We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammocking”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hammocking”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here (unexpectedly) for 3 days on our honeymoon. We liked the Bay Islands so much we wanted to stay longer, and our previous hosts (Henry and Victoria Karpinski of Island Life Tours - also excellent, see their website here: http://www.islandlifetours.com/Home_Page.html) recommended the Lighthouse. The accommodations were excellent (hot water, clean, with free hammocks, mini-fridge, etc.) with outstanding views, a secure location, and excellent local suggestions from Thelma. There was a boat dock; it was an easy walk/bike ride to the rest of Utila's attractions. It was a great place to stay. On-site laundry also available as well as early morning rides to the Utila ferry.

Small quibble: the beds in some of the rooms are a bit small for couples.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
103
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the Lighthouse on a recent 10-day scuba diving trip to Utila. The owners are wonderful - they go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be. The rooms are great, and for a basic island like Utila it really is worth it to spend the extra few dollars for a/c (especially in the summer) and to stay at such a great place. Stay for a week and get the weekly rate!

I can't wait to go back... hopefully it won't be too long.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are the best for sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trekkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After many trips to the island, its consistently the best. The kind friendly host Thelma is a clean fanatic, ( probably the only one on the island) . The rooms are always spotless, decorated island style in light blue pastel and clapboard new england style white, and I mean like brand new spotless. Unlike most/many all of the other places a little closer to center of town the bar music will not keep you up at night. 100 yards to two dive schools, Individual hammocks with each room on the astounding veranda--- the entire hotel is built out over the water. The rooms have kitchens, Cable TV which works fine, good supply of hot water too, 4 minute walk to the best public park beach on the island. Good secure place, where you do not have to worry about your stuff or bed bugs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baronnovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Lighthouse is a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing place to stay on Utila. Thelma and O'Neill are extremely friendly and welcoming and Thelma is fantastically knowledgeable about the island. There was nothing better than swinging in the hammock, drinking a beer and watching the sunset. An excellent stay!

Room Tip: The bays views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jools3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a very simple motel on the small island of Utila. We stayed for 7 nights in April, 2011.

The reasons I give it three stars are the following:

No swimming pool and no easy water access. A few hotels/hostels on Utila, at lower prices, have swimming pools and big docks for getting sun or easy water entry. Not having a pool or easy water access is a big downside since it gets very hot there.

It's on the edge of town. This does make it quieter, but it also makes it a bit of a walk to get food or go to most of the scuba shops.

They were doing construction work on the bridge when we were there which meant lots of men on the bridge, looking at the Inn and us any time we left our room. They made comments.

The walls are super thin. You can seriously hear everything through the walls. I felt like there wasn't a lot of privacy and knew too much about my neighbors.

The sun comes up VERY early (like 6 a.m. early) and the curtains allow a LOT of light through them. It gets bright in the room quickly and early!

The beds are fine, but very firm with basic sheets, blanket, pillows. Nothing fancy.

No restaurant/food options on site.

The Bay rooms with two beds feel quite cramped. They are small and the beds take up most of the space.

I could never get the wireless Internet to work. Theoretically, it works near their office, but my iPod Touch could never pick up the signal. Thelma was helpful and directed me to stand near their front gate where I could pickup the neighbor's wireless signal. This wireless worked great, BUT it was a major pain to stand by the road just to get the signal!

It's important to realize that the Wireless Internet does NOT work in the rooms and you do have to be outside to get a wireless signal. That can get hot.

The nice things were having AC and having our room cleaned everyday. You can also see some great sunsets from right outside your room door! The tiny TV's get a wide variety of US channels, including HGTV and other cable channels. It's nice to have the option to watch good TV when you're taking a break in the stiflingly hot afternoon.

On the whole, it's a pleasant place to stay with very nice and helpful owners. They'll fix anything wrong with your room quickly so don't hesitate to tell them if something doesn't work.

If I had to do it again, I would definitely choose a Lagoon/Boardwalk room instead of a Bay room These rooms are not only cheaper, but, when we were there, they got all the breeze. We'd turn the corner to go to our room each night (we stayed 7 nights), and the breeze would disappear and be replaced with stagnant, hot air. Ugh. Definitely try to get a room on the corner, they are larger and get a better breeze than the middle rooms, which don't have any windows other than the glass sliding doors.

On our next trip to Utila, we'll stay somewhere with REAL walls and a pool that's a bit more centrally located. However, The Lighthouse is a nice place with nice owners, and I can understand why people like it...I just don't understand the reviews saying this place is like a four-star hotel in the States. Cuz it's *nothing* like that, just so you know.

Room Tip: Go for a lagoon side room on the corner. The rooms in the middle of the Inn are much smaller than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank claired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Thelma & O'Neil went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated and the room prices are very reasonable. The AC and room amenities (small kitchen, cable TV) provided for a nice refresher from the hot and busy days of being out and about. The views are simply amazing with hammocks and chairs out on the decks to enjoy the sunset. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the busiest part of the island, which provided a nice quiet atmosphere. I'd highly recommend The Lighthouse for your stay in Utila.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtravler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Arrived via Vern's catamaran...delightful slow trip across ocean from Roatan. Dropped off right at Lighthouse & were immediately warmly greeted by Thelma & O'Neil. Thelma took time to recommend restaurants & O'Neil set up a wonderful tour of Water Cay the following day. Would recommend corner bay room...great sunsets & hammocks with each room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreezinDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.6 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Utila
Lighthouse Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing