We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant in Utila”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Inn Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Utila B&B and Inns
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Utila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The brick oven pizza, lobster, daily fish specials...perfect! The owner, Andre, is a pleasure to be around. I got to practice my Italian a bit with him (bonus). Good music, good people, and, perhaps most importantly, great food! It was hard to go anywhere else. Thanks, Andre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
7
54
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

On the exterior, the Mango Inn, with its swimming pool, outdoor restaurant and thick vegitation is very beautiful. The standard room that we had had damaged walls that were left unrepaired, mildewy pillows and worn out sheets and towels. We looked at a delux cabin. It was in better shape, but had a broken mirror and the same mildwy pillows. Furthermore, insect repellant is a necessity because of all the plants and it is a good hike from the dive shops, bars and restaurants.

My guess is that the owners made good money from the inn and then moved away and left it under appathetic management. It wouldn't take much money to make it beautiful again, just initiative.

The price they are charging is very expensive for Utila. After two nights, we moved into a hotel in much better condition right on the beach that our dive shop used for about half the price. The Mango Inn staff deserve credit in that we had booked the room for 10 days and they let us back out without penalty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenJMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We (couple 40 & 50 years old) stayed at Mango Inn one night in October 2013. Our room with a private bathroom was small and clean. The window screens were torn, the water pressure dropped to nothing off and on during showers and the provided “purified” water tasted terrible and made me sick. The hotel caters mostly to young people staying for free in conjunction with SCUBA lessons. It was noisy late and the staff gathered in the restaurant in the early hours talked loudly. Mango Inn was one of the more expensive places in Utila but we found several nicer and better value hotels the next day. I would not recommend staying here unless you want to party.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed on the Mango Inn while doing the Open Water Course on Utila Diving Center. We were five friends on different bookings, but the staff said they could move us all in to the cottage for no extra charge. This was great as the dorms seemed pretty small, but the cottage was large and with its own bathroom, two bedrooms.
Although the Wi-Fi could have been better, we have no complaints about the hotel and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Utila.

Room Tip: If your a group, try to get a cottage instead of sleeping in the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Oddvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

dont go to this hostel.

I was traveling for two months and this was the unclean one!
the doorms is old the bad uncomfortable, the fan with full of dust.
there is share toilet and showers but they are not clean!!! I think in the whole three days they cleaned it once..
the pool at first look good but all over you could find old cigarettes.
for ending very unclean hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom123332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here as part of the package with UDC. Perfect spot that is walking distance to all Utila has to offer while quiet and of the beaten path as well. The staff is lovely and knew me by name the entire time while I traveled alone. The pool is lovely to chill at and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. There doesn't seem to be a better place to stay on the island....ENJOY!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I don't kow where these other people are staying but this place is a dump. The room was dirty and the bathroom was disgusting. The bed sheets where so worn they would not stay on the bed. The stairs leading to our second floor room where so ver grown with vegitation we had to ask the to cut it back, which they did, but that was the only place they trimmed the bushes. Never saw the advertised menu just the "bar" menu. One good point about the restaurant is the pizza.....very good. Don't expect to pay your bar/restaurant tab with a credit card. The restaurant is seperate from the hotel and does not accept them. Would have been nice if they told us that up front. In short would I stay here again...NO

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdawg653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
1.2 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Inn Resort

Property: Mango Inn Resort
Address: Lozano Road, Utila 34201, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a calm residential area of town, the Mango Inn is within walking distance of all amenities and beaches and just a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. Nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, all rooms and cabins have the comfort you expect to make your stay as enjoyable and perfect as possible. We offer 5 types of rooms designed for the budget of every visitor: Shared dorm rooms (for divers at Utila Dive Centre), Standard private rooms, Deluxe private rooms, Standard cabins, Deluxe cabins and the Mango Cottage. Our restaurant and bar, the Mango Inn Bar & Grill, is situated in the same tropical gardens as the Hotel itself, creating the most pleasant and peaceful surroundings and offer our famous brick oven pizzas, freshly made on the premises. We also offer free wi-fi and guest computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing