We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Copan
Folsom, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect 10”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I never thought it was possible to find a hotel and not have a single complaint against it. After 3 weeks in Honduras, this was by far the best stay. The room was beautiful, quaint, and clean. The hotel had a great old-world atmosphere. All the staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Rena, the owner, was especially sweet and helpful. The gift shops and restaurant there are great and very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 with balcony has a perfect view and the a/c runs cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
114
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Yat B'alam is one of those really special boutique spots, offered at a reasonable price and worth that occasional splurge if your on a budget you're trying to stretch for as much travel as possible. My husband and I stayed in Copan 2 days, 3 nights and Yat B'alam is right in the heart of Copan (it's a small town), with extremely comfortable rooms, no details left unfinished and the owners and staff are exceptionally friendly, caring and helpful. We loved the cafe downstairs for breakfast, small yes, but delicious food and coffee and nice atmosphere. Thank you to all for your quality establishment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank integraltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a great little hotel to stay in when you visit Copan Ruinas. The location is perfect and the staff was so helpful. I've been there 2 times now and won't even consider any other place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Staying at this charming boutique hotel was the perfect way to end our week in Honduras. We were greeted so warmly by the staff and Rina who proudly showed us our room. The room was perfect with a little balcony overlooking the main street, however with double glazing on the windows we didn't hear a thing. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I came back from Honduras and Guatemala last night and although I have a million things to do at work I HAD to take the time to write this review and let you know how AMAZING is this boutique hotel. Everything about it. I spend three nights there with my family (my husband and two kids, ages 2 and 4) and we had a blast. Rina is the sweetest person on earth. She even brought us a huge plate with fruit one night after we came back from a horse riding trip. "I figured you would be tired and would like some fruit", she said.
The location is GREAT, we walked everywhere. The decoration is gorgeous and again, the people who work there are amazing. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that goes to Copan!
We loved Copan too, especially the people on the streets.

Room Tip: I had room 1 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed two nights and loved the experience from start to finish. We were warmly greeted (the hotel is so small they know who is arriving and greet you by name) by the owner, Rina, whose pride in her hotel is obvious. The room was at the front, but the double glazing kept out street noises. It was huge, with a king and two single beds which we used as day beds/sofas -- great after a morning spent walking around the ruinas. Everything was immaculately clean and very tastefully decorated. The cafe downstairs served great breakfasts and lunchtime sandwiches. The lady working there is very friendly and accommodating. The shops in the little "street" have the nicest selection of handicrafts I've seen in central America - save your purchasing until you get here. The prices were reasonable, too. There is a nice sitting area upstairs with a library of second-hand books that you can read andexchange.

Everyone working in this establishment was friendly, helpful and warm. We thought that it was great value for money.

Room Tip: The front rooms are the best bet -- back rooms have two queen beds and are therefore a little crampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful hotel in Copan while visiting the Mayan Ruins for a few days. Its central to everything in Copan with the rooms being excellant even though the queen bed was a little hard for my tastes "laughing". The staff where fantastic and always helpful and we would definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Copan.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a balcony over looking the street, great place to sit in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.2 mi away
Terramaya
Terramaya
#1 of 21 in Copan
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#6 of 21 in Copan
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
Hotel Plaza Magdalena
#8 of 21 in Copan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#3 of 21 in Copan
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#7 of 21 in Copan
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Property: Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan 00504, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#3 Business Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing