We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Portions”
Review of RJ's Barbecue

RJ's Barbecue
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Central American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant had the biggest portions in town. Definitely good value for money. The food was nicely barbequed, I had the chicken whch was well cooked, my friends had two types of fish and they licked them, but they said it was a bit dry. Still, we went back, so its a good spot.
No wifi but plenty of people to meet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food and Huge Plates”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Do not leave the island with out having at least one dinner here. Keep in mind RJ's is only open Wednesday, Fridays and Sundays. Also, I recommend showing up no later than 6:30 otherwise it can be hard to find seats and sometimes they run out of certain items. We tried almost everything they had on the menu in our 3 months on Utila. Our favorites were the Red Snapper and the Marlin. Both are BBQ'd to perfection and served with tons of delicious side dishes. If you have a sweet tooth check out the desserts when you are ordering from the counter, if they have chocolate Reese's cake reserve your piece immediately because by the time your done with dinner they will have sold out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wheresbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great prices, great food - and lots of it!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although only open several days a week, it's worth it to keep trying - nice cold beer, friendly staff, and excellent value - the grill is always rocking, and I had the best T-bone ever there!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia_Yukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Fish EVER!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

RJ's is one of the best places to eat in Utila. The menu is simple but affective. Choose your meat/fish, you get multiple side orders, take your seat and wait for the flame grilled BBQ chef to work his magic. This place gets packed out and fish choices can run out quickly due to high demand so get here early! I tried the barracuda, it was heavenly! I also had the BBQ pork on another evening, which was delicious. Perfectly cooked dishes. Highly recommend xXx

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best place for fish”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Huge portions at small prices. Had the snapper. So moist and the sides were filling and tasty. My plate was clean. It's a little of the beaten path but worth the few extra blocks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RJ's Barbecue also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to RJ's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing