!

Yat Balam is perfect for everyone except those on a really tight budget. Thank you for a great stay. I hope to see you again some day and recommend that you set up more hotels like this across Honduras!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckylynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I just spent two weeks in Honduras and our stay at Yat B'alam was unbelievable. When we arrived they greeted us by name, which instantly made us feel welcome. This is a small hotel, four rooms, which keeps it feeling much like a home away from home. Our room was perfect, a queen bed, sitting area, TV....and yes, an AIR CONDITIONER! It had a small balcony that overlooked the cobblestone street, which was perfect for watching the Independence Day parade. There is also an outdoor seating area upstairs that overlooks the street where you can sit and read, have a drink, etc.

We ended up eating at the cafe on the first floor because the breakfasts were just so good. This was the best baleada (sp?) I had in all of Honduras! The gift shops also had a great selection of nicer items, pewter, candles, etc. I'm only disappointed that we didn't buy all of our souvenirs here since what we found in the rest of the country was not nearly the same quality.

We asked for recommendations on the first day for a guide to the ruins and got a great recommendation for a man named Saul. Be sure to ask for their recommendations for restaurants, tours, etc., the were very helpful and helped us discover things we otherwise would have never experienced.

As a side note, a few must see's in the area, The Ruins, Macaw Mountain, ziplining.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel from wensday to friday, and i was amazed at the details and the care of the staff. It was a pleasure staying in this hotel, in this wonderfull location that is copan.
If you stay in this hotel for atleast 1 night, u have to try their baleadas for breakfast in the very quaint Cafe they have on the ground flour.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2pherMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Property: Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan 00504, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#3 Business Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing