We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of Hotel Utila

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Utila
Ranked #8 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2012

we stayed here our first night because it was so cheap, but it wasnt worth it! the owners are unfriendly and the rooms are dirty. My biggest complaint was there are windows facing into the hall and the shades dont completely cover them. I had no where to change without beeing seen. they also dont have a place for you to sit outside and enjoy their ocean view. i mean why be situated on the water, without a view???
my other complaints involve them not having a coffee maker, dirty/cheap sheets/ and bugs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utia_angel, Manager at Hotel Utila, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Dena
i am very sorry for your unpleasant stay at our Hotel, we are emproving the hotel as we can,
your biggest complaint was that the shades didnt cover the window but you can clearly see that they do in the picture "you" posted, and if you would have told us about your concern i could have changed you to another room or even changed the shades in the room.
our rooms are cleaned daily with the exception of saturday do our religion,
the hotel also has a shared kitchen were you can make coffee, we do not have coffee makers in the rooms but you were more then welcome to use the shared kitchen for making coffee, sorry if it was not offered to you but we do have signs posted that you can use the kitchen.
i completely agree with you on not having a place to sit and relax and enjoy the view, during your stay we were actually in the process of fixing that problem and we have made alot of improvement to the hotel we now how a beach area were our guest can relax, enjoy the view and go swimming. we have also fixed the deck area up stairs with hammocks, funiture and a frige. once again i am sorry for your stay in our hotel. but thank you for helping us to improve in what we do wrong.

Thanks.
Annie Bush

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

This place has acceptable fan cooled rooms on the main drag in Utila Town. If you want one upstairs you have to pay an extra $3 for a tv whether you watch it or not, which we didn't. There's a sitting area with a hammock, a couple of tables and a sea view, although this is normally filled with the hotel's drying laundry. There's also a kitchen you can use and a really bad wi fi connection.

Never have I encounted such unfriendly owners as the mother and daughter in charge here. We stayed there for twelve days (whilst diving) and even after all that time they could barely bring themselves to look at us, let alone say hello (apart from when they asked us to come and pay). There was also a young child of about 6 years living there. He screamed and threw tantrums from early morning right though the day and was then screamed at himself in reply. Not the most peaceful atmosphere to be in.

I would recommend this place simply because the rooms were ok for the price - $18. Especially if your dive school is paying a proportion of that. It definitely beat staying in their free accomodation which was substandard.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones con ventilador son mas baratas que con aire acondicionado pero si el ventilador de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Romina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Polyan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Daisy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
Thank Chago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utila hotels
1.4 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#4 of 8 in Utila
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#2 of 8 in Utila
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Mango Inn Resort
Mango Inn Resort
#5 of 14 in Utila
168 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Sunset Hotel
Tropical Sunset Hotel
#7 of 14 in Utila
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utila

Address: Sandy Bay, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range: $12 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing