We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deep Blue Resort Utila
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Reviewed December 19, 2010

WOW…what a great trip! I’ve been diving in 11 countries and stayed in a number of resorts. Deep Blue Utila is one of the best. If you’re looking for the party life, this resort may not be for you. But if you’re looking for a place that has beautiful surroundings, awesome diving¸ comfortable boats, and a fantastic staff that will dive “your way” and treat you like family, this is the one. It’s quiet, secluded, peaceful, and has some amazing dive sites, that are available for shore diving, right out of the front door.

Shirley, Steve and Susan own and run the place. The first time you meet them you’ll feel like you’re a long lost friend rather than a customer. The resort is clean, grounds are manicured, and the rooms are comfortable with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. The food was very good and was served around our dive schedule. You just can’t visit Deep Blue without having one of Steve’s special rum drinks, made with fresh coconut water (from a coconut cut off one of their many trees) and served in the coconut shell.

Captain Swin made sure we got to the best sites. He was born and raised on Utila and knows the waters well. If we wanted to see something special or return to a specific site, all we had to do was ask and it was done. Marlo, our dive guide, is one of the most enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and accommodating guides I’ve ever encountered. She seems to know every nook and cranny of every dive site in Utila and has a fun, positive attitude that makes her a pleasure to dive with, and just to be around. She found squids, seahorses, octopuses, turtles, eels, toad fish, flying gurnards, starfish, and tons of other creatures for us. She is just outstanding.

Edin was more than happy to shuttle us to town whenever we wanted to do some site seeing, shopping, visit one of the local bars or have dinner at one of Utila’s restaurants. There are also kayaks available at the resort, which is a nice way to take a tour through the bay and mangroves.

This is just a great place. The only problem we had was the week went by too fast. We will definitely visit Deep Blue Utila again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBEIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Deep Blue Resort Utila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

Had a fantastic time at the resort, staying in beautifully kept rooms in lovely location on the island. The vibe is laid back and friendly, food was amazing just what you needed after diving all day!
The diving was excellent, along with the weather! I was a new diver and was made to feel very safe by the instructors who were very friendly and more then happy to help you. They were also very knowledgeable and took us on some fantastic dives. Were also able to see dolphins and whale sharks which was once in a life time opportunity!
Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My friend and I had an amazing week at Deep Blue. Steve, Shirley and Sue created an amazing atmosphere and we were always able to have a laugh with them in the evening. The food was also amazing and we really missed the three course meals when we left, especially the chocolate cake! As new divers we felt really looked after by the instructors and Swin the boat captain was fantastic enabling us to see both dolphins and whale sharks. I would really recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere to relax but also get the most out of a weeks diving.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Steve and the wonderfull crew at Deep Blue Resort Utila are among the lovelest people we have met to date.

The resort is beautifully hidden away, blending in with its surroundings. It eminates peace and serenity.
From our balcony we had the most magnificent view of the crystal clear waters all the way across to the cloud forrests of main land Honduras.

The diving is nothing short of AMAZING whether it be from the boat or the shore. The dive staff are second to none. Both infomative and genuinely exceptional.
Swimming with the gaint puppy dogs of the sea (whalesharks), and the many pods of dolphins is a treat in its own right.

The service in all aspects from the grounds keepers to the managment is faultless.
The rooms are spacious, well maintained and luxurious. The hamick is the perfect place to read a book, have a beer, or just take it easy after a big days diving.
The food is delectably superb...you'll never walk away hungry thats for sure. Susan, I looove your cooking.

Deep Blue Resort Utila is also a prestigious and active member of the Whaleshark conservation community, so whether it is season or not, you should ask Steve to give one of his Whaleshark Conservation talks...you will be captivated from start to finish.

Also the gorgeous Shirley's smile alone is enough to brighten anyones day.

We will definately return as soon as we possibly can. I could live there soaking up the caribbean vibe forever if given half the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My stay at Deep Blue Resort was the best week ever I have taken on vacation. Everyone at Deep Blue was courteous towards me and there was such a different selection of food that there was never a dull moment. The best was the diving and the knowledge of the Dive Instructers! I learnt how to dive within 3 days and I can't wait to go back and get a week's worth of diving next time. I will definitely be going back next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartalec75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We travel to dive and what can I say - 29 dives in 10 days including sehorses, whale sharks, dolphins, octopus and much, much more. Chris, the divemaster, was a magician at finding new underwater life to show us on every dive. Swin, the boat captain, eagle eyed the horizon for the whale sharks and dolphins as well as keeping track of us on drift and night dives.
On a practical note, the accommodations are clean and spacious, Susan and the kitchen staff served fabulous food and lots of it and the boat staff looked after all the equipment (which at my age was much appreciated).
We would go back in a heart beat. The diving in Utila makes some other Caribbean sites look like a desert.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countryval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at Deep Blue for a week in March in the hopes of seeing whale sharks that feed near Utila around that time of year. Although the sharks did not make an appearance while we were there (they were late at many sites where they usually feed) Steve, Susan and Shirley went out of their way to ensure that we had a superb time. Steve is very committed to marine conservation and to whale shark research and protection in particular. He spent hours scouring the sea for the animals and regaled us with many wonderful stories meanwhile. Susan took great care to ensure that everyone was confortable and ate well -we particularly appreciated the diversity of dishes during our time at Deep Blue. Shirley is everyone's Mum and makes sure that you get on the right flight, that your luggage arrives no matter what and that you enjoy your stay in Utila. In all, I definitely recommend Deep Blue to scuba divers and anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing place to get away from it all.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
Thank SeaOfBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.0 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Blue Resort Utila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue Resort Utila

Address: Utila, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PADI Resort and an all inclusive scuba diving vacation venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deep Blue Resort Utila Hotel Utila
Deep Blue Hotel Utila
Deep Blue Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing