We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Driftwood Cafe Bar and Grill sits over the Caribbean Sea. The East Wind is usually always blowing. There is an outside Dock and Open Veranda to enjoy. We seat up to 75 people. A Great place to watch a sunset, swim, snokel or dive.The Food is Awesome and we have a great staff..Come enjoy the day with us, or dinner or hang out at the Bar.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We make it a point to visit Driftwood once on each trip - it's definitely the best food on the island but it is on the pricier side. I think their creamy garlic sauce could almost make shoe rubber taste good! They are known on the island for the fish stew, which we ordered to split between the four of us in addition to our meals. We all enjoyed it, but if you don't like fishy fish I would skip this one. Personally, I could have eaten that for a meal, but then I would have to miss the garlic sauce. Like most places on Utila, they are on island time - order a drink and enjoy the views over the water if you get there before sunset while waiting for your food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank femftal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monki Balls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lol Monki Balls are the famous shot this bar is known for. We went their several times after diving all day and the laid back atmosphere was welcome. It was so nice to sit out on the pier with a cold drink. Fair warning they do often seem to be working on island time so don't necessarily expect the speediest service. But the staff is charming and very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“please do a better job next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Food was amazing.... but it took almost 2 hours.... and service... oh well there wasnt service at all

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good food... Expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is right on the water and has great views. My husband and I split one meal and didn't drink anything and spent about $36. I don't think it was worth that much money. Our server was nice, but the cook was late to work so we had to wait over 30 mins for our one meal to arrive. Would go here for the views but can find better food for better price elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank WhitLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My group of 10 really enjoyed this bar / restaurant. The atmosphere is not too bad. There was one very "interesting" guy at the bar that wasted no time striking up a conversation (proposition) with one of our young ladies, but he was harmless, at least I hope he is. The food was good, and plenty of it, the value was exceptional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi45865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing