We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place - clean, fairly affordable if diving with UDC - highly recommend”
Review of Mango Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Inn Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Utila B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place - clean, fairly affordable if diving with UDC - highly recommend”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for over a week in April while getting our open water and advanced open water certification at Utila Dive Center. The hotel is about15-20 minute walk from the dive center. The rooms are clean, A/C works well and TV has lots of cables for the down time between dives. I think this place is a good price / quality compromise especially if you are diving with UDC and getting the discount. Expect some noise from backpackers hanging out in the evenings and potentially divers doing their drills in the pool. While this is definitely not a luxury resort, you will find everything you need for a comfortable and safe stay while enjoying what Utila has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yakov S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
7
54
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The Mango Inn advertises itself as a luxury resort. I know Utila is a crusty place, so I took this claim with a grain of salt. I would have been satisfied with this place.........if I was paying $10/night. Here are my complaints:
#1 Pool was closed for "maintenance" but I never saw "maintenance" being done
#2 cockroach in bathroom
#3 Wifi not working and no one cared, or tried to fix it
#4 no batteries in remote for TV ( I know its petty, but it just adds to everything else)
#5 loud
#6 Office didn't open when it was suppose to, so couldn't get deposit back before leaving
#7 Ladies in the office always seemed annoyed
The rooms had A/C that worked well and the restaurant was great, good atmosphere and relaxing. The Mango Inn is affiliated with Utila Diving Centre. UDC should either drop this place or make them step up their game b/c right now they are dragging them down.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

as a honduran i had the opportunity to make a trip to utila with one of Marthelen tour group , and as a tour and transportation operator i found it very nice to stay at i highly recommend it and there pizza as well , the rooms where very nice and the service as well without mentioning that u get a very good deal .....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Although there was some confusion upon arrival- the van was not there to pick us up when we arrived at the airport, and the girl at the front desk did not know the answer to anything we asked- our stay was most enjoyable. The room was great, very basic like everything else on the island, but clean, with air conditioning, and comfortable. The location was good, as well. The hotel is not on the main drag, which afforded us some peace and quiet so we could rest up for our dives during the day.
Pros
The restaurant!! It had the best food on the island and great service. Breakfast and dinner was included in the package we got, and everything was delicious.

The pool- it was nice to be able to relax and take a dip whenever we wanted.

Cons
The girl who greeted us when we arrived. We asked to pay several times, but she said we could not, and should pay the dive shop instead. Barbara, who I think is the manager or owner came back from vacation a few days after we arrived and was able to answer all our questions, and take our payment!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolatte696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights, I had a Cabina with a porch and 2 beds. The cafe and pool is great, as is the staff and the peaceful location. I did the Advanced course with UDC so got a discount on the room. The other divers were in the dorms, which were fine and they were free with a course, and one couple had a room, again, its was really nice and very clean. This is a top notch operation, but its low key and rustic and just what you want. The main strip is super noisy and nutty, and I liked being secluded from the mayhem. Nightlife there is a fun time, being 51 I was most peoples parents age, but a good scene and fun times for all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kugluktuk, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed at the Mango as part of a dive package. I stayed in the dormitory option. I was surprised how nice it was for the price. The garden was really nice and it had a cute pool!!! it also had a convenient restaurant, though to be honest I never ate there much, just used the wifi there which was pretty good most of the time.

It was away from the main drag so quieter...but not to far.

The diving at UDC was unbeatable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogtree71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I've always said that if something's worth doing you should do it more than once.....and we just got back yesterday (April 2011) from our second trip to Utila and the Mango Inn. The grounds are a little inland and are covered in lush trees...it has a distinct tropical & lush feeling. We are upscale travelers...and Utila is definately NOT an upscale island.... but we found the deluxe cabin to be terrific...not the "Dolder Grande" or the "Ritz"..but certainly respectable for a backpackers' island like Utila. Air Conditioning (needed in Utila), high ceilings, tv, porch, hammock, sitting room, refrigerator, etc. The Inn also has accomodations for those looking for something at a lower price point.

We also thought the staff was terrific. At check in we were met by not only the hotel staff, but also by one of the dive instructors from the Utila Dive Center (Sarah). Sarah showed us to our room and told us all about diving the next morning...she got us excited...and we would have been even more excited if we had known we were going to see Whale Sharks THREE TIMES the very next day! We also loved the owner Barbara. If we needed ANYTHING she jumped in to help...even trying to arrange a charter flight to Roatan at the last minute...she even bought us a few drinks when she ran into us at a local Utila bar one night...can't say enough about Barbara...make sure you get to know her if you visit.

Oh..and we can't forget the restaurant: beautiful outdoor setting near the pool and surrounded by lush gardens. We especially enjoyed the pizza and the nachos!

A few quick tips about Utila that I wish I had known before we went:

1. Don't take travelers checks...take cash. Traverlers Checks are worthless on the island.
2. Pay in Honduran Limperas...everything is priced in Limperas here...get your cash at the ATM machine down by the dock...you can get about 4000 Limperas per day which is about $200
3. You can only get on and off of the island by SCHEDULED airline 3 days per week...or you can get charter planes on the other days. If you need a charter, shoot an email to Barbara at the Mango Inn...she can probably arrange it for you.
4. DO NOT take the ferry. The Utila Princess is the most horrible boating experience a person can ever have...
5. There is a catamaran between Utila and Roatan once per day...this is a second choice to a scheduled flight or a charter

Room Tip: Recommend the Deluxe Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyReturnVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.4 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.6 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Inn Resort

Property: Mango Inn Resort
Address: Lozano Road, Utila 34201, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a calm residential area of town, the Mango Inn is within walking distance of all amenities and beaches and just a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. Nestled in a beautiful tropical garden, all rooms and cabins have the comfort you expect to make your stay as enjoyable and perfect as possible. We offer 5 types of rooms designed for the budget of every visitor: Shared dorm rooms (for divers at Utila Dive Centre), Standard private rooms, Deluxe private rooms, Standard cabins, Deluxe cabins and the Mango Cottage. Our restaurant and bar, the Mango Inn Bar & Grill, is situated in the same tropical gardens as the Hotel itself, creating the most pleasant and peaceful surroundings and offer our famous brick oven pizzas, freshly made on the premises. We also offer free wi-fi and guest computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing