We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your dive shop in Utila”

Bay Islands College of Diving
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A professional and fun team dedicated to teach all levels of diving, from beginner to professional, so all your scuba dreams can become true! Come and join the BICD family for memories and experience of a life time.
Lindau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Your dive shop in Utila”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We planned to do Advanced course with BICD, but due to a serie of bad luck and unfortunate events (ATM stealing our cash, none of our cards working, my husband's ear squeeze and more), we could only do a couple of fun dives with them. Still, we'd definitely recommend them, we saw and talked to all the dive shops on Utila and BICD has BY FAR the nicest accommodation included in the price of diving (what most of the schools offer is really just for tough backpackers), their equipment is super new, the boat is a proper diving boat (not a small fishing boat like in other cases) with enough space. And more importantly, the staff is nice, the instructors Nick and Fernanda were both professional, knowledgeable and patient with our beginners' questions. The manager, Rebecca, was more than helpful in our troubles, I can't thank her enough.

Walk around, talk to the people in the shops and see what suits you best, but BICD should definitely be one of your top choices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    41
    10
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utila is my paradise!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I miss Utila very day, and dream about it every night. I am definitely going back! Soon! The college had the best apartments, the best gear, and most importantly, the very best people. See you soon <3 Kaja

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KajaRott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Professional and fun!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This diveshop is more than a diveshop. The atmosphere is really good as well as the equipment. The boat is the best one from the island so IF you go to the more wild northside than you will be happy with this boat. The thirsty thursdays are always fun as well as the other activities (whale shark info night, karaokenights, water key, filmnights).
The divemasters and instructors are really good and safety first is always there. Last but not least the dock is really amazing. You can enjoy the sun ask for a snorkelmask and snorkel in between baracudas, spotted eagle reys, sting reys and even seahorses!
A special thanks to the lovely and best divemaster ever KELSEY!
And Rebecca thanks for all the rides on the island and the cold beers in the shop!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I loved this place!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would highly recommend the bay of islands college of diving! I completed the Padi Open Water dive programme and loved it! Small class sizes ( we had 2 great instructors for 6 people) and really nice accommodation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diving on Utila Honduras”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great people & place to dive with, great buzz around the place and the instructors & dive gear were excellent :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusko1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Islands College of Diving also viewed

 

Been to Bay Islands College of Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing